Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

917 students|Hernando
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Deltona Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 07, 2015
- a parent
Mrs Lambert, the kindergarten teacher. She works very hard, a fantastic teacher, cares about the children, teaches all subjects, and is very thorough with parents

Deltona Elementary School 1

Posted November 07, 2015
- a parent
By the time you're updated about any event or fundraiser, it's too late for you take off work or alert them and arrange for it. The food my daughter eats is disgusting and her teacher, after their annual parent teacher conference, did NOT seem to enjoy her job AT ALL. She is in 3rd grade and isn't learning anything except math and reading and it's been that way since 1st grade. I'm having to spend my lunch time at work coming up with history, science, English, etc plans for her to do at home..... I'm not a teacher! But I'll be much happier to home school her if she could stay home alone! There's no learning there, just shoving things down your child's throat for good testing scores. Greatly disappointed in this school and will be changing her school for next year!


Deltona Elementary School 1

Posted May 25, 2015
- a parent
HATED this school. I wish I had more options when I moved here. I don't know if my sons first school spoiled us, or if this school really is that bad. Teachers had no compassion for the students, they were quick to write in their journals how bad they were, and not so quick to applaud them for good behavior. If I could have taken him out and placed him in another school, I would have. Teachers show no compassion, I was always the last to find anything out, the bus driver almost kicked my son off the bus for eating on the bus instead of coming to me first. (turns out the other students kept telling him it was ok to do it and the bus driver never told him he couldn't!) I am not one of "those" mothers, but I do like to make sure my son is getting a good education, and I can't say that about this school. I am going to look into other options starting now..

Deltona Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted May 25, 2015
- a parent
1st grade: Every Monday he had to write whole sentences for his spelling words, the kid was confused as to which word was his actual spelling word for crying outloud, then he had to do 20 minutes of reading, 20 minutes of math, he's in FIRST grade! Tuesday: Math sheet usually front and back, and a "math drill" where they were timed for 2 minutes..really? 20 minutes of reading, 20 minutes of math Nothing like putting pressure on a child! Wednesday: Reading sheet - usually front and back. 20 minutes of reading, 20 minutes of math COME ON! 1st grade! Thursday he was to do his spelling words and the usual 20 minutes of reading, 20 minutes of math..... Friday - no homework, shocking. It was like this from beginning to end. My son HATES school because of all the homework. Whatever happened to one day a week, and barely anything? So depressing..

Deltona Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 25, 2015
- a parent
Kids aren't allowed to be kids anymore...point blank...it's a sad, sad world we live in today, folks.


Deltona Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 25, 2015
- a parent
Honesty? No. When my son is in "trouble" at school for being a kid, there are several different stories. So, unfortunately if I don't get a good answer, I can't punish my kid.. Integrity? LOL! That's a joke. This school has no morals... Fairness...NO. Absolutely not. Nothing about this school is fair. When I made it to ONE of my sons award ceremonies, (I only knew about this, because I spoke to a 4th grade teacher who happens to be a neighbor), they called him up for a "Citizenship Award" and brought home a stack of awards that he wasn't called out for, while a handful of other kids were called out. How does that make it fair? The only thing that did was lower his self esteem..way to go Deltona..way to go...

Deltona Elementary School 1

Posted January 13, 2014
- a parent
THIS HAS GOT TO BE THE WORST SCHOOL I HAVE EVER ENCOUNTERED. MY 4TH GRADE SON WAS TOLD HE DIDN'T DESERVE TO BE IN 4TH GRADE. HE WAS BEING BULLIED, AND THEY MOVED SLOW TO ACT. THE PRINCIPAL IS ALOOF WITH THOSE EYEBROWS AND EYE MAKE UP. THEY ARE TOTALLY UNPROFESSIONAL. I DID NOT FEEL GOOD LEAVING HIM THERE FOR THE DAY. I EVENTUALLY WITHDREW HIM. THE ENTIRE STAFF WAS UNPROFESSIONAL. I HATED IT....DON'T SEND YOUR KIDS HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!

Deltona Elementary School 1

Posted August 28, 2013
- a parent
my daughter started kindergarten the 1st week she brought me a drawing home. i asked my daughter 2 explain the drawing 2 me & she said "its me standing on the wall & the teacher yelling at me" I was mad of course but i explained 2 my kid the teachers are under a lot of stress lets see if anything changes. Well its week 2 & my daughter is hating school. she loved preschool and her teachers. going 2 c about getting a diff. teacher. Then you buy the items they have listed on their website for supplies then send a letter home saying it was a mistake here is the right list with a additional 42 items. when i asked 4 the items back that were not on the list i was told i would get them by last fri. Well this is weds & i have yet 2 get anything returned. I am a single mom of 5. i asked my child what she did at recess yesterday & she said she has never went outside since school started. I have 3 cousins that have not either and they did the same thing with their supply lists so it is not just 1 grade. Also in the dress code it says dress shoes are ok as long as they have gym shoes in there backpack. the first day of school i was told no dress shoes aloud. Sad for my child.


Deltona Elementary School 5

Posted August 24, 2012
- a parent
I have my daughter she is 5 soon to be 6. She has a disability..and this school has been great with everything.I had a problem..the staff everyone was quick to find answers..and get the problem fixed..my daughter is going this year into kindergarten..and she loves it!!!...I would say this is a great school!!

Deltona Elementary School 2

Posted January 22, 2012
- a parent
Only school worse in area is Moton. Sitting in my car waiting on my son outside a classroom it sounded like an insane asylum. The teacher was ranting like a lunatic. My son has to fight everyday with ill mannered thugs. Eastside is worlds better or Challenger if you get lucky.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Deltona Elementary School
2055 Deltona Boulevard, Spring Hill, FL  34606
(352) 797-7040
Last modified Deltona Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Deltona Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top