Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lakewood Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 549 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 30, 2014

Kids at this school are pitiful! Wild mannered, no respect and I wish I would have enrolled my child in a different school. Teacher don't pay close watch on these kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2014

Aweful school.. Staff unfriendly. My child has had 2 great teachers since she started here 5 years ago. Thank God this is her last year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2014

This school struggles with lack of parent involvement! Parents are not parenting their children. The teachers are faced with atudents who are raised poorly. The staff is dedicated and more than capable, but they are trying to teach children who have no structure at home. Your child can thrive here, it's takes a coordinated effort. The teachers are faced with a monumental task in this part of the county.


Posted August 9, 2013

This school is horrible....the staff is unfriendly....the administration is uncaring to the staff. The teachers are required to read from a script and are unable to teach using proven effective techniques that put the students first instead of a script.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 27, 2013

My child enrolled in 2nd Grade last year 2012 and the Staff have always been welcoming at Lakewood Elementary, St. Petersburg.My child's 2nd Grade Teacher's are awesome!!! they definitely deserve a five star rating.Safe school,GREAT TEACHERS,Quick on Discipline.PARENTS need to get involve in PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2011

The leadership at this school is awful, and teacher and administrative turnover are high. Children are taught from scripts that a teacher must read out loud. This is boring for the child and teacher, and learning is hardly ever structured toward student needs or interests. Most of the teaching assistants can't do 5th grade math. The medical magnet theme is a sham; it's never implemented. Half the teachers don't even participate in the science fair. There is no recess and hardly any talking at lunch, so children don't get to socialize and burn off energy. There are very few field trips and in general this school is a jail for children. Don't send your kids here!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 5, 2007

I love Lakewood. Lakewood has one of the best principals I have ever known. It has a heavy science base which my children love, but also is well rounded. My son has received straight A's all year and I believe that is because he has the best teacher who makes a great team with the support staff and they all create an amazing learning environment. This year there was a strings program in addition to choir and drum. Volunteering is welcomed and encouraged unlike the last school we were in. Also Physical Education is every day which is great! I could go on and on. I really love this school. I wish the courtyard had more landscaping and the PTA had more parents, but those are my only complaints. The neighborhood isn't the best, but not the worst either. I always feel my children are safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2006

This school is a great magnet school but unfortunately is not in a very nice part of St. Petersburg. The Principal is very helpful and accommodating. Beautiful campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

My child has been at lakewood since prek.This is his last year at lakewood{5th grade}.I feel it has been a good school. The teachers are great,helpful& caring.The academic progam is good.They do have tutoring if needed. Since this year the school became a medical magnet program.I see more structure activities comming this year. and I think its a good thing. And there is a lot of changes going on in the school. Which Im glad to see. They have clubs, choir group,the music class I feel has gotten better. They even have a group of children that are a news group[Lakewood close circuit]. And as far as parent involment there is a carnival parents can help out at the booths. also if there are field trips,teachers could use extra help there. So as I said before I rate this a good school. Oh yes! The school has bars and are locked at 8:50 opened at 2:50.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
20%

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
15%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
33%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
32%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
9%

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
20%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
22%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
12%

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
18%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

67 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "F".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 82%
White 11%
Hispanic 4%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 78%60%61%
Master's degree 18%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. CYNTHIA KIDD
Fax number
  • (727) 893-9152

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4151 6th Street South
St. Petersburg, FL 33705
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 893-2196

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Bay Point Elementary School
St. Petersburg, FL



Perkins Elementary School
St. Petersburg, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT