Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Campbell Park Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 591 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 11, 2013

I have two sons that went to this school for the last two years. I have never seen a school so out of control. The staff has given up on trying to teach. I have pulled both of my sons out and will have to drive them across town so that they will get the education they need. It is not the staffs fault but there are too many parents that just don't care. The only good thing is that the school system can keep this children in one school before sending them to jail. And that was expressed to me by a teacher from the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2012

i have 3 kids attend this school and i hate it the principal don't care about the kids nor do the staff especially if your child is struggling academically and have a medical problem like adhd they don't take the time to try to learn about them or try to teach them i wouldn't give this school not 1 star but i had to in order to make a comment this was a better school 3 years ago when the old principal was there and the old behavioral specialist, this school only believe in suspending kids for any little thing they do, not there education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2012

What!!!! putting my child in a private school is a blessing after years at campbell park ele. I'd rather pay for my child to get a better education then staying in the public school system then the nerve to ask me to rate this school REALLY?? I rate it as it is shown-- zeros and Im forced to rate this with one star REALLY??
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2009

I believe this is an excellent school. I took my son out of a fundamental school to attend campbell park and I am very pleased with my decision. I love the school and the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

Campbell Park is a great school! We left private school in Kindergarten and haven't looked back since then. My son is in 4th Grade and we couldn't be happier. The aferschool music programs are fabulous and the music teacher is amazing! Art, Spanish, Marine Science...and a school cafteria that looks like a cafe in SeaWorld..what a happy place to eat lunch!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2007

My 11-year-old graduated last year from Campbell Park and is now attending a nearby magnet middle-school. Her experience was so rich that we transferred our two youngest to CP, as well. Principal Jim Steen is among the best educators I've ever met. His national-award-winning curriculum sets standards few can follow. The Marine Science focus is among Florida's finest, and the beautiful campus is modern in every way: Laptops, touch-tanks, foreign language lab, arts and music. When we first moved here, we weren't impressed with the area around the school, but that has rapidly changed in recent years. The fact that Campbell Park has won Magnet School awards -- without being a magnet school -- speaks volumes. Now, we're told, it has earned the right to be one. It's been an honor to spend my last five years -- and the next six -- with the staff at Campbell Park. Well done!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2007

I moved here this year with my two children from California.I was completely blown away when I met the principal. He is an amazing man who has love and passion for what he does and for each and every student that graces his hallways. The office staff was so sweet and unbelievably helpful.Especially Rosa! The campus is beautiful and immaculate. The security is unbeatable. As soon as school begins, the school closes a security gate and the only way to get on the campus is through the office. They now implemented a security system that whenever you visit the campus you have to show your id. This is also a security precaution. You can bet your child is safe here.Greatest school in Pinellas county hands down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2007

We love Campbell Park! Not only did they just receive their 3rd Award as a Magnet School of America, but their Marine Science Coordinator was also recongnized for being a part of 'What's Right With Tampa Bay'-- What a great place to send a child to school-- we left private school to be here and absolutely love it! Can't wait until school uniforms start next year- the students are going to look fabulous! Keep up the good work and we can't wait for our younger child to start kindergarten!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2007

Campbell Park Elementary is a awesome school. I have two students who attend there. Teachers and staff are dedicated. Mr. Steen is a great principal. My son was moved from kindergarten to second grade for his academics. That came from a lot of work at home and support from teachers at CPE. We can not expect teachers, administrative staff, and support staff for any school to work miracles for our children. It start at home. Thank you CPE for all your support with my children. They have had a great experience at CPE. Marine science is unique.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2006

We chose this school because of the Marine Theme and it looks so clean and healthy. We made a big mistake. My son is from a small town. My son was so afraid of school that he would cry and beg for me not to send him. I tried to change schools but ended up on a waiting list. I ended up moving to another district to get him out of that school. The programs were great. The children were out of control and needed to be supervised better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2006

I feel Campbell Park Elementary does not do enough for the students who are struggling academically and socially. I have gotten the feeling that some of the teachers and even office staff would rather these students not even be there. A school can offer all the academic programs, music, sports, art, etc., but if they shut out the child who is falling behind or who needs tobe handled a little bit differently, then they are not, in my estimation, a good school. It is easy to teach the 'good' kids, but so many educators do not even pretend to know how to teach and handle the many kids with ADD & ADHD, and there are many. My grandson is one. He feels the sting of a . teacher who gives him a mean look every day; or the kids who taunt him at P.E. and the coach who does nothing. I can't give this school high marks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2005

My daughter has attended this school for 3 yrs and loves the fact that everything ties into the marine theme, giving her a chance to show off how much she remembers from previous years. Now I have two more children there and the faculity have exceeded my expectations of meeting the unique challenges each child's personality brings. I also am happy with the fact that USF is a partner in the learning process here, spanish is taught starting in kindergarten, and they still include music and art despite the fact so many schools are deeming these unneeded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2004

A very nice new facility. The teachers are helpful and kind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2004

Children should not be forced to attend this school. School choice is just that, overview school is beautiful, but needs improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2004

Bad area of town, teacher quality is terrible, student was forced to be bused there. All students from northside shipped down there because no one wants to send their children there. F rating!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2004

Ann Maxfield is a superior teacher.T hose of us with special needs students are often pushed throught the public system. Ann treats every child with compassion and as though they were her own. The office staff is wonderful at Cambell Park also treating you with respect and grace. Our last year has been delightful and my child has learned new skills. We recommend this program and school. Who wouldn't like a brand new child friendly school?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2003

This school is excellent. The teachers and principle, Mr. Steen all work together. Any issues with your child are a group effort. When it came time to pick my daughters school with the new Choice program. I did not hesitate nor look around at any other schools. This is where I wanted her to go. She has attended since 1st grade and she loves it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

The most exciting thing about Campbell Park is that it is a marine science center. The focus really makes it unique.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2003

I believe Campbell Park is an excellent school. The teachers are involved and caring. This school has a Marine Science program in which the students become very interested to learn. There is also a program to teach the students spanish. I was amazed when my 5 year old son came home with the ability to count to 5, say good morning and recite colors in spanish!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
16%

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
16%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
12%

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
25%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
14%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
37%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
9%

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
19%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
29%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
24%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

76 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 82%
White 12%
Hispanic 3%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 71%60%61%
Master's degree 29%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 8%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. ROBERT A OVALLE
Fax number
  • (727) 893-2652

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1051 7th Avenue South
St. Petersburg, FL 33705
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 893-2650

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Melrose Elementary School
St. Petersburg, FL



Imagine Charter School
St Petersburg, FL


Perkins Elementary School
St. Petersburg, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT