Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Canoe Creek Charter Academy

Charter | PK-8 | 560 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 19 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

51 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 28, 2014

This is a great school. The scores have jumped back up this year. My children feel safe with the addition of the security cameras across the campus. This year was a great experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2014

My husband and I Love this school , Teachers and Office Staff actually answer emails sometimes within just minutes and are extremely friendly . Curriculum is very diverse including recess, great learning atmosphere, teachers set high expectations and are met by the students. Parents are encouraged to help and participate in many different ways . This is a great school !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2014

The school does not discipline students. The school does not hold students or teachers accountable. The campus is always easy to access, meaning any one can walk on property and it has happened. Even after a belligerent man trespassed, no increase in security was implemented. Students are not challenged academically, nor are they assisted properly if they are "behind". Students are promoted when they truly shouldn't be. Teacher turnover rate is high. Parents are not made aware of upcoming tests; and I'm not referring to spelling tests! Our child had benchmark tests that we never knew about prior to or even after. We never found out the results either...not sure if that's how it is in all schools...communication overall is severely lacking! overall very disappointed with the school...planning on transferring our child in Aug.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2014

So many great things about this school. Teacher are very personable with their children. Students still go on field trips. My children really enjoyed field day. The family fun day was a great event and allowed parents and the community to bond together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2013

This is a great school. Teachers do a wonderful job and offer free tutoring twice a week.!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2013

This school is one of the worst I have ever seen. The administration intimidates the staff and parents. Teacher morale is extremely low. Half of the staff turns over during the school year and summer. Last school year there were only two Middle School teachers that were there the year before and by October there was only one. That's right; ONE! One ESE and ESOL teacher for the entire school. I think you know what that means as far as help with those students is concerned. Low enrollment so administration is paranoid to discipline students out of fear of parents pulling their students out. School grade continues to drop. Administration screams at teachers. Completely open campus is a safety nightmare. People can easily bypass the office and show up at classroom doors which has been known to happen. There are barely any athletics or extracurricular activities. They have art and music teachers teaching math and English for FCAT. The school is understaffed so the office is locked after school during dismissal. Want to talk to someone or go into the office after school. You can't! You have to wait at least half hour after dismissal.


Posted August 17, 2013

High teacher turnover, school grades keep getting worse, FCAT scores are horrific...moved to the area from an A school & couldn't be more disappointed. The couple of times I was in the office during a school day, there were kids being sent to the office for fighting & punching each other. Yikes. The public schools here offer so much more academically, socially and in the arts. This charter school is nothing like the charter schools in our old town. Definitely falls far below the mark.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2013

Great school the middle school did better than the Osceola County district average in every subject on the FCAT and beat the state average in 8th grade science and math.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 2, 2013

Great school! Can't say anything negative about it. Loved the talent show this past Friday!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2013

This school feels like a home. One of my daughters comes back to the school to get help from her old math teacher and learned what her high school try to teacher in days in minutes. The rest of my children have learned so much at CCCA. I can't think of a better school in the area that I would want to send my children to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2013

All 3 of my children love this school. The leadership and the teachers at this school are A+!!!!!!!! The front office is helpful with my kids needs. The principal is always willing to meet with parents. Most teacher are working way past they bell to help my students. I give them all an A+!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2013

This is a good school and I love it because its different! They are more strict with behavior. The curriculum and teachers are challenging. I have volunteered their and notice many parents do not support their children. They school puts on many productions and field trips every year. I can't wait to see what the talent show is going to be like on Friday!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2013

I really hate reading these negative review on this site. It's just like a restaurant. How many people tell a manager that everything was great? But how many people will complain as soon as one little thing goes wrong or they can't have their way. I support the principal for running the school and not giving into little non-important parent complaints and running a great school. I have listen to and heard some of the complaints, but most of them are because parents never want to hear anything negative about their students. I will tell you one thing unlike public schools which GIVE OUT GRADES. In this school you have to EARN YOUR GRADES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2013

This is a great school. The atmosphere is really calm and relaxed. The teachers are very helpful and are always willing to meet with parents. Teachers plan many trips for the students to get outside experiences. Teachers also challenge students to the best of their ability! What more can you ask for from a school!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2013

This school's principal and assistant principal are absolutely horrible with the way they treat fairness with kids that need additional help. If your child is in any way shape or form not in their little box of criteria they will ask for you to leave or treat you in such a rude manner that you will be driven away.Trust me do not send your child here. Charter schools don't have to follow procedures and criteria public schools get graded on or evaluated on. They do the bare minimum to get by. You are better off going to Saint Cloud Elementary it is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2013

I agree and I called the school district of Osceola County and you can't make a complaint or get any information because it's a Charter school.It's funny how Charter sounds sophisticated and fancy but in reality it stinks. In a regular "public school" you can get assistance from the county and at least get updates.Plus they help pay for the schools assistance/programs for the kids whatever their specific needs are.


Posted May 6, 2013

another thing is that this school is practically supported by parents, in order for the school to have better and newer things you need to donate $, you need to volunteer for events so they don't have to pay someone to do it, you don't have to only donate $ but if you know someone that works or owns thing that the school needs for a specific event help by asking that person if they can help with whatever equipment or whatever it is needed, stop complaining because this school can do as much as they can with what PARENTS give to school, State public schools are mostly supported by the state and some do less than what this school is doing for your kids... as a parent i offer and give whatever is within my reach to help them with anything they need... and you don't have to be rich to do this because you don't have to do for the whole school but by doing for your kids class is more than enough... and by the way i have a kindergartener, a second grader and a seventh grader in this school and none of their classrooms have more than 17 students... do more for the school and don't complain so much...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2013

Love the school. Love the FREE academic help before and after school. All teachers are willing to help students learn. Love how special area teachers help tutoring!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2013

Great School. I don't understand all these parent complaints. Teachers stay late for tutoring everyday of the week to help my daughter and other students. As parents we are allowed to volunteer at the school and were needed without question. My daughter is challenged on a daily basis compared to her previous school. What more can I ask?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2013

Not the best choice for an LEP child who's first language is not English. I've spent over 4 months communicating with a personnel from the School before transfering my child from another Country who stated they had an ESOL program for LEP kids whose first language was not English and my surprise was that after I've registered my child they did not had the program. On top of this the teacher relied on other students to help my kid who are as young and inmature as my own child instead of having a qualified personnel such as a teacher or a teacher's assistant to help my kid and she was being very hard on him after only one week of being in the school. I am very dissapointed of the system of this school and was expecting a diffrent approach when they have already knew about my child's needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
46%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
45%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
32%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
49%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

56 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

43 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

21 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 49%
White 37%
Black 9%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 43%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/AN/A
Female 57%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 87%60%61%
Master's degree 13%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 21%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3600 Canoe Creek Road
St. Cloud, FL 34772
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 891-7320

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT