Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Shorecrest Preparatory School

Private | PK-12 | 975 students

Private, co-ed, independent school with arts, athletics, service -- Be More!
 
 

 
 

Living in St. Petersburg

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $99,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 28, 2014

I lived in Feather Sound and was referred to Shorecrest by the community as being the best school in town. My children began at 3 and 4 years old. They are now in 10th and 11th grade and beginning to look for colleges. I can truly say that they have prepared my children both academically and social/emotionally to meet the challenges of life and will be well prepared for their futures. The money was a great investment in my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2013

Now that we are moving out of Tampa Bay and having had to find a school for the children (ages 5 and 8) in a different part of the state, we can say that Shorecrest Early Childhood and Lower Division did a terrific job preparing both kids academically and socially. Terrific leadership, challenging academic curriculum, and family atmosphere made this place a perfect environment for raising our kids, it truly became a second home to them. Thank you, Shorecrest family, for giving them wings. We are gonna miss you...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2013

Having moved here from another state and attended public school there, we find Shorecrest average at best and certainly not worth the big tuition required. It is extremely hard to mainstream in if your child begins after lower division as kids and parents have been together and formed relationships already, and there is no real effort to get to know new families. Teachers present curriculum rather than teach, and we find a lot of parents need to supplement with outside tutoring at additional costs or teach themselves at home. Many teachers have children who also attend there which makes it an insular community. On the upside, there is a lot of school spirit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2012

I have been highly disappointed with this school and can now compare what a dedicated and loving environment is about in the current school my children attend. The excellence that they promote is only related to fundraising. The lack of interest on the child as a whole is shocking. The school is all about showing off instead of nurturing the minds and hearts of the children. If you are interested in promoting your business, then this is your school. If you are interested in the education of your child and having them enjoy and grow in a welcoming environment, would look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2012

Shorecrest hires their teachers according to diploma prestige, giving additional priority to teachers who have taught overseas. As a result, very few of their teachers can actually teach to the broad range of learning styles that make up a classroom of students. To fill this gap, Shorecrest offers private tutoring - $80 for 30 minutes. Free help after school does not exist. The school actively promotes an elitist attitude, focusing on building a "state-of-the-art," "look at us," campus, to the detriment of providing an education to all the students which they have contracted to educate. Tuition is upward of $17,000 yearly and everything else is extra. Shorecrest's fund raising efforts are the forefront of their communication with parents. Community service projects rely on parents' purchasing power as opposed to students' hands-on efforts; accordingly, there is no altruistic learning. After 4-years at Shorecrest, we have decided to send our child elsewhere for high school. My husband and I both come from families of educators, although education is not our chosen profession.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2011

II dis agree with the post about colleges not looking at how challenging courses are! Currently in the college search process, that is one thing they absolutely look at!! The weight your GPA based exactly on the difficulty of your course liad giving Shorecrest students a great advantage!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2011

I attended this school from K-12 and must say that this is an excellent school compared to others in the area. On several occasions "A" students from other schools transferred and found that it isn't easy to earn an "A" at Shorecrest. I have gone on to get undergrad and graduate school, and hands down, Shorecrest challenged me more. Their are negatives: the ciriculum is very tough so it is hard to earn great grades and colleges don't consider that you went to school that has higher standards. So if a college is looking for someone with a 3.7 gpa you have a much better shot of getting that grade at a public school, NSCS, or Canterbury. There is a sense of elitism at this school. Many kids are spoiled beyond belief. The sense of entitlement can drive a "normal" parent crazy. Most of the kids have never heard the word No with is dishearting. Just go to the 12th grade parking lot....you probably won't find a car that is older than 5 years. Above all, if you instill strong family values at home and want a strong education go with Shorecrest.


