Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Timberlin Creek Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 953 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

255 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 20, 2010

Timberlin Creek Elementary provides perfect environment that a child needs to grow at this age, thanks to great principal and very well versed teaching staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

Timberlin Creek has great teachers and staff! My daughter loves it there and is learning a lot!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

Beyond just being a GREAT school, TCES has AMAZING parent participation, which I think makes all the deference. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

Timberlin Creek is a great school because of its professional, caring and talented teachers and staff. They are focused on each individual child and aims to create a learning environment that is productive, caring and supportive of each child. One of my children has graduated fromTimberlin Creek and was extremely successful in middle school. That success is directly correlated to the preparation that Timberlin Creek provided.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

The teachers and the parents are very involved in the programs. They provide guidance and confidence building exercises for students at all grade levels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

Fabulous pricipal, teachers who truly care about their students, great staff running the school -- all create a fantastic learning environment. Parents are very involved and work closely with teachers/staff. Our daughter loves Timberlin Creek!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

They are very responsible and communicative on everything! Their teaching skills are the best they can provide for each kid depending on the child's needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

My child went all the way through Timberlin Creek! It is a top notch school! #1
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

I love Timberlin Creek School because Mrs. Hutchins is the best principal I have ever met. She makes sure that the kids have the best teacher and staff to watch over them. The school inside and out is always clean.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

Best school. Super Caring and wonderful teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

I've been teaching for 9 years and worked in several schools in 3 different states and this by far the best. The faculty, staff, and administration are the best in the district, and still striving to be better. This school is the best of the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

We are so proud of our Timberlin Creek Eagles!! St. Johns County is so blessed to have such an exceptional school as Timberlin Creek! What a wonderful place to raise a child; in the most loving environment and with the most knowledgeable teachers and administration in the state. Way to go Timberlin Creek!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

My grandchildren attend TCE and truly love this school. My daughter and son in law are very active at the school and are happy to be so.


Posted May 5, 2010

TCE is a public school with a private school feel. The principal has built a class A school with amazing teachers and the students (including my kids) love going to school EVERY DAY! That is truly rare to find a school where the kids are HAPPY to be there. The parents have formed a group/community that supports the school all the time. WE are truly lucky to attend TCE and I am thankful for it every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

This school goes beyond education by teaching and encouraging 'life skills' such as honesty, citizenship, no bullying, recycling... Their parent involvement is awesome
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

TCE has the greatest teachers and the greatest leadership. A public school that acts like a private one with so many programs and unique classes. LOVE it! Laptop, gifted/blended, meet the artist, recycling, music and drama, awesome p.e. coaches, art walks and so many more to list occur daily and enrich our children's lives. Thank you to all the parents and faculty that make it so!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

This school has motivated teachers and a very strong parent support system. Its accolades and awards attest to the fact that it is a superior school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

TCE has the most amazing teachers in the world! From the moment the my child walked in the door, she was made to feel special and exceptional from not only her teachers, but the staff and principal as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

TCE has the best teachers a kid could ever have! Our principal is the best and has proven she can get the job done by making our school a Class A for our children. They life by their character counts and instill that in our children daily as we, the parents, do too! During the Haiti disaster, all the children, parents, teachers and staff came together to make a difference with the sock program. They have helped out in several other agencies. This also show our children how to give back to not only our community but all over the world. We too are very thankful that our children are fortunate enough to attend such a wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

All of the staff is so caring. They are truly concerned about my daughter and her development.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

146 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

147 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

146 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

169 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

169 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

169 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 79%
Asian 9%
Hispanic 6%
Two or more races 3%
Black 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 100%58%61%
Master's degree 0%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

555 Pine Tree Lane
St. Augustine, FL 32092
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 547-7400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Liberty Pines Academy
Saint Johns, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT