Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public charter
Spring Hill, FL
Students enrolled: 116

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Gulf Coast Academy Of Science And Technology 3

Posted October 29, 2013
- a community member
very surprised at the lack of organization and communication for a school that has been open for 10 years

Gulf Coast Academy Of Science And Technology 5

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
I love Gulf Coast Academy for several reasons, The administration and staff team is exactly that...a team, who works extremely well with parents/grandparents/guardians. They are very warm and inviting while providing sound structure through the incentives and consequences to their students who in turn become well rounded teens with values. Much like an extendeded family, the mandatory volunteering is more like fun than a chore, and the students in return are more respectful than those attending other public schools that I've worked at.


Gulf Coast Academy Of Science And Technology 0
no rating

Posted July 01, 2009
- a parent
My twins attend this school. Kudos to the leadership and vision of the principal and the school management. This has to be the most unique field activity program in the US. I believe my children are being prepared to face this technologically advanced and competitive world while having a unique hands on and funfilled week at middle school. Their day is filled with tech, robotics, weekly trips involving kayaking, snorkelling, studying turtles and much, much more. The school has a wonderful family atmosphere, where everybody knows everybody. The teachers and the principal are very communicative, incorporating humor with authority in dealing with the students. They have a credit system which helps train the children to organize and be accoutable for their work. Most of all I havnt had any communication issues with any teacher which is very crucial for me. My children are very happy. Poonam Malhotra, MD

Gulf Coast Academy Of Science And Technology 5

Posted April 14, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Gulf Coast Academy Of Science And Technology 5

Posted August 21, 2008
- a parent
This is an excellent school, my son is doing great here. I know each and every teacher and administration person here due to small size and can discuss anything with them at any time. Parents must put in 1 hour every week for volunteering. But it's worth it. If you look at their state scores, they have always been an A school. And the 2nd year they were open, they were ranked number 2 in the state for all middle schools. Can't beat that with any other Hernando county middle.


Gulf Coast Academy Of Science And Technology 5

Posted March 15, 2008
- a student
i am a student at GCA and i think that it is wonderful! i cant wait every friday when we get to go on our FAP! It is the best middle school arround! To bad i only get 3 years here. I would very highly reccommend this school.

Gulf Coast Academy Of Science And Technology 5

Posted June 20, 2007
- a parent
My son was a member of the charter class. Just look at the stats on this site for the Academy's academic achievements from their advanced cirriculum. Aside from the committment of the outstanding educators and directors, the mandatory parent participation is paramount to the success of the Academy's students. The sports program is anything but boring; rock climbing, cave exploration, snorkeling, white water rafting and the challenging ropes course at USF. What about an eight grade trip to Key West? Or the weekly field trips? All the courses and activities are intermingled to provide the greatest benefit for the students. This school's emphasis is on education and educational experiences, so if sports teams are important to you, this school won't meet your needs. 5 STARS all around.

Gulf Coast Academy Of Science And Technology 5

Posted February 07, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Gulf Coast Academy Of Science And Technology 5

Posted August 24, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gulf Coast Academy Of Science And Technology
10444 Tillery Road, Spring Hill, FL  34608
(352) 688-5092
Last modified Gulf Coast Academy Of Science And Technology is a Charter school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Gulf Coast Academy Of Science And Technology Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top