Posted April 5, 2011

I can only give this school and average mark for the following reasons: the teachers are not there because they want to be. They are obviously heavily influenced by the wealthy parents. This is not a school I will allow my student to attend any longer. The richest 1% of the nation truly does dictate public policy. Even down to the grade school level. This is absurd and not something I am willing to allow my child to be subjected to. It is not the real world as we are not wealthy parents. I dare say even if we were we would not instill within our children the elitist mentality so many of the other parents instill upon their spoiled brats.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2011

Not sure where the comment about teachers lacking passion came from in a previous comment. I've been very impressed with the faculty at Shorecrest and consider them the reason to send my kids to school there. While no school is perfect, I know that my two kids are challenged and supported by a caring group of educators. The opportunities outside the classroom are spectacular as well. How many other schools can offer sports teams, middle school plays, clubs, and even weekend activities for pre-schoolers?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2011

My child attends Shorecrest and every day I feel fortunate that she is able to receive her education in such a wonderful environment, with so much to offer! She is is faced with healthy challenges every day and has grown astronomically since entering the school. The parent support network is fantastic and warm and the lessons go far beyond academics. I would (and have) recommend Shorecrest to anyone. It really is the best education I can provide for my child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2010

Shorecrest is tops in the early childhood, but as you progress to middle school, you have quite a few inexperienced teachers and lack of passion for teaching. If you have an above average student place put them in public school where they will be challenged. Be prepared to hire tutors if your student needs help, you will not find any extra help after school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2010

This is an incredible school. Far beyond any expectations I could ever dream. The teachers are excellent, some with MASTER degrees!! The campus is virtually all new. The classes offered during and after school are fantastic! The Headmaster and all of the Division Heads are personable and genuine. School work is definitely above grade level to public school. There is a strong influence on writing, the arts, and sports. I would highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2009

This school was ammazing for college preparation! I've seen teachers set aside time to personally talk with students and parents. Plus, they are as experienced as any proffessor. Not only does Shorecrest have an amazing academic program though, it has afterschool athletics and a great student body! Take my word for it, I was a student!


Posted November 16, 2009

The teachers at Shorecrest are the best. The Upper Division teachers prepare the students so well for their college classes that my son ended up tutoring many of his classmates on how to write papers, study, etc. Additionally, the teachers have great relationships with their students and the kids stay in touch for many years. Our experience has been outstanding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2009

This is a great school! They understand how to prepare our kids for the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2009

Teachers have great credentials but are not skilled at teaching. Most are professionals that lack the passion and gift of truly being able to reach and inspire children. Teaching is a calling not something ones does for a tuition discount. To date, there are no programs for challenge gifted students. Perhaps an OK school for average student with above average motivation. This school should be so much more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2009

Our experience has been great. All of the teachers our children have had in the Middle and Lower Divisions were dedicated and challenged our children in every way. Facilities are wonderful, with significant athletic opportunities. Unlike some other comments, I have thankfully seen the school enforce rules and requirements equally and fairly regardless of one's wealth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2008

The school has little regard for the students. Parents that are major contributors have their own agenda and freely impose their will on teachers and administrators. The school is great at teaching students that if you have enough money, you can control almost any institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2008

Below average marks for some new LD teachers this year... Lots of teacher turn-over in the Lower Division school. Some new teachers are not so nice... A disappointing year....


Posted October 6, 2007

i love shorecrest. i've been there my whole life. everyone there is so nice!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 42%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Hispanic 5% 29%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Black 2% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 99% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 1% (2013)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Behavioral health specialist
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Educational diagnostician
Math specialist(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Rock band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Literary magazine
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • SADD

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mike Murphy
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (727) 527-4191

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Honors track
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Performing arts
  • Service learning
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Behavioral health specialist
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Educational diagnostician
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Partnership with travel svc
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Many More
  • Sailing
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Many More
  • Sailing
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Rock band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • Habitat for Humanity
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Interact
  • Key Club
  • Lesbian, gay, transgender club
  • Literary magazine
  • Math club
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • SADD
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
  • Wake Up!
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Class rep, sports team parent
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Student Profile: 100% of seniors are accepted to college; with 76 students of the Class of 2014, 397 AP courses were completed; 86% AP examination pass rate (48% Florida average); Average GPA: 3.84. National Merit Semifinalists and Commended Scholars in 2014: 9, National Merit Scholars: 2. $7.5 million in scholarships offered to 97% of the Class of 2014. Athletics: 49 competitive athletic teams for Middle School, Jr. Varsity, and Varsity
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 99%
Military - 1%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5101 1st Street Northeast
St. Petersburg, FL 33703
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 522-2111

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Pete Prep Pre-School
St. Petersburg, FL






Grace Lutheran School
St. Petersburg, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT