Advertisement
Advertisement

Saint Jude Cathedral School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in St. Petersburg

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $80,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 27, 2013

St. John Vianney Catholic School is one of the finest schools in Pinellas County. We are the first Middle school IB programme in the county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2013

We have been at St. Jude's for 6 years now. We love it and are so grateful to have a family atmosphere to teach our kids about faith, family and strong education. St. Jude's is always working to improve and grow. There are soany good things about it! The only area we hope they continue to consider working on is building a gymnasium. It is desperately needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2013

They had good teachers but unfortunately lots of those good teachers left the school this year. The guidance program doesn't work. Hopefully over the summer the school gets an extreme make over. My kids are not returning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2013

We moved our boys from a public fundamental school to St Jude's in January of 2013. They are in 2nd grade and 4th grade. It was the best decision we could have made for our family and our children! The curriculum is excellent, they learn accountability, self-discipline and religious values. They foster a strong sense of community involvement within the school and out in the community itself. I love how the older kids are taught to mentor the younger children rather than demean them. We have nothing but positive experiences with the front office staff, teachers, administrators and the families. The After-care program is also excellent. Our boys are getting a good education and enjoying school again. As parents, we could not be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2012

Very happy with this school. We've been there for 4 years now and our daughter loves it too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2011

We just started our daughter in the EC3 class and could not be more happy with the school. Mrs. Loder is a wonderful teacher. We get emails every afternoon from her letting us know how our daughter did in school that day and what they learned about. The school requires a lot of parental involvement, so be prepared to spend a lot of time there. The 3 year olds are introduced to a lot of new things. They have computer class, Spanish, music class, and go to the library several times a week. They also get a lot of time on the playground and nap time in the afternoon. St. Jude's is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

This is an excellent school... based on pure love, exceptional education and commitment. Teachers are great, 100% dedicated to students and families... Sisters are always available and involved with students 24/7. Sister principle is the best of all; always there for every and each of the student; she is the first face you see and salute every morning in the mornings and at dismissal...School staff is very carrying and loveable, especially Ms. Doris who is the hart of the school. I would strongly recommend this school to every parent in Tampa who is looking forward to provide their children with an exceptional education and closeness to God
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2010

St Joseph School has an environment of love, nurturing and educational excellence. Sr. Lou Ann is and exceptional principal and educator.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

The only good things about this school is the price.They have too many financial need, and their are more foco in how to get money than the education of the kids. I hate the fall Canaval that their have every years. Parents must work or pay for hours that you are supposed work 'voluntarilly'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The Salesian Sisters have had that school since it opened. I see the way the sisters and staff make every effort to make every child succeed in his or her education. They describe failure to children as a form needing to apply more of themselves and time to a particular subject. They are in a poor area of town and the sisters and staff are there to help students after school and when needed. Rarely do they ever turn a child down because they are not able to pay. They work with the families and strive for excellence. Thank God for generous donations from the alumni association and organizations in Tampa that they are able to keep their doors open. Though they may never win this award they deserve to be mentioned and acknowledged. The community needs educators like the ones they have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2009

This school provides our children an education like no other catholic school in our community. As a former student from one of the other catholic schools, I know that the catholic faith taught at st. Joseph's goes further than a textbook. St. Joseph's creates an environment of family. The teachers have shown their dedication and committment to the school and their students. The salesian sisters demonstrate God's love and compassion with every student and/or parent interaction. If you are looking for a school that is not cookie cutter in any way, come to St. Joseph's school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2008

i love this school. it is the best the teachers teach you alot but in a fun way
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 27, 2008

Our daughter enjoys the small school atmosphere and her grades have really improved. As parents, we have also seen her grow spiritially in Christ and are happy to see her do her homework without having to be told!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2007

I am a returning parent. My daughter went to St. Joseph's for her EC-4 and Kindergarten years. We came back for her 5th grade year and I have to say the school has changed. Of course the tuition is great, but we shouldn't have to sacrifice our children's education just because the school is 'cheap'. The teachers are not motivated and have no creativity. Decipline in this school was always detention. No matter if it were the first offense or third. I spent more time in school trying to figure out 'what was the problem', my child or the teacher at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2006

St. Joseph School has served the community of Tampa for over a hundred years. It has a reputation as an academically sound institution that instills the values and teachings of Jesus Christ. It is a Salesian school that has a wonderful family spirit.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 25, 2006

this is an excellent school! it's a small community of children, and loving teachers! i sent all 3 of my children here and it was well worth it. it's affordable and there are so many oppurtunitys, like pe, music, art, and great academic classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2004

St. Joseph's is very much a part of its Latin West Tampa neighborhood. It's warm and welcoming, yet also mixes in a good dose of traditional Catholic school discipline. Classes are small and the grounds large. Recommended for those who want Catholic values without breaking the bank, especially for hispanics from just about anywhere.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 22, 2004

Very good school. I love it, the faculty is very thorough in their teachings and very professional. My children are more prepared than children in public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

It is a very family oriented school and they truly care about their students. It was my daughter's first school and if we had not moved out of state she would have completed her 8th grade year there. Teachers are very caring and concerned about the students and their safety.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 85% 24%
White 8% 44%
Black 5% 29%
Two or more races 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • FCCAP
Fax number
  • (727) 343-0305

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of St. Petersburg
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

600 58th Street North
St. Petersburg, FL 33710
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 347-8622

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Our Savior Lutheran School
St. Petersburg, FL


Bear Creek Elementary School
St. Petersburg, FL


Northwest Elementary School
St. Petersburg, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT