Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gamble Rogers Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 828 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 14, 2013

The new administration is terrible they are very disorganized. I had a confrence scheduled and they forgot about ti and some teachers did not even show up. My son was required to do two science fair projects because his partner did not do his. he has had a sub for math for the last two months and he is not learning a thing in that class and when he went to counselar about this she was rude and told him oh well just have to deal with it for another month! His social studies teacher uses daily movies to teach the class only lectures or teaches on days he is being evaluated. every time I have tried to communicate with them I get a voicemail with no return phone call or unanswered emails. the school recourse officer may just be the rudest crudest person I have ever encountered! She should not be aloud to work around any children I am sure they do have some good teachers at this school however we have only had the pleasure of having one great teacher Mrs Garett. It seems when you go there that they all are miserable and do not want to be there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

Gamble Rogers is an A+ school! The administration and teachers are all so positive and create a very safe and welcoming atmosphere that captures the students attention and promotes learning. I'm very fortunate to be placed during my field internship at Gamble Rogers!


Posted July 15, 2009

My Daughter is going into the seventh grade and she is getting smarter everyday with the teachers she had last year she was on the wekiva team and she loved it but hated the elective she wasent allowed to take art and that stunk and i dindt not approve of the way the gamble rodgers bus drivers spoke to some of the kids not just my kid but other parent children also but she had alot of fun at that school and thats important and she has become very positive in her sel and the way she learns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2008

GRMS is a great school. My daughter has been on the PEAK team for almost 2 school years and I can see her getting smarter everyday. It's nice to know I have experienced teachers who are concerned about my daughters education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2008

#1) The dress code has been resolved, we can now wear what ever we want. #2) Who ever submitted the last post on may 10, 2007, this school does have an art program that is readily available for the kids to go to. They also have a required phys ed class, so your daughter does go outside for an hour. So maybe next time, you should go do some research before you dog on the schol!!!@@@!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2007

My daughter is going to gamble for the first year and she is in the peak program. She doesnt have much of a chance to do much of the art that I would want her to be in. Cuz I feel that she has the ability to succeed in the art cuz iI have seen the way that she draws. She spends a lot of time at home studying for her exams and tests and she doesnt have a chance to go outside and get some exercise. I think that maybe they should lay back and let the kids and let them relax. But still challenge them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

I have to admit that I was not thrilled with the idea of my daughter always having to wear collared shirts and belts and not being allowed to wear shorts--however, her academic experience has been mostly positive. There are always going to be things the kids whine about when it comes to school, but some of the teachers have done really well with making learning fun. We are even more excited for next year since our daughter will be able to participate in this new magnet program--PEAK!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

This is my son's first year at Gamble Rogers. So far everything is great except the dress code. I feel that with Florida's high temperatures the students should be allowed to wear at least knee lenth shorts for boys and capri shorts for girls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2003

I was very impressed with the faculty and staff at Gamble Rogers. My son's first year at middle school was very good. The faculty was very helpful with every issue I felt concern over. The principle was very encouraging.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

253 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

255 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

246 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

272 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

204 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

289 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

284 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
48%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

290 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

282 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 82%
Black 8%
Hispanic 6%
Two or more races 3%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 40%58%61%
Master's degree 60%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MR. GREG BERGAMASCO
Fax number
  • (904) 547-8705

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6250 U.S. 1
St. Augustine, FL 32086
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 547-8700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. John's Academy
St. Augustine, FL





Cathedral Parish School
St. Augustine, FL


St Gerard Campus
St. Augustine, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT