Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

St. Augustine High School

Public | 9-12 | 1718 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 27, 2011

This school DOES not return papers and WILL not allow parents to see what is being graded. Their AICE Program is a joke, is arbitrary and unavailable for perusal. Find someplace else for your child, unless he plays football.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

there is a support system, and the best choice for academics in place for every child no matter what their interest
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2010

What a wonderful learning environment. The Chorus Dept. is amazing. Mr. Dodd is a wonderful chorus teacher. Art, music, dance, guitar, voice, piano, drama...St. Augustine High has it all. I graduated from here in 1972, now my daughters have attended, maybe I'll have grand children attend St. Augustine High School - the best in the County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2009

While the AICE teachers and JROTC instructors are fantastic in the least, I must admit that several of the non-AICE and AP teachers are pathetic in their ability to instruct a classroom. The staff is technology ignorant at best, and many are jumpy and unsure when they must make decisions related to computers and their use. The disciplinary staff make no decisions for themselves, and merely do as the computer program says, making little to no effort to judge the situation with any higher thinking skills. The staff communication is mediocre, and I found that some teachers/staff were never even informed of major decisions made by the administrative staff at SAHS. The only things I found not lacking in this school were the AICE staff, Computer & Fine Art staff, and the JROTC cadre.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 11, 2009

My son was home schooled before we moved to the Saint Augustine area. Although we are in the Nease home district he was accepted into the Saint Johns County Center for the Arts. I have found that the school is a very caring and accepting place for creative teens. My son found a place where he can be his self and is thriving. Unlike other programs, students can 'cross' into the other Art areas as long they meet the audition requirements and have room in their schedules. Many students are in the honor/dual enrollment/ advanced placement and /AICE courses/programs . Mr. Dodd, the Director of SJCCA, is also the head of the choral program. He was Saint Johns County Teacher of the Year and is committed not only to the arts education but to the nurturing of his student's characters and the awareness/consequences of their choices. Kudos to the SJCCA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2008

I'm a student now of Allen D. Nease but I was a student of St. Augustine. The teachers at St. Augustine are 3 times more loving and caring then at Nease. The J.R.O.T.C. program is better as well.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 26, 2008

Great school! The teaching acadamy is great. AICE is not for everyone. Schools graduates are going to the top schools nationwide . High GPA's abound and the school has a good diversity. State cuts have hurt. The school had an orchestra but it was disbanded due to a teacher with other priorities. Teachers can help all they can but the student also has to be interested.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2008

My son attended this school for four years in the AICE program. He graduated with a 1500 on his SAT. I could not have been happier with the relaxed atmosphere and so much work was done in the classroom each and every day. This is an awesome school !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2008

I think this school is perfect for my child's education. Plus I went there too. I love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2008

So far it;s mediocre as far as academics go. My son isn't challenged enough and gets bored. Also,I would like to see a Lacross team at this school!!The other two high schoold in our county have teams.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2008

Good school but limited academic excellence effort. Too many teachers have liberal bias in teaching and very ignorant about world events and history. Why high school teachers have to share their personal opin.s i sbeyound me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2006

I have two daughters at THE High School, and we could not be more pleased with their experience. Both are members of the AICE program, thriving academically, socially and athletically. The diversity of students at SAHS is an anomaly in St. Johns County, and I guarantee you that it will better prepare them for life than an homogenous student body. The teachers are great and the student body friendly. Excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2006

I am so grateful for this school.We moved from a very small town in Illinois.The school had 100 students, from 7th grade through 12th grade. This may sound wonderful because of class size, not true.Because of the small size, they were limited to the classes they could offer to students.My son has really excelled since moving here last year.The drama program is awsome.He loves it.He has had so many opportunities open up to him.He is more challenged, and feels great about himself when he achieves his goals.The teachers truely care about the students.Thank you so much for all you have done, and will do for my son in the future.You do a great job involving parents also. Paula Oliver
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2006

School is on the way up. It is now a school for the arts and has some top academic programs. Time will tell whether the programs can bring the grading up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2004

Well, St. Augustine High is a very well popular school with lots of smart and bright future students. The principle keeps the students going calling himself the 'Bus Driver'. Teachers are getting down with the kids, telling the subject in a way they would understand what is going on. The Athletic department is wonderful as well, with the most outgoing coaches you would ever find. Don't get me wrong the biggest part of the school are the students, they are who make St.Augustine the best and the number one Yellow Jackets ever. And a big thanks to the class of 2003 making history through their four years of high school.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

430 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

338 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

359 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

408 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

264 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
49%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

389 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

418 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 75%
Black 15%
Hispanic 7%
Two or more races 2%
Asian 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 168%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 21%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 78%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 45%58%61%
Master's degree 53%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. CATHY MITTELSTADT
Fax number
  • (904) 547-8535

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3205 Varella Avenue
St. Augustine, FL 32084
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 547-8530

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Johns Virtual School
St. Augustine, FL




Deaf High School (Fsdb)
St. Augustine, FL


Blind High School (Fsdb)
St. Augustine, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT