Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sebastian Middle School 1

Posted August 17, 2014
- a parent
Avoid, avoid, avoid. This school is a very, very poor representation of SJC school system. Strong sense of apathy from staff. Avoid, avoid, avoid...

Sebastian Middle School 2

Posted February 18, 2014
- a parent
Although the school seems to offer good programs academically, there are terrible bullying issues. My son was in the advanced program and from day one was bullied which included choking the first month of school, choking again, claw marks on legs and arms for an initiation, smacking, called names, etc. Even though we contacted the school regarding the issues, I was told to communicate more. There are no proactive systems in place to elevate the problems before they may occur. I was told that they could not ensure my sons safety and the staff started raising his voice and scared my son. We moved to St. John's County for the school system but is terribly disappointed.


Sebastian Middle School 3

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
This is an average school with a weak administration but some good teachers nevertheless. This is not R.B. Hunt or Keterlinus. So, if you are expecting a similar experience, look elsewhere. The block schedule (which the entire county has adopted now) is not very good. Every day starts with a one hour 'critical thinking' class which is basically a study hall (waste of an hour). The principal is basically a teacher's advocate and will do very little to support students or parents with specific issues. Bullying is largely ignored by the teachers and dean at this school.
1 person found this helpful

Sebastian Middle School 4

Posted August 26, 2011
- a parent
Like any school there are good and bad teachers but this school overall has more good ones who care about education and not social inventing. The principle is very helpful and seems to enjoy her job . There are teachers who truly think that education comes first and many of them seem to enjoy their job especially the social studies teacher however there are some flaky teachers who seem more spaced out on drugs but they are a small minority. Overall this school is probably the best school my children have attended and it's not just us who are happy with it but many other parents. Keep up the good work

Sebastian Middle School 5

Posted March 14, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Sebastian Middle School 0
no rating

Posted March 12, 2010
- a parent
there are lots of educated students there

Sebastian Middle School 0
no rating

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
it is an a school, respectable school with great teachers

Sebastian Middle School 5

Posted June 07, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Sebastian Middle School 3

Posted March 09, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Sebastian Middle School 5

Posted October 06, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sebastian Middle School
2955 Lewis Speedway, St. Augustine, FL  32084
(904) 547-3840
Last modified Sebastian Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sebastian Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top