Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

5-12|Private
475 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Canterbury School of Florida - Knowlton Campus 5

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
My Daughter went to Canterbury and it was the best decision we could have ever made for her! She is smart, confident, she make friends easily, she cares about others and she respects the environment a lot of this is because of Canterbury. There is no other school that will help give your child so many opportunities to be successful and help develop your child into an amazing citizen with a world of potential!

Canterbury School of Florida - Knowlton Campus 1

Posted September 15, 2015
- a parent
There are high teacher turnovers in upper campus and some kids are very disruptive in class. These kids don't get into trouble because their parents have enough influence in the school. There are language courses that's offered but the kids do not seem to improve over the years, especially in lower school. This school does not offer enough to justify the cost of tuition.


Canterbury School of Florida - Knowlton Campus 5

Posted May 01, 2015
- a parent
Canterbury School of Florida is an amazing school! My child loves the teachers and the teachers really do care about the kids. There is a sense of community with the parents, kids and school staff. My child has learned more than the traditional subjects of math and reading, but has also learned character. Upon graduating from high school, the kids get into some of the very best schools around the county and many are awarded with scholarships. This is a truly a wonderful school!

Canterbury School of Florida - Knowlton Campus 5

Posted October 15, 2013
- a parent
As parents of a child who has been at Canterbury for 13 years (since preK), we couldn't be happier with the school. The teachers really care about your child's education & development, in every way--academic, athletic, moral. And to top it all off, the college advising is second to none. If you're looking for the best school in the area, this is it. Take a tour. See what it's all about. You won't be sorry.

Canterbury School of Florida - Knowlton Campus 5

Posted October 15, 2013
- a parent
A lovely balance of academics and nurturing appropriate for grade levels. Ability to create own areas of academic interest for higher grade students and lots of studying tru play for the younger ones. As a parent, never having to worry that the child is overlooked or ignored is priceless. Children feel loved and develop amazing self confidence. A variety of community projects exposes children to the world outside of the one many live in.


Canterbury School of Florida - Knowlton Campus 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
This school is one of the rare few in the Tampa Bay Area that delivers what it promises. Bullying is not tolerated. Very few cliques with a family oriented atmosphere. The teachers are tied into the parents with several updates via email on grades and progress each month. The portal to review homework and progress is easy and gives parents a way to make sure they know exactly what the kids are supposed to be doing. We moved both kids from another similarly priced top notch private school and thank goodness we did. Won't be looking back. Canterbury is the school that is up and coming. All the best teachers from the other private schools seemed to be migrating to this small, loving, academically oriented school. My child was bullied traumatically at another school and he is finally thriving and happy again. Now I have both children in Canterbury and while it is quite the drive, we just LOVE it. We are enjoying a diverse community of very impressive, involved families and children who are not pretentious but certainly could be. It is the right mix of low key, drug free, nurturing, gentle families. I am so glad I kept looking until I found this undiscovered gem of a school.

Canterbury School of Florida - Knowlton Campus 5

Posted September 04, 2012
- a parent
We love Canterbury! I wouldn't consider another school for my 6 year-old. The teachers, the community feel, and the educational experience is one that is not replicated anywhere else in the area. Starting in Pre-K, the kids learn to speak to a crowd during flag each morning, they have Madarin and Spanish, and a Marine Science program that is unlike any other early education environment I have seen. Truly impressive staff and dedication to excellence!

Canterbury School of Florida - Knowlton Campus 5

Posted February 07, 2012
- a parent
We are so pleased with Canterbury for our 3rd grade daughter. She was in an "A" rated fundamental school and doing well (straight A's and in the gifted program), but we felt she was not being challenged to her full potential (academically, socially and physically.) After the first day at Canterbury, she said it "was the best school day ever". Canterbury has small class sizes, extremely gifted teachers, recess (which is critical to a good learning enviroment), and enrichment programs such as Spanish, Mandarin, Art, Music, Marine Science, PE, Strings (violin) and a focus on a family atmostphere and character. My daughter is treated as an individual, yet part of a much larger family and it is wonderful. I can sleep at night knowing that we are giving her the best education possible. And an added bonus - she is happy!!!


Canterbury School of Florida - Knowlton Campus 5

Posted December 30, 2011
- a parent
Our three daughters are attending Canterbury with our oldest graduating this May 2012. She is so prepared for college! Academically she was challenged. Athletically she was trained to her fullest potential. And she was given social skills that will carry her through life productively. All of these were reinforced at home. The grass is never greener on the other side you must water your own grass and that is exactly what the teachers, administration and parents do for our children. The encouragement and guidance is consistant. The education level is high and intertwined between subjects with many hands on activities. The glue to this school is parent association and communication between faculty and administration. The only draw back that my daughters say is the student body is small. Maybe another 300 hundred students would help in the lower and high school but any more than that and I think Canterbury will loose its edge over all other schools. This is one great school where the kids can grow in confidence!

Canterbury School of Florida - Knowlton Campus 5

Posted June 21, 2011
- a parent
Canterbury makes we wish I was back in school! Our daughter is a rising 6th grader and the past 7 years have been a wonderful experience for our family. The Canterbury Community reflects all the positive things we want her to experience and learn from. We have had any concerns addressed in a thoughtful and appreciative manner. We are confident the faculty knows our child's strengths and weaknesses, as it is relected in her academic achievements, high confidence level, and wilingness to branch out and try new things

Nearby schools

Canterbury School of Florida - Knowlton Campus
990 62nd Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL  33702
(727) 525-1419
Last modified Canterbury School of Florida - Knowlton Campus is a Private school that serves grades 5-12
Top