Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mill Creek Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 912 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 1, 2013

My three children have all attended Mill Creek. We've had a great experience. The new principal who came to the school in 2011 is fabulous. I have seen improvements in my children's academic skills, and their teachers have always had an open door policy. The Pre-K program is great. I can't believe how much my 4-year-old is doing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2012

My son is in Pre-K & I'm amazed at how great this school is! It's all day Pre-K program too. Communication is excellent with a daily e-mailed report advising me how he ate, if he napped / rested, what they read, studied in the classroom as well as & in music, media or gym. Everything! He loves going to school & is just learning so much faster than I dreamed. Lots of Open Houses & chances to get involved too which is perfect for us. Love our PTA Discounts key-tag!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2010

Poor communication on part of the administration. Principal does not listen to parent concerns. If you are the type of parent that would like to be part of an open to communication school, this is not the one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2010

My eldest child attended Mill Creek back when Mr. F and Mr. C were running the show and it was absolutely wonderful!! I am sad to say that it is completely different now. The last two years it seems that the school is more like a business than a place for children to learn and grow. The teachers are unhappy and stressed out. My youngest child who is currently attending Mill Creek is always behind and the school offers no help; communication is bad and they don't encourage parent involvement in the classroom. Mill Creek has always had a great reputation, but it is no longer an A school in my book.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2010

I love Mill Creek! The Administration, teachers and PTA all do a wonderful job for our school. However, we need parents to get involved without waiting to be asked. There is much we can do to support our child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2009

The entire staff make an effort to know every child and family which in turns makes the student feel special.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The staff and teachers are very concerned about doing a good job and work hard to make our children excel!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

Our kids have been at Mill Creek Elementary for about five years now. My kids have been well-developed both academically and socially. We've had a total of 8 teachers, between the kids, and all have been dedicated, organized and caring. In fact, with the exception of one teacher who is no longer there, my kids have LOVED their teachers and we've been very happy. The administration is effective and very committed. Perhaps best is the school's friendly, positive environment - a great learning atmosphere for kids. A new PTA has created an even more welcoming atmosphere and there are more new volunteers helping out. The administration and volunteers at Mill Creek Elementary create an environment where parents can be as involved as they want. Kids' education is the first priority and the school's faculty, administration and volunteers seem to all work very well together toward that priority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2008

I tend to disagree with the e-mail below. I have always felt welcome when volunteering at the school both in the classroom and with the PTA. Perhaphs their events would be more organzied if they had more volunteers. The only way to make change is to become involved. If security is your concern, join SAC and make suggestions. The gifted program is limited but again, is more than what was there in previous years and by voice and involvement alone changes can be made. I believe the principal is doing her best with the limited resources she is given.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2008

This will be our families' third year at Mill Creek Elementary. We have two kids here. We have been happy with one of their teachers but not the others. The gifted program is limited and was just thrown together to accommodate minimum requirements. School safety needs to be improved. Doors are left open and unlocked ALL OVER the school. Anyone can just walk in anywhere. The Principal seems nice & to work very hard but overlooks some of the concerns parents have voiced about technology tools for students. Like the laptops parents bought but now there is no laptop program. Volunteering is hard at this school so parent involvement could be better. This PTA has a terrible reputation and has gone downhill. It is run by a clique. The PTA events are not well-organized. The school administration seems to overlook this organization. Extracurricular activities are limited and need improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2008

We have been at Mill Creek Elementary a year and really have enjoyed our daughters teachers both years. Unfortunately, I believe that the school has gone down hill in the past year. The gifted program offerred is extremely limited. The technology is behind that of other newer schools in the area. I believe that the administration changes in leadership have not been positive. We are considering other options, not because of the teachers, but because of the environment and leadership. Very disappointing to us!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2005

My son attended Mill Creek Kindergarten but was transferred to Timerlin Creek for 1st grade (this year). While Timberlin is a great school, he still misses the teachers, students and other facilty. They have a wonderful program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2005

My child has been enrolled at Mill Creek for 3 years, and we've never had any issues. The teachers have been great, as well as all of the faculty. They have fun activities for the students throughout the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

My daughter is a first grader at MCE, and I am so glad we decided to enroll her there. Her teacher, Mrs Michel, is awesome. We moved here in January after Christmas break, and I was skeptical about her feeling confortable in a new school. Diarra loves her teacher, her classmates, and her school. We are looking forward to the next four years. Thank you to all the Mill Creek staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2005

Wonderful school. Lots of parental and community involvement. Clean and bright. Great dedicated teachers. My son is in 5th grade and we will be very sad to leave Mill Creek.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2004

I have 3 boys who have attended Mill Creek. The older 2 are going to be a senior and a freshman in the 04-05 school year. The experience we had as a family was wonderful. My children felt like school was a second home. The teachers were able to give extra attention when it was needed and at the first sign of the kids stepping out of bounds I was notified. Luckily none have even been in trouble. We all cried when they had to go to middle school. The experience the 03-04 year in different. The school has become like a machine, that is only striving to function and I can't wait for the youngest to be out of there. The reason is because of the crazy growth that was thrust on our area without any regard for the teachers or kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

My daughter started 3rd grade at MCE last year (2002) and we have been extremely pleased with the care and quality of teaching she has received. The school has done an amazing job bringing up the FCAT scores and going from a C in 2001 to an A this past year 2003. Mr. McClatchy, the principal, is wonderful with the students and always has an open line of communication with the parents. I feel very fortunate that our daughter attends MCE. It is a safe, friendly and hard working school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2003

We moved from a top rated public school district in NJ in July 2002. I have been very pleased with MCE. Everyone I've spoken with has been kind, sincere and dedicated to the well-being of my children. My daughter was in K last year and my son in 2nd grade. I was originally concerned that the Northern schools would be well ahead of the Southern schools (since FL's schools reputation had preceeded it). My children excelled early, which was recognized by their teachers. They were screened for 'Gifted and Talented' classes and passed the screenings. My son is now with MCE's teacher of the year-and he loves it! My daughter is still too young for 'G and T' but I am comfortable that when she's 'of age', her teachers will move her accordingly. When we moved here, MCE had just raised their scores from a 'C' to a 'B' rating and this past set of scores came back, as expected, 'A' Mr. McLatchey is an amazing role model. He's great with the parents and better still with the kids. I would recommend Mill Creek to anyone intersted in a quality public education in St. Johns Cty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2003

We have been at Mill Creek for a year now and the school only keeps making improvements. The Teahers and Administration are always working hard to make the school a better place. We just keep improving our grade and the programs for the students because of all the involvement from the teachers, staff, parents and community. I am a very involved parent and find that the school welcomes all the time I can give to the school, as well as my child's classroom. A piece of advice I will give new families just entering the school, is to always ask where you can help or just jump in...because the school is a large school I find that you can't wait for someone to approach you but you need to just join in. The staff and teachers are always in need of assistance but often times don't have the time to ask or know who to ask as far as the parents. The PTA is always looking for family and friends to help out in the multitude of activities that go on throughout the year. It just takes someone to ask.


Posted June 28, 2003

We moved here in February 2002, my child was in 1st grade. We were not sure how Mill Creek would be so we had an application for our child to go to Jacksonville Country Day School. When a spot became available at JCDS, we went to Mill Creek and spoke to the principal and were absolutely positive that MCE would be the better choice for our child. We were not only impressed with the academic program, but with the Character Counts program also. They care about the children as a whole, not just academically. Our child will be entering 3rd grade and is doing great because of the wonderful, experienced teachers and staff there. MCE also allows every parent to be involved whether in the classroom or with the PTA. We are very confident that we made the right choice for the growth of our child.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

156 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

156 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

169 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

169 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

166 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

125 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

125 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

125 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

156 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 79%
Hispanic 10%
Black 4%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 195%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 22%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 64%58%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3750 International Golf Parkway
St. Augustine, FL 32092
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 547-3720

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Palencia Elementary School
St. Augustine, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT