Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Archbishop Edward Mccarthy High School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Southwest...

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $382,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,190.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 15, 2007

The Principal leadership and teacher quality at this school are unparalleled. I graduated 5 years ago from this school and went on to New York University with a scholarship. The academics are an excellent foundation for college. The safety and structure of the atmosphere at this school are conducive to the learning environment and set it far apart from other high schools. Once again the dedication of the faculty, staff, and Principal are worthy of recognition and have my gratitude for their very positive impact in my life. This is a first class high school institution.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 20, 2007

I am going into my fourth year at AMHS and think that it is a fine place for higher learning. AMHS curriculum is for those who are motivated and ready to work hard. The teachers are pure quality at McCarthy, always willing to help and spend time with the students, even outside regular school hours. A Catholic environment is clearly present, which makes the student body be more united, and spiritually focused than those who attend others schools. As a member of the Drama program, I can honestly say that talent, and dedication is always present in the schools performing arts. The Administration does seem to favor the sports teams (which are no good) over the excellent Fine Arts students and National Chess Team Champions. However, other than that, the school works effectively and efficiently. My experience has been nothing but pleasant. Go Mavericks!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 29, 2007

My sons have both attended Arch Bishop Mc Carthy and I have found that this school promotes academics and education. The structure and environment of the school is excellent and it provides a strong spiritual and safe setting for student to learn. The school still has a ways to go to compete with Saint Thomas Aquinas but it has a charm all it's own. The sports programs are still growing but have future potential. I would recommend this school to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2007

My daughter is graduating this year. She, and I are so happy to be done with this school. She is totally burnt out from the massive amount of testing, large class sizes, and teachers which are so overwhelmed with the number os tudents they have. I will be sening my other child to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2007

I'm a student at amhs. I don't recommend this school. I personally think this is the worst private school in south florida. The school is overcrowded, some classes had to be cut in half. No freedom. Too strict.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 15, 2006

A 'D' for AMHS: If you are looking for your child to be sheltered, AMHS is for you. If you are looking for your child to be successful, look elsewhere. The key to any college preparatory institution worth its salt, as AMHS claims to be, is the ability for said institution to prepare its students for entrance into and eventual success at a top tier college or university. Prior to sending your son or daughter to AMHS, be sure to carefully review its college placement record. AMHS's inability to consistently place students into quality undergraduate programs can be directly attributed to the lackluster academic curriculum combined with the failure of its faculty to support those efforts by parents and students to improve the situation. The issues noted above can be addressed, but it will require a level of administrative leadership that does not exist today at AMHS. Best of luck!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2006

it is one of the newer catholic high school but it has a sound academic program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2006

Excellent academic programs. Good availablity of extracurricular activites. Moderate parent involvement
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2005

I am a student and I dislike the school greatly. As a student it's terrible, as a parent it's probably good. That's because parents don't go to the school. I don't have one friend that likes the school. This school is overrated for its money and academics. It's not terrible but not worth the price. Don't send your kids here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 30, 2005

Typical private school. Very boring for a student coming from the public school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2003

This school is a great school. Parents are very much involved in the school. They have great activities after school for the kids. the deans office and staff are very caring. the security is excellent I feel very safe when I leave my daughter at a dance at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

My son been a student here for the past three years and has done great overall. Safety has been a plus(+)as well as the discipline. Being able as parents to get involve should always be a prioity and at our school thats what parents do. I thank god for allowing us to find such a school for our son. The tearchers are great and our principal is a leader. At the least our son is safe and getting a great education. We are proud parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Not a good school! they do not follow up with parents! they are not getting the students ready for college. activities are very poor, and sports program is not good. experience at this school was very poor!Not organized! and not safe!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 54% 29%
White 35% 42%
Black 4% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • ACSI
  • FCIS
  • SACS/CASI
Fax number
  • (954) 680-4835

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Miami
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5451 South Flamingo Road
Southwest Ranches, FL 33330
Phone: (954) 434-8820

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Victory Christian School
Pembroke Pines, FL



Paladin Academy
Pembroke Pines, FL


Cooper City High School
Cooper City, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT