Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lakeview Fundamental Elementary School 5

Posted July 04, 2011
- a parent
I have two children at Lakeview. This school has an excellent academic program. Our children previously attended a private school , this school is giving them a far superior education to what they were receiving. They are also exposed to a diverse group of families who primary focus is their children. The families and children are wonderful! The teachers leadership and school plans are vigorous. The teachers are dedicated to teaching and enrichment actives, above and beyond what I expected. Very hands-on and great communicators! Our children love being part of "book club" "battle of the books" science activities, etc. and have become very aware of our environment and community and eager to give back to it. The school makes learning fun! Their structure should be duplicated throughout the county.

Lakeview Fundamental Elementary School 3

Posted May 25, 2011
- a parent
If you want your child turned into a greedy little materialistic consumer who only looks at accomplishment as a means of getting some piece of tiny plastic junk, then this is a good choice. All learning activities and behavioral expectations are tied to rewards, instilling no real sense of personal accomplishment. My kindergartner knows all the words to Justin Bieber songs, and has spent hours watching "High School Musical," but what is she really learning, besides becoming a good little test taker for the FCAT? I am very disappointed with this curriculum, and culture of the school, and aghast that this is the "best" school in this county system. That being said, there is great parental support, and this is a comparatively "safe" environment with effective anti-bullying efforts.


Lakeview Fundamental Elementary School 5

Posted May 03, 2007
- a parent
I just love Lakeview. It is small and family oriented. The teachers and principal really care about their students. There is a real sense of community about the school. The PTA is very active and works hard to support the school while serving as an advocate for the children and providing educational and entertaining programs for the parents. I love all the family get-togethers and am excited my youngest child will be starting there this Fall.

Lakeview Fundamental Elementary School 5

Posted May 10, 2006
- a parent
Gifted program on school premisses. Extra writers club and math curriculum for 1st grade (and up)

Lakeview Fundamental Elementary School 5

Posted February 06, 2006
- a parent
Everyday math program they use is excellent! Small size is a plus.


Lakeview Fundamental Elementary School 5

Posted August 06, 2005
- a parent
This is a very family oriented school. My family went through a very rough year personally and my child still flourished with the help of teachers, office staff, and a principal who genuinely care about the students and families! They also challenge both students and parents to stay involved and inspire critical thinking skills daily!

Lakeview Fundamental Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2005
- a parent
If you are fortunate enough to be offered a spot at this school, you truly have won the lottery. Great kids, staff, parents, teachers and of course the principal, Mr. Canon, make this school absolutely the best. Look no further!

Lakeview Fundamental Elementary School 5

Posted August 07, 2003
- a parent
I feel as though my children are getting a private school education at a public school. The principal, staff and teachers are excellent. The gifted teacher and kindergarten teachers are especially committed and superb. A strong emphasis on reading has helped my children to develop a love for books. Lakeview is a great school!


Lakeview Fundamental Elementary School 5

Posted July 23, 2003
- a parent
Lakeview is an outstanding elementary school. The principal, Gary Cannon, is an excellent leader and motivator. He has the respect of the teachers, students and parents. The school stresses academics and high achievement. Students are taught how to set and achieve their goals. The teachers are caring and committed to their students. The school faculty does an excellent job of partnering with parents. We consider ourselves fortunate to have our children in this school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lakeview Fundamental Elementary School
2229 25th Street South, St. Petersburg, FL  33712
(727) 893-2139
Last modified Lakeview Fundamental Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lakeview Fundamental Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top