Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pacetti Bay Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1042 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 29, 2014

My son just started 6th grade here and so far we're pretty happy with it. The teachers and staff seem organized and I think the structure of the place works well for my son - he seems to excel with a little accountability. He says "my math teacher is strict but not mean strict." Looking forward to a great rest of the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2014

I just graduated from this school today and has been the best school ever. The teachers are really nice, I have 170+ friends here, and it does not feel overwhelming. I would recommend this school to anyone who is confused about which middle school to join.


Posted February 28, 2013

We moved to St John's County for the schools and I feel this has been the worst 3 years by far. As with other reviews if your child is a cookie cutter you are probably happy, but if they need any additional support, good luck. They do not even adhere to 504 plans. They refer you to 3 online tools which non of the teachers use on a consistent basis. EMODO, class sites and another where grades are supposed to be posted. I find that the academic part is lacking while the policing is on overdrive. The school fosters a tattle tale environment, if you don't like someone make something up and tell, the person will get in trouble. My older son went to Switzerland Middle School with no issues. The school is only as good as the administration and this one is certainly lacking. The principle even turns down money that people would donate to have signs displayed at athletic games but she does not seem to support athletic programs either. This is sole descretion of the principle/school we found out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2013

I have attended Pacetti Bay since sixth grade and I am currently in eighth grade. Being in a predominantly republican area, I often feel like an outcast for my democratic beliefs. When a political issue comes up in class, I am either the only one or one of TWO people to oppose the republican view. The academics are superior, although the homework can be excessive at times. Being in honors and the IB program, I am loaded with homework which does not give me a lot of time to enjoy my middle school experience. Between getting picked on for violating the social norm and the somewhat domineering push for perfection, I cannot say I have enjoyed my middle school career at PBMS.


Posted November 11, 2012

My child went to this school and it was probably the worst years of her life. The people are mean and some teachers are a little to strong about christianity and being a republican. There are also way too many projects at once and it is so overwhelming. My kid would have 2 social studies projects, 1 language arts project, and 1 social studies project. It was horrible. I also DO NOT recommend the IB Program unless your kid likes to be stressed out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2011

Pacetti Bay Middle School is great if you have a cookie cutter child that normally gets all A's and requires very little attention. If that is not the case, your child will fall through the cracks. The administration cares more about looking good than teaching the children. I actually had a teacher give my child an A on a test where he got 32 out of 100 wrong, just so the stats would not go down. What did tell my child??? I am moving him out of Pacetti Bay; however, they are making that as difficult as they can. They don't want to provide the services they get paid to provide by the state and federal governments; however, they also do not want that money to leave the school so he may be TAUGHT at another facility. If your moving to St. Johns for the school system - think again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

I am very pleased with my son's experience so far at Pacetti Bay. We are a mlitary family and have moved quite a bit. The staff and teachers have been very helpful and supportive. My son feels completely at ease in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2010

I loved Pacetti Bay- I just moved to Utah. But, it was an excellent school. I reccomend anybody to go there. Ask for Mr. Supko, and Mrs.Thompson.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 29, 2009

Pacetti Bay Middle is a wonderful school. It's new and clean and the teachers there are fantastic. As a parent, I was worried about my daughter heading off to middle school, but I have visited PBMS during school hours and during school events and was most impressed by the behavior of the students and the involvement of the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

Excellent school, great teachers. Good advanced placement program and excellent staff. Very happy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

The teachers at Pacetti Bay are awesome. They are fun, but professional. My son has been going there only 2 months, and already I see a difference in his motivation. He comes home from school and does his homework right away and rarely asks me for help, which tells me his teachers are actually teaching him what he needs to know. The balance of homework is perfect, not too much, not too little. The school is very new and they are still working to have everything they need, so any money they receive will go toward great things in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2009

My daughter is going to start middle school soon. My son told her that is was a awesome school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2009

Pacetti Bay is a GREAT SCHOOL! My daughter just started 6th grade here, and they've got the best programs and teachers! The teachers are great educators and wonderful examples. We plan to keep her here until she goes to high school! GO WILDCATS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2008

Outstanding programs. Teachers really care about the children they teach.They encourage them to be active learners. What else can a parent ask for.......Great caring teachers...it will be sad to move on......Go Wildcats!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2008

Great programs, great teachers !!! Excellent Band program !!! Very positive environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

348 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

349 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

323 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

352 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

227 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

363 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

365 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

361 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

291 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 81%
Hispanic 11%
Asian 3%
Black 3%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 46%58%61%
Master's degree 54%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. SUE SPARKMAN
Fax number
  • (904) 547-8765

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Monitor the playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

245 Meadowlark Lane
St. Augustine, FL 32092
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 547-8760

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Liberty Pines Academy
Saint Johns, FL


R J Murray Middle School
St. Augustine, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT