Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Northside Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 600 students

 
 

Living in St. Petersburg

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $60,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 1, 2014

Northside is a great school. Teachers are very passionate, dedicated, and caring. The first grade teacher: Donna Benitez is an incredible teacher. My son love the school. I wish they have a better summer program. Other than that, this is a great, safe place for any child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2013

We've toured the school and my daughters cannot wait to start! We met the elementary principal, she was outstanding and really cares about her students.


Posted June 7, 2013

My child attended this school for many years but Thank God I finally transferred her to another school where she was able to excel both academically and socially. This school is so biased to parents with connections (relatives for teachers, coaches, staff, church members) and parents who donate money to the school. The preferable treatment here is so obvious! Even in sports, the kids who start or win MVP are usually related to the coaches! Also, NCS's motto should be "Do what I say, Not what I do". For supposedly such a good Christian school, why is it that so many girls have pictures of themselves on fb in sexy poses?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2013

We started this school mid-year and have been very impressed. Our son (kindergartener) absolutely loves going to school and staying late! This school is incredibly well-rounded -- from the basics of reading, writing, math, PE, art, music, library, and science to the extras of Spanish, piano, and computer. He also has many afterschool activities to choose from -- basketball, soccer, flag football, wrestling, guitar lessons, running club, etc. The afterschool care is also great as they group the kids by grade and rotate the playground, playing games inside, and playing in the computer lab or going to the library. Our son actually asks to stay as long as possible, which allows me to get plenty done without worrying about his safety or happiness! The staff has also been above-and-beyond with constant communication (activity info each day, newsletters each week, emails home when necessary), and they also just check in with us to ensure our son is still happy (and that we are too). As parents we can volunteer as much or little as we want/can -- there seems to be heavy parent participation, which helps things run smoothly as well as have a higher quality enviornment. So far, 5 stars!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2012

I have four children at NCS! Elementary, Middle, and High School levels! The christian teachers are truly the best! I love the admin! They are all doing what a school should do TEACH! and LOVE your child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2012

We loved the preschool! Wonderful balance of academic prep with social, fine and gross motor development and creative play! We love how it is literature based. Definitely one of the best preschools in town, the only down side is it is a little pricey and doesn't offer VPK.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2011

Great school. Loving Christian teachers who integrate Biblical truths. Strong academics. Excellent fine arts & sports. Couldn't ask for more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2010

My children have been at NCS since Preschool. I would recommend it to anyone. The teachers truly love the students and want them to succeed. Most schools dominate in one category. Northside excels in Athletics, Fine Arts, and Academics
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2010

A fantastic school the teachers are wonderful and truly care and love each child , the fine arts is great they do not overwhelm the children with homework they have more of a hands on approach . My child has learned so much as well as a love for god . I couldn't be happier withh this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2009

It seems Fine Arts and sports is a prioprity. However Lacks math, technology and science.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2009

NCS is a great school. The teachers truly care about the development of each student, both academically and spiritually. Excellent Fine Arts department! Both of my kids have been involved in FA and the musicianship gained here is unbeatable! These kids can hold their own against any larger school! Students are well prepared for college and many have come back to tell how easy their first year was due to the great prep!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2008

Outstanding school top to bottom. The teachers truly care about the student's development. They have great academics coupled with excellent extra-curricular activities that are on par with or exceed many large schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2005

Decent school, although the academics seem light compared to the other private schools in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2004

This school has it all and then some. Grades K-12 are located on the same campus. This wonderful christian learning enviroment is enhanced by smaller class sizes with large school extra-curricular activites. An excellent Parent Teacher association as well as above average principals make this private school one of the best in the area. Not to mention that last year, the graduating class recieved 100% college acceptence. Tuition is expensive but well worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Black 3% 23%
Hispanic 3% 29%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Donald James
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • CSF
  • SACS/CASI
Fax number
  • (727) 546-5836

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7777 62nd Avenue North
St. Petersburg, FL 33709
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 541-7593

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

American Montessori Academy
Pinellas Park, FL


American Montessori Academy
Pinellas Park, FL


Pinellas Park Middle School
Pinellas Park, FL



Ese Countywide
Pinellas Park, FL


Five Oaks Christian Academy
Pinellas Park, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT