Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cathedral Parish School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in St. Augustine

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $106,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

69 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 24, 2014

I don't really care for the parents are forced to volunteer. I think maybe they should volunteer but as many hours as they make you is a bit ridiculous. I have a younger child who is not in school yet and I don't have a babysitter so it is hard to find time to go and volunteer as much as they make you. I also find that a bunch of parents are really stuck up and it seems like every week not only do I have to pay for my child's education here, but they are asking for money for something every week it seems like... The teachers are okay, I really like my child's teacher's aid a lot more though. She seems more caring and nurturing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2014

No centralized leadership. Current principal absolutely does not place the students' needs as a priority. Teachers do their own thing. Many of them lost their love of teaching a long time ago. No other choice for Catholic education in town so forced to attend a wannabe school. Parents are forced to volunteer or must pay an hourly rate back to the school. Their is no spirit of giving by the volunteers because they are "required" to serve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2011

Great, nurturing, positive, Christ centered learning environment! My family has done the public school thing. My children were not challenged. Here they are challenged not only in academics, but to be better people, of high moral value. We teach that at home and are fortunate enough to be in a school where our morals are mirrored.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2011

My two children graduated from this school, attending from K-8. I believe they had an exceptional education. In high school they were far ahead of their classmates in most areas, especially Math, Science, and research. Above that, their Catholic education helped them maintain their high moral standards. Principals have changed twice over the past few years which has put the school in transitition, some of it rocky. A sincere bond with the whole school is needed. The long-term dedicated teachers are what make the school a success. They deserve praise for working with little funding but with great heart for their students and families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2010

safe, small, very family oriented and parents always doing there very best to help in all aspects
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

This is a small fully progressive Catholic School seated in the heart of the Nation's oldest city. Great teachers, students and administrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

It is a wonderful school. My favorite teacher was at CPS. I loved going to school there. I have such wonderful memories of teachers, school events and life long friends!


Posted May 5, 2010

CathedralParrish is a great school that promotes individualism, respect, leadership, & faith.


Posted May 5, 2010

It is a great alternative to public schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

It is a loving nurturing place, simple!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

It is a great school with a very loving and concerned staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

The best school in St Johns County. The best teachers are here!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Our oldest son has been at Cathdral Parish School for 3 years, and our middle child will be in kindergarten there next year. We could not have wished for a better school experience. Students are encouraged by first-class, caring educators to strive for excellence in both academics as well as in their personal character. The school welcomes parents' involvement with frequent and open communication between parents and teachers as well as a wide array of volunteer opportunities. We love our CPS family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

The values, attitude of parents and teachers, and academics are all outstanding. My child is treated as a student and a child of Christ - Amen!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

CPS keeps you well informed what is going on with their academics. The teachers sure knows how keep the kids stimulated and the staff is outstanding. But most important part is my son is happy going to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

I went to CPS as a child and both of my daughters attended CPS! I have worked at CPS for many years. It is a great school. Come by and take a tour of our school and see for yourself. The staff and students at the school are like a second family for me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

The dedication to the quality of education to each student is outstanding.


Posted April 23, 2010

I love that they learn to help the community and also they are nurtured in their faith by going to at least once during the week.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

close to home and in a beautiful section of the city.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

This is a terrific, well-respected, well-rounded Catholic School, I'm proud to have the kids attend it.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 44%
Two or more races 8% N/A
Hispanic 5% 24%
Asian 1% N/A
Black 1% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • FCCAP
Fax number
  • (904) 829-2059

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of St. Augustine
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

259 Saint George St
St. Augustine, FL 32084
Phone: (904) 824-2861

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Creative Kids
St. Augustine, FL



St. Johns Virtual School
St. Augustine, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT