Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Timberlin Creek Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 953 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

255 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 28, 2012

This school has a safe and positive environment where children are encouraged to be excellent. The best teachers! Our both kids are in the school and we absolutely love it. Excellent academics, very positive environment, various class programs that encourage students creativity. Parents are very much encouraged to volunteer. We feel blessed to be part of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2011

Great education. Awesome teachers. Excellant principal. We are truly blessed to be sending our kids to TCE. The teachers are really passionate about kids learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2011

This year has been a great experience for our famly! Twin boys who just started kindergarten and a Mom who was afraid to let go... We had a seamless year and just adored our teachers Ms. Barrs & Ms. Ludke. They are the BEST!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2011

We love our school! My daughter has been going since kindergarten and will be entering 3rd grade next year. The teachers are all amazing and all go above and beyond for our students. We were blessed to have had the following amazing teachers; Mrs. Lane, Mrs Kulley and Mrs. Davidoff! The principal is also hands on and dedicated to making sure Timberlin Creek is the best it can be. Go Eagles!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2011

Timberlin has the best teachers around. Mrs. Hutchins, their principal, was able to hand pick her teachers and they are great with all the students! The parent/community involvement is one the best I've seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2011

TCE has been a great education and leadership center for my son. ALL of the staff is extremely caring and concerned. The parents and community have a lot of input into the school happenings and it is gladly accepted. I am a Duval County graduate and can say TCE and SJCPS surpass anything any other county in Florida can produce. AWESOME JOB TCE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2010

Timberlin Creek has great teachers, staff and principal. All TCE staff is dedicated to all the students.


Posted November 12, 2010

My grandsons love TCE because of the great teachers and staff.


Posted November 9, 2010

Best school in Florida, great staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

TCE has dedicated teachers, staff and principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2010

My grandchildren attend Timberlin Creek and they love school. That credit goes to the school's principal, administration and above all the teachers. Keep up the good work!


Posted November 4, 2010

Timberlin Creek has great teachers, staff and principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2010

Timberlin Creek has the best teachers and principal in our county!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2010

Timberlin Creek is the best school because of the great leaders and staff that work together to make sure that our students get the best education.


Posted October 30, 2010

Communication from principal is excellent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2010

TCE is a great school. We have wondering caring, educated teachers that help our children every day become smarter and better individuals. Our principle is wonderful to the kids and stands up for what is right for our childern. We started when it opened and will graduate at 5th grade. So happy we could be a part of this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

Because it's awesome! Lots of parent involvement and faculty and administration who really care about the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

I love Timberlin because everyone works real hard for all of our students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 25, 2010

Because Timberlin Creek creates a great environment for my children to learn academically and socially. The character counts and stop bullying programs are helping to ensure my children grow up to be civic minded and self-aware, rather than self-centered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2010

caring teachers, teachers who "go the extra mile", supportive administration, child centered
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

146 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

147 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

146 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

169 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

169 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

169 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 79%
Asian 9%
Hispanic 6%
Two or more races 3%
Black 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 100%58%61%
Master's degree 0%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

555 Pine Tree Lane
St. Augustine, FL 32092
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 547-7400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Liberty Pines Academy
Saint Johns, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT