Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Spring Hill Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 665 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 1, 2014

This school is excellent. I am very pleased with the teachers & staff. The school is clean and I know that my children are safe while they are getting a good education. I love how they are fenced in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2014

I am very pleased with this school. The teachers are very caring as well as the office staff. The school is clean and well organized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2014

Spring hill elementary is a good schools . My son and my daughter are both principles or honor roll . They have never done better .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2013

This school has been amazing for my child. Everyone is always kind and very helpful. The staff and teachers are amazing. This is one of the best schools in Hernando County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2013

I wouldn't give this a star if I had a choice. The resources are weak, organization lacking, communication is the worst and if your children has any learning disabilities...the teachers are forced to wait months to get things together to get our kids any real help... Also, Kindergarten is fairly important, so when you have a horrible teacher your child is effected for years!! Thanks SHE!! Try and get your kids in other schools. This place should be a last resource.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2013

This is the worst school in Hernando County. People are running and teaching at this school who have all the right paperwork but do not have a clue how to teach kids.


Posted July 20, 2012

how long does it take to get accepted in shady hills school if you are three years old?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2012

Great team teaching approach. Great after school tutoring programs. wish they would allow more parental involvement without having to join the PTSO. I'm not interested in the gossip my only concern is my child's education. Hate the uniform thing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2010

I went to this school in the 5th grade, i'm a sixth grader now. Anyway, it was a fantastic school. The teachers were fair, they taught you well, and they had a lot of school dances, activities, and other things here and there. This school was a great experience and i'll never forget it. Also, the principle(Mr. Gordon) is SO nice. He's very fair and cares about your education.


Posted August 21, 2008

My child has been going here since 1st grade. Now she is in 3rd. Every teach is so unorganized and does not communicate with the parents, especailly with their homework assignments. I have had enough of this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2008

I have to complement Mrs. Grider and Mrs. Haney this year. They are great teachers with a lot of patence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

I am happy with S.H.E. my son is doing great and his teacher Mrs. Licht is wonderful. I'm looking forward to next year when both my kids will be attending.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2006

My daughter, currently a 4th grader, and my son, a 2nd grader both attend SHES. Their teachers,Mr.Stuckey (4) and Mrs. Loscalzo (2) are two of the many great teachers the school has. Unfortunately this school is lacking the resources needed from the county and state to excel. As a parent with students who have great grade and are doing very well, there is still a lot more that can be done. I would love to see this great staff get the support and the tools they need so that our children can achieve the greatest that this school is working so hard to give.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2006

When my daughter attended 4th grade at SHES, there were nearly 60 children in the class with two teachers struggling to be heard over the din of approximately 5 dozen 10 year olds. Ridiculous. It's not the schools' fault, it's the district. Hopefully with some new blood on the School Board Hernando County will come down out of the clouds and make some much needed changes. Teachers were great and really caring at SHES but battling a system they had no control over. Keep it up, Ms. Dietzel, Ms. Perry. We'll miss you, Rhett and Heather Roy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2006

My child attends this elementary school and to be honest, I feel that Florida is way behind in their quality of education compared to other states. Come on Florida, we need to do something about this! However, I do feel that this is one of the best schools in Hernando County. My child is currently in Mr. Stuckey's class. From what I see, he seems to really exibit a passion in teaching. My child has done a 360 in his work from last year at another elementary school (won't mention the name).My son has learned to lead by example and has really taken an interest in his school work. Mr. Stuckey must have some unique techiques to keep children interested. As far as the rest of the school, I have to mention Mrs. Mancuso and the ladies in the front office who have been exceptionaly helpful. Thank you SHES staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2005

Great school! Mr. Stuckey (4th grade) is a great teacher for anyone that has a child entering that grade! He teaches using different techniques so that each student has the chance to grasp the information according to the individuals learning capabilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2005

I feel that they are very focused on the children and try to succeed in every fashion. Parent involvement is key all the time. Parents first, teachers next. The child benefits when we all work together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2005

I dont know what these people are talking about, I went there in 2001-2002 and I had a lot of fun. I had Mr. Meehan as homeroom and we were never not doing anything. All my teachers were really nice and I hope to see them again.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 13, 2005

This school is very overcrowded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2005

Both my children go to this school, it has worked wonders for them. My daughter is 10 in 5th grade and averages straight A's, my son is 9 and in 2nd grade. My son was held back at his last school and failling drasticly, but since he has been at SHES. he has really improved, and scored 100% on his reading test. This has never been known for him, as he has sensory intergration disfunction disorder. We moved from clearwater to spring hill, and both my children have excelled at school. Even their freinds parents say the same, at previous schools their children were subdude and failling to achiev good grades. They both love the teachers, and the homework is not too intence. I would highly recomend this school to all k-5th graders, the children seem to be very envolved and happy. Great receptionists, and clinic staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

115 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

115 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
46%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

105 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 59%
Hispanic 23%
Black 7%
Two or more races 6%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 70%64%61%
Master's degree 30%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. TERRI DEWEY
Fax number
  • (352) 797-7130

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6001 Mariner Boulevard
Spring Hill, FL 34609
Website: Click here
Phone: (352) 797-7030

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Golden Branch Academy
Spring Hill, FL



Wider Horizons School
Spring Hill, FL


Explorer K-8
Spring Hill, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT