Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Northeast High School

Public | PK, 9 | 1841 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 6, 2012

This school has two incredible academies to choose from, the Information Technology and the Finance programs, and I am fortunate my daughter has been in the Information Technology program and is about to start her junior year. The school has great resources and really will help out with any parent questions, as long as you just ask. My daughter is excelling in her academics and fortunately has a vast array of courses to keep her interest. She's found great friends in the band, and your child can succeed if they want to. If they aren't interested in focusing and trying, then you'll get nothing more than a generic education no matter where you go. The shear size of the school means that if your child shows no drive, they are not going to coddled. If your student shows a great deal of effort, the teachers and staff will gladly help your child excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2009

My child is a freshman at NEHI, having come from a private school. As an educator who sometimes taught as a substitute at her private school, Northeast seems no less mediocre than anything else in the existential hum-drum of St. Petersburg. During orientation, the guidance counselors were perceptive, the teachers were receptive, and the leaders were thoughtful and approachable. My child has a the opportunity to experience being a part of a major theatrical production, and has surprising, developed friendships with some solidly good middle-class kids -- there are some there! There are good programs there, and I am pleased that my child is in one of the Institutes. Academics? Not so great, as I hear it, but about what one would expect. Parental 'involvement' there seems to about volunteering -- direct questions to one math teacher via email and voice mail, has brought no response.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2009

High school is high school you can't expect to have this perfect school. Bad things will come from everywhere, but I really do love northeast some of the teachers don't care as much as others, but some are great and will help you find a path to the future, may I reccomend the AVID program if you are needing any help or extra support it is for you, they help you find scholor ships and everything, im not attended in it anymore, though it was helpful to many students. The 4x4 is the best and I know the schools going to have a horrible time next year getting used to that, and rushing our classes now. Northeast is actually really strict, more to freshmans than others, such as dress code, and fights on campus get caught immeadity. We have cameras everywhere.. I can't say anything too bad (:
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 30, 2008

I have a senior and a sophomore at Northeast. They are happy at Nehi, and both are excelling academically. Northeast has a very diverse student body and lots of programs, sports, and clubs to choose from. If your child works hard and studies, he or she will get a great education. If your child is a slacker, unfortunately he or she will find some company at Nehi as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2008

This school has made great strides in helping teachers in the classroom through best and guided practices. The principal has given a voice to both teachers and students in the development of a holistic learning environment, conducive to success
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 14, 2008

Northeast has great academies and great fundimental programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2008

It starts from the top. The reason this school gets such low marks and has a terrible reputation isn't because the teachers don't care about the kids or because they don't know how to teach or even because the kids can be more difficult. It's because the administration -from the principle to the assistant principles try their hardest to make this a hostile work environment. It's no secret that they like to flex their muscles and feel the power that they have but the problem is that it is always the to determent of the school environment. Most teachers (if not with the 'in' group) are constantly haggled by the admins which interferes with daily school life - and the students are the ones who ultimately pay the price. If I could give this school a negative rating I would.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 12, 2008

Because of a new magnet program building up there--the Todd Center, there has been more challenges in my classes. Plus the 4x4 class schedule system is wonderful! The Math and Science teachers are the best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 15, 2007

The leadership and overall help of the staff/administration is pathetic. I would strongly suggest not attending this school for your child's sake, the students are not taken seriously. My personal recommendation do not attend this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 24, 2007

this school is great it has everything i need to learn i had a great 9th grade year and i hope i have a good 10th grade year
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 20, 2006

From a student point of view, Northeast isn't a bad school. The teachers work day and night to give each student the best education they can get, to help benefit them for the future. I'm not too impressed about the small learning communities. They're supposed to be designed to help direct students attention for the future, from what I see they're restricting the students ability to expand their mind. High school is supposed to be when a student begins to think about what they want to do in life, and open new doors, not separate and limit the students capabilities. Overall Northeast isn't horrible, but it could definitely be better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 20, 2006

As far as I'm concerned, I don't find that staff too helpful, and the students tend to be unruly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2006

I wish I had known more about this school before I moved my family into the area. My son would have been much better off if I had put him in one of the fine private schools in this area instead. We struggled for 4 years to keep him from learning more bad lessons than good while at this school. There was little help to be had from the school either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2006

I thought it was a pretty good school, since they have updated it, it is much safer for the kids security wise.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 10, 2004

I'm not a parent but I was a student for all 4 years. Northeast has a wonderful principal, Mr. Miller. He was there when I was a freshman & I've learned that our school was no prize before I arrived but he turned it around to be something very special & I can proudly say that I loved my H.S. years! Thanks Mr. Miller!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

428 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 62%
Black 16%
Hispanic 12%
Asian 6%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 10%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 81%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 61%60%61%
Master's degree 35%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • 5 Star School (2006)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Other health impairments
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:05
School end time
  • 1:50
School Leader's name
  • MR. KEVIN K HENDRICK
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Fax number
  • (727) 217-7318

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Other health impairments
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5500 16th Street North
St. Petersburg, FL 33703
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 570-3138

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Grace Lutheran School
St. Petersburg, FL


Lynch Elementary School
St. Petersburg, FL


Lealman Intermediate School
St. Petersburg, FL


St. Pete Prep Pre-School
St. Petersburg, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT