Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sawgrass Lake Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 706 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 4, 2013

is a wonderful school ... the people who work with or, you are excellent ... Special kudos to the 5th grade ... it was the first school in the United States for my son and I loved it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2012

Hello guys! I have been calling Sawgrass Lake for about two months now, and 3 times today, and they never answer the phone. I am trying to get info since I will be moving to the state and transferring my children there. any advice, emails, or other numbers I can try? It would be very helpful since I will be out there in less than 2 weeks! yikes! Thanks


Posted August 16, 2012

Sawgrass is a great school no matter how many students they have they know every single one of them by name. I would highly recommend this school. And for those that say they don't want volunteers as a parent that volunteer at the school and in the classrooms I have never once been told they don't want the extra help. PTA is a great opportunity to help the students at sawgrass they are not just about fundraisers and they meet at all times thru out the year not just during the day. If you have suggestions for the PTA and events let them know i am sure they will try to work with you b/c with out us parents doing our part they cant do there part.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2012

Correct on the parent involvment.. However i have to say i did volunteer all the time there until i was told by Mrs. Marks that parent volunteering is not something they encorage. So, How would people expect better parent involvment... Plus, there several children who are bullies and they are not being delt with properly after the teacher. Me being a parent who wants to be involved was told it is discouraged.... I did speak to PTA about this and at this time looking into new school for next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2011

Great school. Great curriculum. Great staff. Great library. We always feel welcome. Surprised that we feel so connected in such a large school. Eventhough I didn't want my child to be in a portable classroom, I've learned it doesn't matter. The teacher is so great- we would follow her anywhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2011

My child has autism and is in the Pre-K program. After 3 public schools in 2 years, this is the first one to really help my child. The teachers and staff are amazing, and you can tell they love their jobs. Some schools aren't so good for special needs kids, but this one is awesome. And a reply to the poster below: Just because parent don't belong to the PTA, doesn't mean they are not involved with their kids. Some parents have to work more than one job, or like myself have a special needs kid that takes up more time than a typical child. Oh and a lot of PTA events involve food, which is not fun for a kid with food allergies, so we have to avoid those.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2006

As a parent of a Kindergartner at Sawgrass I am very happy with what we've experienced so far. I can't believe how much my daughter has learned. I always feel welcome at the school and there is always an opportunity to participate. PE, Art and Music are wonderful programs, the teachers are very creative and really care about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2005

The quality of the academic program at this school is very good. The teachers are caring and concerned about the children. They have an active music program, and a multicultural group for extra curricular. Parental involvement however, is pretty low. Less than half belong to PTA, not a lot of support from the majority of the families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2005

sawgrass is the greatest elementary school available. I loved it and never wanted to leave although it was a free school we knew the rules and we followed. the chorus,patrol, study budy , pen pal, wsaw(news crew), dances and many more. It is the best school so if you get the chance have your son or daughter go here!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

127 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

127 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
50%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

128 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 61%
Black 15%
Hispanic 15%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 22%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 70%60%61%
Master's degree 30%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. JEAN CHARLES-MARKS
Fax number
  • (727) 217-7251

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1815 77th Avenue North
St. Petersburg, FL 33702
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 570-3121

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lynch Elementary School
St. Petersburg, FL



Northeast High School
St. Petersburg, FL



Liberty Christian School
St. Petersburg, FL


Holy Family Catholic School
St. Petersburg, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT