Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cathedral Parish School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in St. Augustine

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $106,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

69 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 23, 2010

Wonderful school with wonderful people. They are like an extended family to us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

CPS is an excellent school as well as very organized. We have had a great experience, We are going on our third year. It is a phenominal school yet as well as I would not recommend any other school In St. Augustine ever. CPS has a very high standard staff as well as an excellent Office Manager, as well as a great principle. Marianne is phenominal as well as all of the other main office staff! We all consider them a family! The teacher's are more then over qualified! All of them. I would highly refer this school to everyone. The after school program is above all stars! No one ever has to worry about there children being safe especially for after school hours. We would give this school 5 stars and way above! There would be no other way!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

The school is not only providing my children an amazing academic experience but also continued support of the Godly values that are taught in our home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

It teachs wisdom, spirit, cooperation, preparation, and provides for the individual student to achive their goal
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

I love Cathedral Parish School because it is a Catholic-centered, safe environment where my son is receiving an excellent education and making life-long friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

It is a beautiful school nestled in the old downtown of St. Augustine, Fl, the oldest city in our nation. The school is surrounded by, and part of, our nations history. Tourists meander by daily. It has a wonderful atmosphere that is home to many nice families. However, because of the school's age, we need a new playground.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Spend a little time with the staff at the school and you realize how great they are - friendly, they go out of their way to be helpful, and always done with a smile.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

It operates a small close knit community supported school that allows substantial participation by the parents in their child's education.


Posted April 22, 2010

It's a great community, full of loving and passionate teachers and parents that work together to provide and outstanding learning and spiritual environment!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Great teachers, great kids, great education, and great values.


Posted April 21, 2010

CPS maintains a strong Catholic heritage and values which are a part of their daily life. It is a National Blue Ribbon School where student can excel with excellent and caring teachers. The school is a family community and builds a strong, lasting bond with its families, students, and faculty. CPS still has Art, Spanish, Music, PE, Library and Computers.


Posted April 21, 2010

CPS is a phenomenal school in a great Diocese. As a former teacher in the same Diocese, I had the opportunity to work with teachers and children of this school and I was always impressed with their level of academic achievement, character, and committment displayed by all.


Posted April 21, 2010

A school with great teachers and staff who teach children good values along with a good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

It a great school, the best private school in Florida.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

This school has heart. I is small enough to care and large enough to teach what needs to be taught.


Posted April 21, 2010

Students who attend Cathedral Parish School are SO well prepared for high school. The vast majority of their students do very well in a college prep high school.


Posted April 21, 2010

Excellence in academics, strong Catholic values and staff demands respect from it's students . Parents must be closelyinvolved


Posted April 21, 2010

Wonderful school. Great family atmosphere. Excellent teachers! Blue Ribbon School
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

parent involvement is encouraged, appropriate teacher/student ratio, Advanced curriculum
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

It is a very caring school and since my son has started there we have felt welcome. I also know he is getting a great education!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 42%
Two or more races 9% 3%
Hispanic 7% 29%
Black 1% 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • FCCAP
Fax number
  • (904) 829-2059

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of St. Augustine
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

259 Saint George Street
St. Augustine, FL 32084
Phone: (904) 824-2861

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Creative Kids
St. Augustine, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT