Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Timberlin Creek Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 953 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

255 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 5, 2010

Having raised children of all age ranges I can honestly say this is the best school I've ever experienced! Having to work full time, I am able to have peace of mind knowing my child is in good hands. Excellence starts at the top, and Mrs. Hutchins demonstrates just that, along with expecting it from her teachers; and that has been our experience at Timberlin!! I consider my child, and myself as well very fortunate to attend this class A school. Much, much gratitude to the teachers my son has had, what a blessing you've been, Thank you, thank you!! experienced,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

This is a top notch facility. It is one of the cleanest schools you have ever entered. The staff is very professional and they have the very best teachers. The teachers go above and beyond the call of duty to provide the very best education to their students. It is a priviledge for my kids to be a part of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

As a first year parent of a child at TCE, I have to say our experience has been wonderful. It is very easy for me to feel my child is getting a great education, being in a safe environment and the ease for me to volunteer when I can and see first hand how great the principal, teachers and staff are. One of my favorite things about the school is the recoginition the child get when they exemplify the six pillars for character counts as well as the students who 'soared' the previous week.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

Great teachers, great teaching practices
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

Timberlin has great teachers who care about the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

We are new to the area so our son has only been in TCE for just a few weeks. I've noticed a big change in him and his behavior. He really loves his new school and he comes home excited every day because he's had an awesome day. The teachers and the staff are all very nice and caring. The principal has definitely created a positive and safe learning environment for all children. I am very impressed with this school and I am very happy that my family is now part of the TCE family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

I love this school - good acedemics and access to many different things such as gifted, speech and others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

My son has been attending TCE for two years and I have been very impressed by TCE and it's values and academics. The principal really seems to have a handle on the pulse of the school and it's children and really cares about their education and them personally. I am glad to be sending my son to this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

Timberlin Creek Elementary School is without a doubt a student focused school. It s all about the children development, from academics to social activities. Parent s involvement and commitment are exemplary. Leading by example is a good gauge for success of an organization; this characteristic is vividly displayed by the principal and teachers all day every day of school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

We're a military family, so we move around a lot. Timberlin Creek Elementary is a wonderful school, better in my opinion than the other schools we've seen around the U.S. (and we've been stationed in Fairfax County, VA, known for its great schools). The teachers and staff at TCE are so dedicated. The coursework is challenging. There are numerous opportunities for parent involvement. Safety of students is a top priority. Character is emphasized. The Guidance Office offers discussions on better parenting. TCE is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

Great teachers and staff. Love the laptop program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

The communication from teachers and the administration is excellent. The Principal is involved in all aspects of the school and is a visible presence in the hallways. My kids are learning and are challenged in their classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

Timberlin has the best staff. The staff cares about all the children. I love the lab top program the school offers. My child has learned so much on the computer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

we love it so much.my daughter is getting such good grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

TCE rocks! We have a great school with great teachers and great students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Despite the continuous budget cuts, the teachers remain loyal and dedicated to educating their students. TCE provides an extremely positive learning experience and welcomes support of parents. The principal knows all the students by name and refers to them as her 'kids'. TCE focuses on values, character counts and provides a very warm, inviting and safe environment. TCE is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Outstanding faculty dedicated to the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

There are many reasons the school is great. All the teachers and staff seem to know and love all the kids. Parent participation is wonderful. I especially love that the kids are encouraged in more than just acedemics, but in being good people of character too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Although we have budget cuts every year our principle and rest of the staff tries really hard to make this school special. The parent participation is amazing and we all do a wonderful job to make our kids feel special with whatever resources we have. Our school ROCKS!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2010

Every Adult that is employeed and that volunteeres at Timberlin is awesome!! Our Principal Hutchins is really one of a kind. She listens to her staff and kids and parents and does what is best for them. We are a Blessed school to have the love of so many looking after our children. When we live in an era that has tried to push God out of our Public schools it is nice to have parents who step in and sho His love every day. Parents can not be stopped-when we have Him on our side.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

146 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

147 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

146 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

169 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

169 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

169 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 79%
Asian 9%
Hispanic 6%
Two or more races 3%
Black 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 100%58%61%
Master's degree 0%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

555 Pine Tree Lane
St. Augustine, FL 32092
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 547-7400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Liberty Pines Academy
Saint Johns, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT