Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Canterbury School of Florida - Knowlton Campus 5

Posted October 15, 2013
- a parent
As parents of a child who has been at Canterbury for 13 years (since preK), we couldn't be happier with the school. The teachers really care about your child's education & development, in every way--academic, athletic, moral. And to top it all off, the college advising is second to none. If you're looking for the best school in the area, this is it. Take a tour. See what it's all about. You won't be sorry.

Canterbury School of Florida - Knowlton Campus 5

Posted October 15, 2013
- a parent
A lovely balance of academics and nurturing appropriate for grade levels. Ability to create own areas of academic interest for higher grade students and lots of studying tru play for the younger ones. As a parent, never having to worry that the child is overlooked or ignored is priceless. Children feel loved and develop amazing self confidence. A variety of community projects exposes children to the world outside of the one many live in.


Canterbury School of Florida - Knowlton Campus 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
This school is one of the rare few in the Tampa Bay Area that delivers what it promises. Bullying is not tolerated. Very few cliques with a family oriented atmosphere. The teachers are tied into the parents with several updates via email on grades and progress each month. The portal to review homework and progress is easy and gives parents a way to make sure they know exactly what the kids are supposed to be doing. We moved both kids from another similarly priced top notch private school and thank goodness we did. Won't be looking back. Canterbury is the school that is up and coming. All the best teachers from the other private schools seemed to be migrating to this small, loving, academically oriented school. My child was bullied traumatically at another school and he is finally thriving and happy again. Now I have both children in Canterbury and while it is quite the drive, we just LOVE it. We are enjoying a diverse community of very impressive, involved families and children who are not pretentious but certainly could be. It is the right mix of low key, drug free, nurturing, gentle families. I am so glad I kept looking until I found this undiscovered gem of a school.

Canterbury School of Florida - Knowlton Campus 5

Posted September 04, 2012
- a parent
We love Canterbury! I wouldn't consider another school for my 6 year-old. The teachers, the community feel, and the educational experience is one that is not replicated anywhere else in the area. Starting in Pre-K, the kids learn to speak to a crowd during flag each morning, they have Madarin and Spanish, and a Marine Science program that is unlike any other early education environment I have seen. Truly impressive staff and dedication to excellence!

Canterbury School of Florida - Knowlton Campus 5

Posted February 07, 2012
- a parent
We are so pleased with Canterbury for our 3rd grade daughter. She was in an "A" rated fundamental school and doing well (straight A's and in the gifted program), but we felt she was not being challenged to her full potential (academically, socially and physically.) After the first day at Canterbury, she said it "was the best school day ever". Canterbury has small class sizes, extremely gifted teachers, recess (which is critical to a good learning enviroment), and enrichment programs such as Spanish, Mandarin, Art, Music, Marine Science, PE, Strings (violin) and a focus on a family atmostphere and character. My daughter is treated as an individual, yet part of a much larger family and it is wonderful. I can sleep at night knowing that we are giving her the best education possible. And an added bonus - she is happy!!!


Canterbury School of Florida - Knowlton Campus 5

Posted December 30, 2011
- a parent
Our three daughters are attending Canterbury with our oldest graduating this May 2012. She is so prepared for college! Academically she was challenged. Athletically she was trained to her fullest potential. And she was given social skills that will carry her through life productively. All of these were reinforced at home. The grass is never greener on the other side you must water your own grass and that is exactly what the teachers, administration and parents do for our children. The encouragement and guidance is consistant. The education level is high and intertwined between subjects with many hands on activities. The glue to this school is parent association and communication between faculty and administration. The only draw back that my daughters say is the student body is small. Maybe another 300 hundred students would help in the lower and high school but any more than that and I think Canterbury will loose its edge over all other schools. This is one great school where the kids can grow in confidence!

Canterbury School of Florida - Knowlton Campus 5

Posted June 21, 2011
- a parent
Canterbury makes we wish I was back in school! Our daughter is a rising 6th grader and the past 7 years have been a wonderful experience for our family. The Canterbury Community reflects all the positive things we want her to experience and learn from. We have had any concerns addressed in a thoughtful and appreciative manner. We are confident the faculty knows our child's strengths and weaknesses, as it is relected in her academic achievements, high confidence level, and wilingness to branch out and try new things

Canterbury School of Florida - Knowlton Campus 5

Posted May 04, 2011
- a parent
If the Public School Board used the Canterbury School of Florida as a model for teaching in public school we would see a higher graduation rate and young adults who understood how much positive power they have to shape not only their future but to influence the world they live in for the better. One of the keys to sucess at Canterbury is the teachers ability to build on each students strong points and bring confidence when dealing with subjectsthat are more difficult. Students at Canterbury know they can't fail because their teachers believe in them!


Canterbury School of Florida - Knowlton Campus 5

Posted October 01, 2010
- a parent
Who said that Florida Schools are worse than schools back East? Well, this is certainly not the case for Canterbury. Our kids spent their early years in the best private and most expensive schools in NY, NJ and CT. We found Canterbury to provide a much better education and stimulating environment than any we have tried. There is a true sense of community with other families. Teachers and administrators are truly dedicated and those who are not are soon asked to leave. This is a serious, no nonsense school that will give our kids the education they deserve by the people they deserve.

Canterbury School of Florida - Knowlton Campus 5

Posted June 20, 2010
- a parent
The lower school (PK-4th grade) is a warm & loving environment. The teachers couldn't be more loving or skilled in the art of teaching young students. The middle & upper school campus provides students with a sense of freedom, tho students are never far from the watchful & caring eyes of teachers & administrators. Academics are excellent, & the school offers a broad range of electives. Most graduating students receive scholarships; the total amount each year is astonishing. Athletics have become an important & exciting part of student (& parent) life. Also, Canterbury families are very friendly & welcoming. There is truly a sense of one big family; & there are several opportunities to become involved & to get to know the teachers & administrators. Overall, a great small school with more academic, athletic, & arts opportunities than you'd expect to find at a small school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Canterbury School of Florida - Knowlton Campus
990 62nd Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL  33702
(727) 525-1419
Last modified Canterbury School of Florida - Knowlton Campus is a Private school that serves grades 5-12
Canterbury School of Florida - Knowlton Campus Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top