Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pasadena Fundamental Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 464 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 24, 2013

My son was fortunate enough to get admission in kindergarten right after we moved to FL and we could not be happier with the school. The principal Mr. Brennan is so accessible and responsive as are the teachers. There is no bullying and the staff is so empathetic... all of the teachers are passionate about teaching.... and my older son who gets anxious easily cant wait to go to school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

This is my Grandsons first year at Pasadena Fundamental, but his mom has been trying to get him in for the last two years. He loves it and many of his friends are already there as well. The school has a great reputation.


Posted September 28, 2012

Our son has been at Pasadena the last 3 years and we love it! The teachers and staff definitely go the extra mile with the kids and of course the parent involvement at required and volunteer things is amazing! It is definitely like getting the benefits of a private school for free!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2012

Our daughter started there in 5th grade and immediately I could see the difference in this school. Teachers and students alike were welcoming to her. Not to mention, the curriculum and extracurricular activities are great! A+ to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2011

By far, this is the overall best public school in southern Pinellas County. It has caring teachers, a respectful / disciplined student body and is located in a safe neighborhood. It is consistently an "A" rated school producing high FCAT scores. Feel fortunate if your child is one of the lucky ones to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2011

This school has some great things about it, but also some areas that need improvement. It has 100% parent participation that will continue to make it strong but sometimes lacks the vision that other successful schools are using to move forward.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2010

My daughters have been attending pasadena for the last 4 years. It really makes both parents and students work harder which creates better students in the long run. Office staff are always friendly and helpful. We love Pasadena.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2008

My wife and i love Pasadena, yes they are strict and regulated but with our child it fullfills her needs as a student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2007

We recently moved our two children from an expensive private school. The academics are similar, the teachers are excellent, and Pasadena is teaching self-discipline that the children never got at the other school. The PTA meetings have 10 times the number of parents as the private school and the parental involvement is incredible. It was a great decision for our family, and it saves us over $20,000 per year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2006

I have two children at this school. I feel that this was the best choice I could of made for my children's future. From the moment we walked on campus, I knew that this was the one. The atmosphere is awesome! Children are well behaved, the teachers are happy, the staff is wonderful! I could not ask for anything more. This school is blessed! Paula Nixon
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2006

Pasaden is a wonderful school. All the teachers really enjoy teaching and love the children. The extracurricular activities are amazing. The chorus might be better than Perkins, the art school nearby. It is overall a fantastic school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 27, 2006

The quality academic programs are great and teachers are very involved with the students learning process. Extracurricular activites are not as good as the academic programs. The level of the parent involment is very high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2005

This is an academically excellent but strict school. The music and art classes are wonderful. Parental involvement is mandatory. The school is small and coveted. You must play the county ''lottery'' to try for a seat. Overall, a wonderful school -- but one that instills unquestioning respect for authority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2005

I have been a parent at Pasadena for 6 years. The staff and teachers are all very warm and caring. The academics are of the highest quality. I have a child that is in the gifted program and another that is SLD and both are doing great. All abilities are accepted and recognized at Pasadena. The students receive PE everyday (the program is one of the best in the county) and art and music each weekly. The level of parent involvement is amazing, yes you are required to spend 1 hr each mo. at the PTA mtg, but the number of parent volunteers is amazing and wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2004

Summary: A public school meeting or exceeding levels associated with private schools. We had our children in one of St. Petersburgs best private school for two years and switched to Pasadena (for economic reasons and much closer to home) four years ago. Beecoming involved in the PTA provided for first hand, behind the scenes look at the teachers, administration and all the issues. Administration is critical in any school and and I found Pasadena's to be exceptinoally responsive, effective and well recognized throughout the county. A waiting list exists for teachers to come to the school and once there, they do not leave. Our family is thankful and recognizes the commitment to excellence by all involved providing my children with an effective and memorable educational experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

88 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 79%
Hispanic 8%
Black 5%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 14%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 50%60%61%
Master's degree 50%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

95 72nd Street North
St. Petersburg, FL 33710
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 893-2646

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Admiral Farragut Academy
St. Petersburg, FL


Youcantoo School
St. Petersburg, FL


Azalea Elementary School
St. Petersburg, FL


Bear Creek Elementary School
St. Petersburg, FL


Gulf Coast Christian School
Fort Walton Beach, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT