Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hickory Creek Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 792 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 3, 2014

Two of my children have attended HCE from the first year until now. The facilities, principle, and support staff are excellent. However, this will be the last year of attendance for child #2. The communications with teachers has declined over the past 8 years as more standardization of curriculum has occurred. Emails go unanswered, notes written the teacher never have a response, and not all homework is returned. We generally find out there is an academic issue when grades are posted online 3-4 weeks later. Parent-teacher conferences have proved unfruitful in addressing difficulties. In fairness, we have several friends whose kids do excel here, as did child #1. If you have a gifted or a special needs child, they will excel here as they get extra work and attention. If you have a child who is middle of the road C student, they will not get extra attention. In fact, we were told that for our child to have in-class help with common core concepts, he would have to have a low D average. We can longer keep hoping or waiting for things will get better. Home school here we come!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2014

All three of my children have attended HCE. The staff and the school are amazing. As a military family we have moved all over the world literally, and have experienced various educational systems. I would say that HCE is the top. My children have been well prepared. The principal hand picked all his teachers and it shows...The staff is also amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2014

Hickory Creek Elementary Not so great since the New Assistant Principal arrived. She does not believe in returning parents phone calls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

HCE sits in a beautiful area still lots of trees and nature.The school itself is really nice, as in the layout and its kept very clean, inside and out. Now after all that being said Dont let your first visit discourage you. Beware! The front desk people act like they hate their job and dont want to be bothered with anyone or anything. When you call the school the lady that answers the phone is about as lively as eyore from winnie the poor " Like O Bother" and thats not where it ends, there is also 2 of the parent pick up ladies that are plum rude, Like maybe this isn't the job for you anymore, rude. The schools communications between teachers and parents arent working so well. you will get a lot of unswered emails and the teachers website are a joke as well they are never ever updated or our teachers wasnt. With all that being said, let me say this, the principal, the asst. principal and the principal's sec. are Great! The nurse is Great and the Teachers are some of the Best life has to offer. I am glad my child goes there..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2012

We moved from a neighboring school district and are very pleased with Hickory Creek Elementary. The class size is optimal, the teachers are communicative and helped the class to welcome my children as new students. My kids report regular PE classes and the music teacher teaches the students to read music and play the recorder in the upper elementary grades. There are after school activities such as chorus, dance, drama, band, and Spanish and Art Clubs. I had previously considered private school or home schooling, but the educational opportunities in this school will keep us in public school here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2011

HCE has been disappointing the last couple of years despite its outstanding performance on the FCAT. Communicating with parents is clearly not a priority for the administration or the teachers. The warmth communicated by the school motto - first we love them, then we teach them - seems to have faded away. If your child is not a high achiever, you might want to consider other elementary districts in St. Johns county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2010

We came to HCE from another school in St. John's. The motto is 'First we love them, then we teach them'. A wonderful motto. For the this past year, new teachers have arrived. Unfortunately, they don't appear to abide by this simple creed. The school appears to have changed somehow - perhaps as a result of the cut backs imposed due to the economic recession. But, overall, insofar as Florida schooling is concerned, HCE continues to be a fine school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2008

HCE is a outstanding school and learning environment. Many teachers had come from JCE and it's easy to see why with a warm and enviting atmosphere. My child has excelled in the math area and I owe it to his dedicated teacher. As we leave HCE and venture off into middle school, my only hope and desire would be for my child to continure to shine. Thanks HCE and The Yellow House Team!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2007

Hickory Creek Elementary is a wonderful school for my children. The entire staff & faculty provide a very caring learning environment. The visual art, music & PE programs are exemplary! This is a great small school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2007

H.C.E. is a great school with a lot of spirit! The teachers are very interested in the children's learning process and collaborating with the parents to make the most of the school year experience. Dr. Goriki (the Principal) has an open door policy about addressing any issues that may arise through out the school year, or connecting you with someone who can. The Asst. Principal is very concerned with providing the children with a safe haven where they can flourish and does not tolerate bullying. My daughter has advanced tremendously thanks to the structured manner in which she is taught. I am looking forward to the next couple of years at H.C.E. I do not anticipate changing schools, in the near future. H.C.E. is 'private school' quality learning for our children! The teachers are devoted to higher learning. The staff is friendly and kind. God Bless H.C.E!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2006

Hickory Creek academic programs are great. The music department is outstanding. Parent involvement has a lot to be desired. Parents just aren't available for classroom volunteering.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

98 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 42%
Asian 3% 3%
Hispanic 3% 29%
Black 2% 23%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 8%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 55%58%61%
Master's degree 45%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:50 am
School end time
  • 2:10 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Paul Goricki
Fax number
  • (904) 547-7455
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

235 Hickory Creek Trl
St. Johns, FL 32259
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 547-7450

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Palencia Elementary School
St. Augustine, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT