Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Timberlin Creek Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 953 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

255 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 21, 2010

Timberlin is the best school because of how everyone works together for the students! Parents support teachers and teachers will do anything to get their students to learn! The students put forth so much effort and strive to do their best, even when it's tough! The community works together and helps make our school the best by volunteering in classrooms and sending in needed materials. We couldn't make our school number 1 without everyone helping!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 21, 2010

This school is above and beyond my expectations. We moved here from Indiana and my sons school there was not very well rated...a 5 I believe. But just in the 2 months that my son has attended Timberlin Creek Elementary, he has made leaps and bounds in reading. He also show a keen interest in math which he was not introduced to at his previous Indiana school. I see the commitment the teachers and staff have toward learning and it helps motivate the kids too. Also this school community has the best parent involvement I have ever witnessed. The children are so happy and well behaved and my son made friends right away. Way to go TCE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

Because of their genuine love of our children and their success
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

TCE is very organized and provides a wonderful, comfortable, and stimulating learning environment. The staff and teachers really care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

The genuine love for the children and their focus on their growth and success is displayed in everything that is done at TCE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

My son comes home happy everyday and the progress he is making is obvious in everything he does.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

The way they take such great care in the placement of students with teachers so that they can be the best students they can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

The faculty and staff at Timberlin Creek Elementary are exceptional. They are not just committed to providing an exceptional education to its students but also to teaching and developing exceptional citizens. They consistantly deliver an A school rating which I see in my children's academic achievements and excitement to return to school again tomorrow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

Our son just started Pre-K at Timberlin this year and the principal, staff and teachers have been wonderful. They treat him like one of their own and I appreciate them so much. Ms. Hutchins, the principal is outstanding, she makes sure she keeps the families informed and involved. Before our son actually started I had reservations and spoke with another staff person, but Ms. Hutchins herself took the time to call me back and really put my mind at ease, she is a wonderful leader and person.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

Timberlin Creek Elementary is the very best school. The staff is so dedicated. The programs that they provide are so wonderful. My oldest daughter has been in the laptop program since first grade and she is so computer wise....she learned to do a power point presentation in the first grade. I just cannot say enough about how much my two children love to go to school and love learning and it really takes a great school with a wonderful principal all the way through the staff. Every year we wonder if the teacher will be as good as the last and they are.....they each bring their own unique gifts and share them with the children while they are teaching them. I really can not say enough about this school. I am so thankful and feel so blessed that they are able to attend such a GREAT school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

Timberlin Creek has the most energetic, organized and supportive teachers! My daughter just started kindergarten this year and I have been impressed by the awesome communication and organization at the school. Safety is first and foremost. It's obvious that the teachers and Principal Hutchins care about each and every child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

Because they provide my children with the academic skills needed to succeed in this world. It is a very nurturing school who wants the best for your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

Timberlin Creek rises above all political and socio-economic situations to provide quality education with an emphasis on character for all students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

I am appreciative of TEC because the teachers seems very concerned about my child's wellbeing and education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

I Love Timberlin Creek as a parent and an employee. It is a safe and positive place that instills love of learning into the students. The rapport between students, teachers, administration, parents and community is amazing!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

New facilities, caring, dedicated staff, strive for high standards with curriculum. Excellent communication between teachers & parents. My child feels safe, happy & enjoys learning there. Even the bus drivers are excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

The teachers and staff are stellar and always willing to help our kids AND community. We have very involved students, teachers, administrators, parents and business partners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

its a very nice and good school.i am so glad that my child in this scholl.thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

Teachers are great and I love the laptop classes
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

The staff of Timberlin Creek are the best! They work hard every year to run the best program for our children, our school is A rated all the time!! Go Timberlin!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

146 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

147 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

146 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

169 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

169 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

169 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 79%
Asian 9%
Hispanic 6%
Two or more races 3%
Black 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 100%58%61%
Master's degree 0%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

555 Pine Tree Lane
St. Augustine, FL 32092
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 547-7400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Liberty Pines Academy
Saint Johns, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT