Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

John D. Floyd K-8 School Of Environmental Science

Public | PK-8 | 1019 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 18, 2006

I had my child in this awful school for awhile before I had the good sense to remove her. I could not believe the amount of unprofessionalism that is apparent in everything - and it is all because of the poor leadership - the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2006

I feel out of all the schools in hernando county, we landed in the worst one. The worst school experience ever. We will be going to private school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2006

school is disorganized, lacks communication
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

Having been a part of this school, I can tell you that the disorganization and chaos you see from the outside does not even begin to compare to the mess and disunity within. Teacher's and staff are not given proper mentoring or guidance. There is a very low morale throughout the entire faculty community, and the Principal(s) as well as veteran teachers do very little to help the many newcomers. Needless to say, it provides for a tense environment for the students. Good luck J.D. Floyd...
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 2, 2006

I am totally disappointed in this school. I would never recommend anyone move into this school district. The academic programs do not teach the basics in reading or math it is some type of new math. The students do not have time to master anything before moving onto something else. This school year has been a nightmare and I am glad to be moving out of state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2006

The level of parent involvement at JD Floyd is poor, as PTA President we have 185 PTA members out of a student body of 1350. My son is in K - and his teachers Mrs. Barrett and Mrs. Laurai are the best that a parent could ask for, and they work together great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

After several years at JD floyd, I pulled my child out. When my child strated in 2000, the school was an 'A' schoo. In the last few years, the school has become overcrowed, Good teachers have left and are continuing to leave. The para-professonals grumble regarding administration and the teachers, a never ending cycle which breeds nothing but disrespect, contempt and discouragement among the adults. This, of course filters down to the children and the parents as we strugggle to get an understanding as to why the 'system' has started to break down. We also wonder why the county school board did not have the vision to recognize that the continuing influx of young families with children would lead to overcrowed schools, lowered learning skills and discontented educators. It is sad that J D Floyd among, other elementary schools in Spring Hill (Hernando county) suffer due to lack of creativity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

Ihad two chidren in that sorry excuse for a school last year. Lets just say they are not there this year. They stole a year of my sons life,and he now will not graduate with his twin sister. Very bad school & principal,.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2005

My daughter is in Pre K ESE in this school and I have to say so far they have been absolutely wonderful. When I go to pick her up she really doesn't want to leave and that to me speaks volumes. The teachers are caring, patient, and kind. I have to be honest at first I was worried as I have a child with special needs, but now I am completely confident in their abilities to teach my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2005

I have two kids in this school, one in 3rd grade and one in Kindergarten. Teacher my son has now is good and so was the one he had in second grade. My daughters teacher I am not to crazy about. She doesn't communicate with the parents very well. The school is over crowded and I don't like the fact that the the auditorium and the cafeteria are all in one room. For Phys Ed. the kids have do go outside. It is not a fully enclosed school meaning the doors to the classrooms are outside the building as opposed to inside and there are several moblile units that they have to use as classrooms on the property. It does have an A rating which is why I moved into this area but I don't like the overcrowding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2005

Frankly overcrowded classroms are an issue. It is a good way to lose good quality teachers and we are already losing them right and left. Music? Art? Sports? Extremely limited!! Very low on the priority list at this school. The jury is still out on the Principle, But so far, most of the teachers, paras and other parents I speak with are extremely disatisfied. I myself have been less than impressed. However, One of the assistant principles, Ms Harts has been a blessing for those kids! The front office staff is less than friendly and obviously personality challenged. Those unhappy in their jobs, should find another one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

I agree that overcrowding is the biggest issue, But I attribute that to the Hernando County School Board which seems to push personal interests above the good of the children. My childrens teachers have been excellent and dedicated. However, many good teachers are leaving because of the lack of support from the county administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2005

My daughter and I are very happy with the education she is receiving in the 3rd grade. We relocated from NYC so I was concerned at first about the education at Floyd but there was nothing to worry about. She is way above average and the teachers all challange her to do even better. Music and art are also just as great and important as academics, unfortunately there is no sports that I know of other than the YMCA onsite afterschool. The school grounds are bueatiful with lots of wild life and gardens. The only thing I would change would be the class size. Even with the classes as large as they are due to the constant growth in the area and the excellent reputation it holds the school is still top rated at 'A'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

the biggest challenge facing this school is the overcrowding issue.The administration of this school seems very caring and committed to their students. This would be an ideal school if it had half the number of students it currently has.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2004

I am having problems with the science program at JD Flyod...tough situation when a child asks for help because they do not understand the subject and gets no help but only lectures. The Environmental Science project was to be a good thing....but if the children can not learn science what good is it going to be? One builds upon the other. Up until this year I was happy with the school overall.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

117 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

100 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 66%
Hispanic 21%
Black 6%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 68%64%61%
Master's degree 32%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 10%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3139 Dumont Avenue
Spring Hill, FL 34609
Website: Click here
Phone: (352) 797-7055

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Wider Horizons School
Spring Hill, FL



Powell Middle School
Brooksville, FL


Gulf Coast Middle School
Spring Hill, FL


Golden Branch Academy
Spring Hill, FL


Golden Branch Academy
Spring Hill, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT