Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bradford High School

Public | 9-12 | 799 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 28, 2012

When the school can take better control of the unruly students and stop the bullying it will be a better school.


Posted January 8, 2012

I am a former employee of this school and I loved the students and faculty. However, the district leadership is unqualified and out of touch with what it really takes to inspire and motivate high school students. It's a shame that such incompetence can influence one school - the community deserves better. Avoid sending your children here if you want any kind of education supported by more than dedicated teachers. The district leaders are worried more about their own hand-shaking and inflated image than they are the students who attend their schools.


Posted June 9, 2009

Well, i am a student at Bradford High right now. I am about to be a sophomore, i would really have to say that this is a, not necessarily 'bad' school but it's just a school with a lot of unmotivated student's and also teachers! I would have to say i had one teacher that actually cared how i was doing my work and how far i want to get in life with my goals. That's not very good, and i'm pretty much stuck here till the end. But i will still try my very best to carry out my goals here and stick it out till the end. I will be in student government next school year, and i will be surely be trying to get at least two magnet programs going here and hopefully a gifted program for the school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 13, 2009

I graduated from BHS in 1991. I had a great experience. My children went there. If teachers did not have to deal with children that choose to be disruptive and not want to learn, maybe BHS would have a better rating. Disruptive and kids that are 2 and 3 years behind just need to stay home, they don't want to learn anyway. A teacher can only do so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

I taught at BHS for one year and was appalled at the lack of leadership and caring by those in authority. Though there are teachers who care, they are rendered ineffective by policies that promote fear. I pray for the students and teachers that are stuck at BHS. I cannot imagine any high school with a worse learning environment.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 7, 2009

Their is a lack of influential teachers, and most importantly the school dosen't really motivate and push forward students to do their best daily. Their is a surplus of 'laxidasical' teachers and stff permitted on campus! Everyone wants the students to do well but obviously, their effort isn't paying off! Bradford is a D school and is surely NOT representing themselves professionaly.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 27, 2009

I went to school there and graduated a 2 years ago, it was not a great school at all. I wanted to go to keystone heights high school because there they had IB and Prep classes. I didn't learn anything at BHS, it was a joke. I dual enrolled at Santa Fe College my junior year and thats where I actually learned the material I needed for college. The some teachers tried to prepare the students for college others just gave out worksheets to do, every day! If you go there, make sure to dual enroll at santa fe, it's free and counts toward college credits and high school credits!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 6, 2009

I taught at Bradford High for a short time and I would say it is not a bad school. The teachers that I interacted with closely all seemed to be very interested in student learning. However, students did not seem that motivated to learn as they were not gearing themselves for a college education. Parents could do a lot in helping to motivate their own children.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 14, 2008

It's not that bad guys... With the new principal I have seen several improvements in adminstration, faculty, and staff.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 6, 2008

I transferred to Bradford from Keystone in October and the only reason why i like Bradford more is the fact that it is so much more laid back and they don't care. Where as Keystone you couldn't do the littlest thing without being punished. Bradford needs to realize the less they punish the more bad things that will happen. Also they need to focus more on the facilities and the student needs when it comes to the bathrooms and learning environment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2008

I believe that this school is not a bad school but a shcool with many problems that could be found at any other school. The difference with bradford is the way they handle their problems. The fact is, they don't. When faced with a problem they choose the easiest way that sheds minimum bad publicy on them. They believe that they 'solved' the problem but all they are doing is causing a more hostal environment not only for the students but also everyone who is associated with the high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2007

I am a Senior at Bradford High School and I have been a student here for 4 years now, I have seen alot of good stuff happen in this school as far as a couple teachers and staff that actuaclly care about the students, clean bathrooms on occasion. I hate this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2007

Very disfunctional and needs severe improvement. The faculty/administration to student ratio is so streched that everyone runs amuck. Quality and professionlism is low.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2007

think this school is horrible and is in need of a lot of improvement. the students there are not treated equally .I feel the administrator and resource officers are there for a pay check and not for the students, Most student have lost interest because of the way things are handled. It really needs to improve with all students being the #1 priority and not being stereo typed or treated different because administrators not wanting to do there jobs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2006

I am ashamed to say I spent my entire student career at this pitiful place. it was the most regrettable 14 years of my 21 year life. I feel that the ineptitude of not just the school's staff, but the entire school board and county commissioners, robbed me of hundreds of opportunities. the marked focus on sports and 'school spirit' left Music and the arts out in the cold. students with special needs were mishandled or trampled under the flood of lazy and jaded future-dropouts, and the few good teachers there were.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 22, 2006

In the past few years, the environment at this school has deteriorated. Many experienced teachers have retired or moved on to better teaching situations. The school grade last year was a D. As I parent, I give this school an F. It is a good school if your child is a cheerleader or a star ball player or a class clown or bully. Those kids seem to do well. The quiet, shy child is often overlooked. There is little to no recognition for those students who are hard workers in the classroom. Pray hard if your child must attend this school. Choose homeschooling!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2006

Bradford High School is a horrible school, dont let your kid go here under any circumstances.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 21, 2005

Great school with a media relations problem.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted November 15, 2005

To whom may read this, Our school is a okay school. it isnt the best but it isnt the worst. sometimes when things happen at our school, it takes a very long time for the staff to do anything about it and if they do the punishment isnt good enough. other than that we do have a pretty good school. sincerly diane flowers
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 24, 2005

Starke is a county school that does not have a lot of money. Therefore it has a hard time keeping teachers in the district due to low pay. Many teachers there are quite good though especially under the circumstances. Principal Wendell has made great improvements in the school since he came.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
39%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
31%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

191 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

228 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
34%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

242 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 42%
Black 25% 23%
Hispanic 3% 29%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 3%N/A2%
Graduation rate 67%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 60%75%61%
Master's degree 34%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 4%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 32%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

582 N Temple Ave
Starke, FL 32091
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 966-6075

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Rainbow Center
Starke, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT