Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Blanton Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 529 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 14, 2013

My daughter has gone to Blanton Elementary K-5. Great teachers and staff that care about how the kids are doing. My only complaint would be is the parents. Wish that more parents were involved and cared about their children's future. Parents be a good role model for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2012

Great School..Mandatory uniforms (which I love), good teachers and staff, and strict rules. My son went there for 4yrs (2nd-5th) and my daughter is on her second year (PK) there. I only wish that elementary went to 6th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2011

This is my second year with Blanton ES I have a 1 grader and a Kindergardener. Wonderful Teachers so far!!! Blanton gets into details which is very good! Love Everything about this school 5 Stars!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2010

I think Blanton Elementary is a great school for children so that they can get a better education in life!!! The principal at Blanton, Deborah Turner is very supportive and helpful and she has independence in herself! Dave Carey the vice principal is encouraging and super duper nice!!! The teachers there are very outgoing and exciting to teach children! I was a student at Blanton Elementary and for sure The "B" in Blanton stands for Best!!!


Posted April 14, 2010

The teachers go above and beyond to help each and every student
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

I love blanton, my daughter has went there for the last 3 years and I love everything about. NO COMPLAINTS. They deserve any funds they can get.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

The diversity of their students is huge and they do a wonderful job with all of the children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

My child started Blanton in August this year and so far it has been a great experience. The staff communicates regularly with me on my childs progress. My son enjoys his classes and teachers. The atmosphere when you enter the school is always open and friendly. They are very strict in thier uniforma nd discipline policies but I feel this is part of what makes this school so sucessful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2007

Blanton is the little school that could. If only the parents were more committed, the school would be perfect. The best thing about the school is Principal Turner. She is so committed to the well being of the students and the school reflects her positive philosophies. She is a nurturing and disciplined principal who encourages the students to embrace their multicultural environment. Our daughter has been at Blanton for a year and her teacher was incredible, too. We would communicate daily about our daughter with her and work together through any issues that readily came up. We always felt informed and up to date with her progress as well as her challenges. We also love the notebook signing idea, and the uniform policy is great, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2004

My children are happy at Blanton. Their teachers are fair and have our children's best intrest in mind.I do feel however that there are some teachers that can work on better communication with the parents. Otherwise we are happy with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

We recently moved from MA to Fl. We were placed in Blanton. After reading the article in the St. Pete Times, our concerns where that the school was not going to be able to provide the needs we wanted. Now 1 month into school, and we are very pleased. Blanton has exceeded our needs. And have picked up on my son's advancement quicker than I had ever expected. B is for Best..Go Blanton...
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
33%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

69 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 53%
Hispanic 19%
Black 16%
Asian 9%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 5%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 95%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 75%60%61%
Master's degree 25%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. CHERYL A MAGGIO
Fax number
  • (727) 545-6562

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6400 54th Avenue North
St. Petersburg, FL 33709
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 547-7820

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Five Oaks Christian Academy
Pinellas Park, FL


Grace Christian School
Pinellas Park, FL



Gulf Coast Christian School
St. Petersburg, FL


Ese Countywide
Pinellas Park, FL


Nina Harris Ese Center
Pinellas Park, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT