Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westside Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 580 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 12, 2013

Wonderful Elementary school. Principal Kesselring is a superior asset to this school by involving herself personally with students and parents. The office staff is equally as helpful and professional. Although we have had issues with SOME teachers, our concerns were addressed and the proper measures were taken to ensure our child's needs were met and problems eliminated. I feel very confident that my children are safe, being well educated and guided to a positive future and rewarding educational journey because the staff at Westside Elementary was there to get them started
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2012

I have to say ,my husband and i love this school,Our son has had two very wonderful teachers.they are doing something very right
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2011

We were told by the principle of the school that this school meets ayp (annual yearly progress) standards. The superintendent of the county told us the school qualifies for school choice and the nclb (No Child Left Behind) program meaning this school hasn't meant standards in at least 2 years. From the very confusing data we found on the schools website it was presented that from 2006-2010 the schools fcat reading score was 56% for grade 4 to a state average of 68%. 10 points lower!. This school not only falls far below the state but also shows mis truths about the fact. http://fcat.fldoe.org/ <---heres the data..see for yourself. I would not be surprised if this comment is removed from this website as it shows the truth of this school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 6, 2010

I'm in 6th grade now, and when I went here for kindergarten and first grade it was a fantastic experience. I had nap time for kindergarten and we had a little bit of playground time, and we had some free time. Although the teachers were a little strict. And they gave you TO MUCH free time. I understand nap time and playground but even more than that was to much.


Posted December 2, 2009

I am very unhapppy with this school methed of teaching . I came from cleveland and had my son in private school and he was an outstanding student, ever since he started at this school he has not learned any thing to get him ready for first grade and i thought cleveland puplic schools was bad. I am so ready to pull him out of this school and have him in private school were they focus on getting the children ready for the next grade level and not reading books and taking naps when they should be focus on reading writting skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2009

My daughter has went to this school since we moved up to spring hill in Jan 08. She loves this school. The teachers are great and she loves to go to school everday which is different than in her previous school in St. Pete. We also use the Boys and Girls club and she has a blast there!!! Highly recommend this school!1
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2007

Westside is a great schooI! have 2 children there and they are doing extremely well. The teachers are dedicated professionals who go above and beyond for their students. We should support teachers and work with them to educate our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2007

I was extremely unhappy with this school. My kids came from another county, in Fl. and I had a child start kindergarten. By the time of the middle of the year, she still did not recognize all her letters. I had to tutor her at home, and she was ahead of her class. I decided to pull her out of this school. I also had a second grader who was being tested for gifted, he was reading at a 5th grade level. When he came to Westside, they said he had to have 5 100's in reading tests (read a book take a test) before they would allow him to read 5th grade level books. They tried to force him into reading baby books, he was unhappy and just took the test without reading, and failed. I would not put any child in this school, until it changes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2007

I loved Eastside because the teachers and the staff are all wonderful. They all treat everyone with respect. I miss Westside alot! My son went to Westside since kindergarten until third grade, I never had a problem except for first grade with a terrible teacher,she was just to mean on the students. Other than that Westside is a very good school. If I could my kids would still be going there. So whatever you do keep your childern in Westside.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

As a parent of two children that attend Westside, I do believe that 'Westside IS the Bestside'. I am very proud of the everyday challenges that Westside offers my children. Thank you to all the wonderful staff that make everyday eventful for all the children who attend. You are all a blessing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2006

This title one school has lots to offer to students. However, the level of parent involvement is almost non-existant. The activity programs are fair, at best. The PE program is by far the worst!
—Submitted by a staff


Posted March 12, 2006

Westside is a nice school, and some of the teachers are great, but I wish that there physical learning was at a higher level. I attended school in Illinois and to me it seems that the public schools here are a couple years behind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

This school is decent, and some teachers better than others, but Florida education in general is just frightening. I am from New York, and could never imagine a teacher saying 'ain't' or 'crap' in the classroom on a regular basis. My child's teacher says 'he ain't got none' and other shocking, unintelligent phrases. It is common. Parents beware- if quality education is important to you, be cautious about a move down to Florida. It is very different, and I've seen it this way for the two years we have been here. It is just so bad that we are moving back. My children deserve an education that will take them as far as they are capable of going, and it won't be provided here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2005

We are very pleased with this school. The teachers and staff teach the kids to respect one another. The Accelerated Reader program is one of the best things we found. The school is a model school for this program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2005

The test scores are a bit low at this school. Although they pulled them up, they are still low as compared to other areas. The teachers are all very inexperienced and I think this has contributed to the poor performance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2003

My son is in the 2nd grade and has become a very well adjusted young man. The speech therapist helped him remarkably. In no time he was over his speech impedement that tormented him so. Thanks Barbara Oliver! He is now an A student and making me very proud. Thanks to the patience and the excellent teachers of Westside, the children attending there will be outstanding citizens of our future. Thanks Westside, you're the best side!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2003

My daughter has been going to Westside for 3 years now and is a straight 'A' student..The staff at Westside from the classroom straight down to the custodial crew are great!The teachers are very well organized with their lesson plans and send home a planner everynight for the parent to sign.They keep us well informed of what is going on in and outside of the classroom. Westside is the bestside.. Go Tigers!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
53%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
44%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

94 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 72%
Hispanic 14%
Black 8%
Two or more races 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 164%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 24%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 75%64%61%
Master's degree 25%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 13%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. GINA MICHALICKA
Fax number
  • (352) 797-7180

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5400 Applegate Drive
Spring Hill, FL 34606
Website: Click here
Phone: (352) 797-7080

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Aldersgate Academy
Spring Hill, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT