Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cathedral Parish School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in St. Augustine

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $106,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

69 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 11, 2009

I do not like this school one bit, some of the teachers are terrible


Posted February 4, 2008

The principal and guidance counselor maintain an Open Door policy and are very easy to access. The academics is superb as are the teachers. The school communicates with the parents via personnal contact, Ed-line, e-mail and Honeywell Alert. This year, the school was selected as a National Blue Ribbon School of Excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2008

We moved to St. Augustine 5 years ago and found a wonderful school in CPS. The administration and teachers are top-notch. A strong education with christian values give students a well-rounded experience in school and well as great preparation for the wordly challenges that face them. Parental involvement is strong with a very active PTO that supports the school. We highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2008

My husband and I both attended CPS as well as our brothers and sisters. We all received an excellent education. My daughters both attended CPS and both have graduated from college, one on the Presidents list at the University of Florida and one from Flagler College on the Deans list. I believe the basics at CPS are why my children has accomplished so much with their educational experience. CPS has loving and caring staff that will go the extra mile for your student. I cannot think of anywhere that my children would have received a better educlation. I now look forward to the day that my granddaughter will attend CPS. M. Bond


Posted January 14, 2008

I have very little good to say about this school other than the parents are involved. The school portrays itself as homey and nuturing but is anything but this The principle never knew my kids names nor asked/ tried to learn their names. The children were bullies and very materialistic. They do wear uniforms but found other things to be into. They had a few good teachers ( 3rd grade). My kids went here for 5 long years.There is a reason the enrollment at this school has not increased over the years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2008

I have nothing good to say about this small private school. The kids were mainly bullies, education geared toward middle achieving students. The homework load was overwhelming and mostly busy work. My kids went here for 5 year and the principle never made an attempt to learn my name or the students. The parents are involved and the third grade teachers are genuine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

If you are thinking of moving to the state of Florida and need to preview a school before making a decision, this school and it's staff are the most friendly and accommodating individuals.From the first phone call, the office staff is welcoming and informative.I toured the school with an extremely helpful parent of three who had transferred to the area and could answer any concern I had. First impressions are everything.At first glance the children look happy while learning. All the teachers took time to chat with us and make my sixth grader feel more confortable.The school is small and charming however a look at the computer lab shows technology that is very up to date.If you are looking for a structured learning environment that has not lost it's warmth, you should defiantly look into Cathedral Parish School. J. Tripp New York
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2005

Together my children have 14 yrs at this school, from elementary up. School has math issues, not keeping up with public schools in math, but overall a high level of parental involvement and a well disciplined group of children. Needs to improve lunch menu and lighten the load of homework and backpacks. If you are concerned about what your children will see in their peers behavior, this could be a good place for them to go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2004

This is a wonderful school with an at home atmosphere. Great teachers! Excellent environment for learning. My husband and I both attended this school as well as our daughters.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 42%
Two or more races 9% 3%
Hispanic 7% 29%
Black 1% 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • FCCAP
Fax number
  • (904) 829-2059

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of St. Augustine
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

259 Saint George Street
St. Augustine, FL 32084
Phone: (904) 824-2861

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Creative Kids
St. Augustine, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT