Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Alfred Adler Elementary School

Charter | K-5 | 85 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 31, 2014

We had a terrible experience with this school. We should have seen the writing on the wall when we were called in for a conference on the 3rd day of KINDERGARTEN!! We were told that our son was having a difficult time adjusting. YA THINK?? He's 5 years old, in his first week of kindergarten. (In the three years of pre-school prior to enrolling at AA he had no issues whatsoever, and was very well-liked by his teachers and classmates.) Midway through the first semester I learned from my son that he was being sent out of the classroom almost daily I asked the director what we could do at home and was told that home and school are different and he had no suggestions. At the mid-year parent/teacher conference everything we learned about our son's experience at school demonstrated no hint of a problem whatsoever. We heard nothing from the school after this until the director called my wife one day and asked that we keep our son at home for the next two days because they were having behavior problems with him, and they were concerned for his safety. There was no mention of a remediation plan, just keep him at home. We withdrew our son from AA that day and have not looked back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2013

I think there are pros and cons with the school. I agree with another poster that the turnover rate is high. They go through good teacher after good teacher pretty fast. The school gets a lot of "problem" kids, but the teachers do a good job of handling them. I like a lot of the Adlerian beliefs, but I don't think the administration always follows them. Instead of working with parents and students to talk about a problem, they try to fix it by ignoring you or trying to get rid of you if you don't fit in with what they want at the school. For a school that is supposed to be about how you can contribute to the community, it does not let parents contribute to the school that much. Volunteering in the classroom is pretty much discouraged. Unfortunately, the cons outweigh the pros, and I have decided to enroll my child in a more traditional school for next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2012

It seems that the ratings for this school have changed dramatically in the past year. After a rash episode of reckless firing of many of the strongest staff and increasingly stringent policies towards decreasing parental involvement, I understand the trend. While the school declares diplomacy and democracy to be its motto, it has, in fact, become a dictatorship. I think its new motto has become something to the effect of "don't ask, don't tell". Should a parent express a concern, academic or otherwise, it is met with a condescending "this is only what YOU see as a problem". It is essentially impossible to get through the iron wall of the administration to address or resolve any of these "imagined" issues. I am saddened, but relieved to have removed my children from this school. It barely resembles the school that we once knew and were proud to be a part of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2012

We had a terrible experience with this school. The children are out of control, disrespectful to each other and adults, and the administration refuses to address any concerns or discipline. Academic concerns were never addressed and communication between parents,teachers, and admin is nonexistent. I was continuously given conflicting information regarding policies, schoolwork, and homework. My child transferred to a traditional school and was so far behind she was in danger of not passing, as well as being diagnosed with learning difficulties. None of which were identified at Alfred Adler, but were assessed and addressed within 2 weeks in a traditional school. This school should be ashamed of the "education" it claims to provide but is too arrogant to realize its own failings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2012

Adler is a good school for some while it is not a fit for everyone. This can clearly be illustrated by the fact that almost every review is either a one or a five star. As a parent, I find it a difficult challenge to make a decision on your child's education. Let's face it, our public school system is complete garbage. I openly praise and support a school whose focus rests more on social development than doing well on some bologna test put forth by our state's poor excuse for an education department. Adler will teach your children to think for themselves as well as how to handle their own social and personal issues. Although this process can be a messy one at first, it seems to pan out well in the long run. Another misfortune is that this school seems to attract problematic children. Overall I have been pleased with this school with an exception of a few things that have come up as anyone would be with any school. Go Otters!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2012

I agree very much with the Adlerian way of thinking. However I do not agree with the way this school is being run. None of the administration has a degree in education nor are they certified. The philosophy is a great idea, but to put it into practice takes much more knowledge of the educational system than anyone at this school has. Also I do not agree with the idea that NONE of the struggling students are given extra help or tutoring. I agree with the fact that not every student needs a label, but some do need extra help in a small group setting or outside of the classroom.


Posted February 20, 2012

I have two children at Adler, and we have been extremely happy at this school during the past two years. First, this school is not for everyone, nor is it for problem children (although children who have been labeled as problematic often thrive here because of the learning environment). If, like me, your primary goal for education is for your children to become autonomous, creative, critical thinkers capable of making choices for themselves, then I encourage you to check out this school. The focus here is definitely on social relationships and critical thinking more than it is on rote fact assimilation (if you want that, go to a fundamental school). The principal and his wife are close with every family that wants to be and are ALWAYS available to talk about your child because they know your child personally. Occasionally they make decisions that I don't agree with, but they are open to talking dissatisfaction through with parents. As far as the lack of grades, I encourage you to think about the function of grading within the educational system. If I want to know to what extent my child is learning, I need only ask the teacher or my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2011

The Alfred Adler Elementary School is a cutting edge school. It incorporates everything useful we know about education and human develop. I have been in Education for over 30 years teaching at the graduate level and working for the College of Education at the University of Georgia. It provides children the opportunity to be creative, cooperate, and take responsibility for their own learning. The school teaches ways to improves relationships among teachers, parents and students. St. Petersburg is fortunate to have such a school. Dr. Evans


Posted September 22, 2011

My daughter started kindergarten here this year, she has 2 cousins attending as well. All 3 seem to be thriving in this environment, this school provides them with responsibilities in their school community and builds their self-confidence. I am impressed by how self-assured all of the children seem. The principal knows parents by name and is easily accessible (both in person and on the phone).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2011

These are very nice folks with the exception of some very bad advice that they take from their psychologist-advisor who even declares that he doesn't like kids. The director and the teachers are quite good. Parental input is explicitly discouraged. The underlying philosophy, that of Adler, is designed to address the issues of problem children. If you think of your son or daughter as a problem child, this may truly be a good program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2011

My daughter started Kindergarten this year and she is doing very well.The teachers here are all about the kids.Love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2011

This school has a very unique philosophy that many would find bizarre. They do not give grades or homework. They do not believe in consequences for inappropriate behavior. They do not believe in giving extra help to students with behavior and learning challenges. The administration is dictatorial and inconsistent.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

16 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

16 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

11 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

11 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

11 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
9%

2013

 
 
47%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

13 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

13 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

13 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

This school did not receive a grade in 2011-2012.

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 81%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 58%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/AN/A
Female 42%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 0%67%65%
Master's degree 0%N/A32%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4401 38th Avenue North
St. Petersburg, FL 33713
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 329-9545

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Broach School
St. Petersburg, FL



Windsor Prep Academy
St. Petersburg, FL


Westgate Elementary School
St. Petersburg, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT