Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


John M. Sexton Elementary School 3

Posted September 21, 2013
- a parent
Sexton has a new principal since last year. The previous principal retired. There are good and also bad changes put through this year. A bad change is that the students are no longer grouped by their academic abilities, they are all averaged out per class. This means that the gifted students are bored in their regular class and students that need more explanation are not getting it. I can see that it is much harder for the teacher to teach the students now, because each child is at a different level. The students should not be limited by their academic abilities.

John M. Sexton Elementary School 5

Posted December 01, 2012
- a parent
I am frequently outside of the school in the morning. The number one concern at Sexton is the safety of the children. The reason to have children sit prior to 8:15 a.m., is because they are released in groups. This prevents the children from charging the gate. Sexton always puts the children first, I have seen this over and over in the past three years. Our new principal is dedicated to Sexton and its children. Self control is taught at school, but must be re-enforced at home. I have had the privilege to meet many staff members at Sexton and they ALL go over and above my expectations at a parent. Thank you Sexton staff for all you do!


John M. Sexton Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2009
- a parent
The Staff and Teachers are very involved in the children and work hard to improve academic skills. They strongly encourage parent involvement which results in greaer achievement by all of thestudents.

John M. Sexton Elementary School 5

Posted July 23, 2009
- a parent
This school is the best!!!! The teacher and staff here are so friendly and informative. There 'No Bulllying' policies are strictly inforced. Teachers are caring and listens to parent concerns. I have 2 kids there. Both have been there for 4 years and I can honestly say there hasn't been a day that I've here of any complaint about their school. Whenever I take their survey; I would be speechless and just tell them this: Keep up the wonderful influence in their young lives.......

John M. Sexton Elementary School 5

Posted November 15, 2008
- a student
This school is so awesome.The principal is so nice and cares about us.The teachers also teach what we need to learn and have a great policy for dicipline.Our school is working on a bully free enviornment and it's working excellently.The gifted program is very nice and teaches the gifted student advanced 6th grade work.Also they have the gifted program at school so the gifted students don't have to use a bus.This school is very organized and knows a lot.I would recomend to send your child to John M. Sexton Elementary.


John M. Sexton Elementary School 5

Posted June 17, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

John M. Sexton Elementary School 1

Posted March 06, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

John M. Sexton Elementary School 5

Posted August 28, 2007
- a parent
This is a great school! The teachers are very caring and will do whatever it takes to help children learn. The principal is always available to help when needed. She knows the children and makes each one feel special. The school is clean, safe, and the front office staff is always pleasant and welcoming. The boys and girls love the running club on Wednesday mornings. I would recommend this school to everyone.


John M. Sexton Elementary School 5

Posted July 22, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

John M. Sexton Elementary School 5

Posted October 27, 2006
- a parent
My daughter has been in this school for 5 yrs now and we are totally pleased with all that she has accomplished academically as well as emotionally. She loves all her teachers especially Ms. Doughty.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John M. Sexton Elementary School
1997 54th Avenue North, St. Petersburg, FL  33714
(727) 570-3400
Last modified John M. Sexton Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
John M. Sexton Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top