Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,015 students|Hernando
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
52 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 56 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


John D. Floyd K-8 School Of Environmental Science 1

Posted February 19, 2015
- a parent
I have asked teachers to consider the amount of homework that is sent home, i have a 2nd and 3rd grader and they both HATE even getting out of bed to go to this school. They say they dont like their teachers, they say the teachers are mean, they say the teachers have been seen smoking, and they wear clothes that reveal tattoos, i dont judge them for that, but it isnt the example I want set for my children! They say it is POLICY to send them home homework that is upward of 2 hours per night, hence why my kids hate school, they never felt this way in TN...I feel terrible for them having to do 2 hours of homework after being in class for 7 hours, i feel lf they cant get what they need to get done in 7 hours of time, then the teachers must not be doing their job!!!

John D. Floyd K-8 School Of Environmental Science 5

Posted January 22, 2014
- a parent
The school lunch could be better!! between the cold over cooked food, it's not worth the 1.90!


John D. Floyd K-8 School Of Environmental Science 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
What a wonderful school I have found for my child!! From the office staff to the teachers, I am truly blessed! Very friendly and helpful!

John D. Floyd K-8 School Of Environmental Science 5

Posted July 18, 2013
- a community member
I love this school I'm a 8th grader now and i'm going back to J-d floyd i must say the best teacher is a 5th grade teacher named Mr Gonzalez.

John D. Floyd K-8 School Of Environmental Science 4

Posted January 16, 2013
- a parent
I totally agree with the post from 1/15 regarding Mr.Audette and Ms.Natale..they surpass expectations. I'm very blessed to have them teaching my daugher.


John D. Floyd K-8 School Of Environmental Science 5

Posted August 26, 2012
- a parent
My 2 children have gone here for 3 years. They were behind when they started due to the lack of effort that their previous school offered. School is beautiful and staff are very involved with reaching out to parents for involvement. Ive never seen so much involvement with parents before. A huge credit to this school. My children have done nothing but excelled in their education and well being. Lots of great communicaton. A+

John D. Floyd K-8 School Of Environmental Science 5

Posted November 15, 2011
- a parent
This school is a hidden gem! The community atmosphere within the school is suberb. They take the time to recognize each student as an individual. They are able to pinpoint strengths and weaknesses and build upon both.

John D. Floyd K-8 School Of Environmental Science 5

Posted June 20, 2011
- a parent
JD Floyd is a great school. They provide a well rounded curriculum and try not to just teach the FCAT. Thee older classes go kyaking and this past year went on an overnight field trip to the Tampa Aquarium for up close coursework. Both my children are students, one in 2nd and one in the Middle School Magnet program. I love being able to check grades and see what homework/classwork has been assigned via Edline. It is a failproof system of communication and the staff and admin are always available.


John D. Floyd K-8 School Of Environmental Science 5

Posted February 15, 2011
- a parent
Ms. Grover and Ms. Pittman are EXCELLENT teachers! My daughter has been in their class this year and I have been very impressed by the two of them. They are very helpful and caring with great communication. They always resond any time that I have a question and this is a difficult trait to find in many teachers. My daughter loves the both of them and looks forward to going to school everyday to see them. She continues to have high grades in their class and as soon as she begins to struggle with something, both of these teachers give her all of the help that she needs. I would recommend these 2 to anyone! As for the school, I have loved JD Floyd. Great school with great staff!

John D. Floyd K-8 School Of Environmental Science 3

Posted August 04, 2010
- a community member
As far as the school goes, this is the first year for my niece, so I don't have much to say about the school overall. However, two of the teachers really need to get their acts together. Patricia Pittman and Lisa Groover have absolutely no business teaching young children, and I use the term teaching VERY loosely. My niece needs extra help in math, and not only was that need IGNORED by her teachers, but when she got an answer wrong, they humiliated her in front of the class to the point where she was in tears. Teachers of young children should be NURTURING and ENCOURAGING and IN TUNE with their students NEEDS. My niece, fortunately, has been transferred from the class, but the damage is already done, her confidence is shot, and she received a failing grade without hesitation from her teacher after receiving NO HELP.

Nearby schools

John D. Floyd K-8 School Of Environmental Science
3139 Dumont Avenue, Spring Hill, FL  34609
(352) 797-7055
Last modified John D. Floyd K-8 School Of Environmental Science is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top