Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Explorer K-8

Public | PK-8 | 1767 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 31, 2014

This school is an awesome school. The teachers and staff are nice. I really love the teachers i had this year. The activities they have as a reward for outstanding behaviors are so fun. I am a student here and have attended for 2 going on 3 years. =)


Posted October 20, 2013

We love explorer. My daughters teachers are amazing!! One year we had a problem with a teacher and it was resolved immediately through guidance and the vice principal. Would definitely recommend it. Mr. Stratton was amazing, not sure how it will be with the new principal. But so far so good. Ironically the rude lady people are talking about at the front is Ms. Nasty. We love her and have no problems. I can see though how people feel she is rude. She is efficient and gets the front office cleared fast. I sit in the office a lot wiring for speech and the stuff she has to deal with would make anyone rude. We absolutely love explorer. I am still friends with all my daughters teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2011

I believe that Explorer K-8 is the absolute best school in the county. Being a former student, I know what goes on. All of the teachers that I've ever had have been excellent. I was a classroom aid last year since I was in 8th grade and even the lower grades have great teachers. I know that there are some teachers aren't that awesome, but nobody is perfect. I've seem plenty of comments about the ladies at the front desk. I know she is very rude, but I've known her my whole life and that's just her personality. Mr.Stratton is an AMAZING principal who deserves the best. He interacts with the students and actually cares, unlike the past 2 or 3 principals. He is a very nice guy and he goes out of his way to help the students succeed. I may be the only person who likes this school, but I would do anything to get out of highschool and go back. My time there was unforgettable and I loved it.


Posted December 9, 2011

I have 4 kids who attended this school. Both daughter's teachers are great. Both son's teachers on the other hand are horrible. One is rude, lacks compassion & has no patience. The other never updates me on what's going on in his classroom, which I dislike. One of the ladies at the front desk is rude. & the assistant principal and ESE ladies are hard to please & don't listen to my input or wants. I am desperately trying to get my kids OUT OF THIS SCHOOL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2011

There is only one thing wrong with this school. There is lady at the front desk who extremely rude. & she is rude for NO REASON at all. It doesn't matter how nice you are to her, she is rude to both students & parents. I wish she laughed, etc with us the way she does with other staff members. Besides her, I love the school. The principal, assistant principal, other staff members, clinic & teachers are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2010

I think this school is great-the teachers are great, the building is great, the security is great, the ese program is great. The only reason why I didn't put 5 stars is because the ladies at the front desk are very rude...they are unpatient with the students & parents. They cause unneccesarry stress. My son formerly went to Pine Grove. I thought Pine Grove would be great, because the front desk ladies were great. Once I got him, I realized it didn't meet his special needs. I decided to try out Explorer k-8. Having unpleasant ladies at the front desk can give people a really bad impression....they gave me one. I heard their ese program was great from a close friend, so I stayed. Now I love Explorer k-8. I just dread the times I have to pick up my son or am late...because they are rude. =(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2010

The administration along with the social worker for the school does need more training in not only working with the students but being in sync with one another when bullying policy is implemented. No cameras or supervision on stairwell, school notified and still did nothing when my daughter was groped. The staff needs to come together so the left can go with the right. Also, parents need to be notified when their children are medically assessed by social worker or any other staff in the school.


Posted December 3, 2009

I rate Explorer k-8 a 5 star school!!!my 3 kids have been going to this school since it opened 2 years ago,and they all love it. they like their teachers,have made many good friends,and me & my wife have met all their wonderful teachers and each teacher i give a high 5.they are very professional,courtesy,honest.i enjoy working with each and every teacher.explorer k-8 has the BEST security for the kids that i have NEVER seen.i will giv e school security a high 10 in my book.the woman deputy that works at the school (sorry dont know her name) but she is awesome,my kids feel very safe knowing the deputy woman is there for them at any time of need,and she does her job well,i give deputy a 10 star for great work & the kids love her.explorer will go down as one of the BEST schools in hernando county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

We have about 2000 students and very little money for supplies. It is a new school with a lot of hard working teachers who could really use some help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2009

Well the 2nd year for Explorer has begun and so far it really rocks! The New Principal and the 2 New Assistant Principal's really care for the students! (Mrs. Sweeney also rocks!!) We have to give Mr. Pinder some time to sort out the problems from last year and from what I have seen so far he has! He takes the time to hear each problem and also cares about the students and the teachers. I am both a Substitute Teacher at Explorer and a Volunteer so I get to see both behind the scenes and the front lines and so far I would give everyone an A+. I am proud to have my son be a student at Explorer K-8. Teachers and Staff keep it up you are doing a GREAT job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2009

I agree with the review below. The staff lack human compassion to the parents and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2009

Explorer has had way more downs than ups. I am not sure how well it will succeed next year. You can tell some of the teachers were picked on a short notice because not all of them are kind. I have 1 child that goes there and in the first 5 months of school she wanted to get out of there. The work is stressful. Although they hav a good curriculum and nice assistant eachers. But this school deserves a two and i am afraid it is going down hill from there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2009

This brand new school year had it's bumps as any school would in it's first year. I am impressed with the progress that has been accomplished and how my two children that attend have excelled and progressed. See what happen's when you patients, get involved and have input. I'm am very satisfied and at the very least the school deserves a 4 1/2 at this point in time. I am confident next year will be even better!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

186 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

186 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

164 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

163 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
46%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

159 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

164 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

163 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

164 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
35%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

177 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

177 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

209 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

210 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
49%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

214 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

215 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

217 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
32%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

202 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

174 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

189 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

57 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
88%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 60%
Hispanic 24%
Black 8%
Two or more races 6%
Asian 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 76%64%61%
Master's degree 24%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 11%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10252 Northcliffe Boulevard
Spring Hill, FL 34608
Website: Click here
Phone: (352) 797-7094

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Fox Chapel Middle School
Spring Hill, FL



Aldersgate Academy
Spring Hill, FL


Wider Horizons School
Spring Hill, FL


Golden Branch Academy
Spring Hill, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT