Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Southside Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 598 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 26, 2014

I've been dealing with several issues with this school fRom the start of the year. My son a kindergardner, has been targeted and discriminated against for having a disability. While his grades are above average his disability had caused a huge problem. While meeting with the school guidance counselor apon request of my sons doctor to implement an IEP plan the guidance counselor in his exact words said " an IEP will do your son no good at all your doctor is simply wrong. Him giving you advice about education is like me giving medical advice. Your son is to smart to need an IEP. " this guidance counselor not knowing that as my profession I work directly with behavior specialist . intelligence has no bearing on disability or need. even individuals with genius level IQ's can have a disability that in time will affect their ability to access to curriculum properly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2013

Here are some facts for you to consider: 1. The school population is a around 600 but the cafeteria seats 400 squeezed so the younger grades end up eating lunch at 10 am while the older kids eat lunch almost until school is out (3pm). So your child is hungry having eaten lunch so early or waiting so late 2. The kids that attend the dances held for various PTA fundraisers do not offer a single refreshment to the kids attending and lack complete organization that would make this memorable, While digging in the parents pocket for $$ for the dance. Where is the money going that you cant afford to offer at least refreshment. 3.Physical Education at 2nd grade consists of 20 min roll taking and playing WII tennis. I mean really were trying to get them away from video games don't hand them a controller and say here this is PE. The staff while kind is outmanned and outgunned. All good intentions go out the window if your class is overloaded and you have difficulty meeting curriculum due to time restraints. This is just a few examples so yes I have done my research and these are the undeniable facts. Southside Parent..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2012

As a parent, I am VERY unhappy with Southside! My daughter has been bullied, and has been neglected a bit. She loves her teacher, but either the classes are too full or the teacher isn't paying attention... I don't know which but I have seen the Asst. Principal thought things would be taken care of, nope, have a call in to the Principal, we'll see what happens. I can say this, I want my daughter out of there if this is how her years there will be, she is only in K! UGH!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2012

As a parent of two children that have attended Southside Elementary School in Starke. I am very proud to be a Shark! The previous review evidently does not know the facts! Our population is around 600 it has never been 1000! Our school is over 50 years old but has the kindest and most compassionate staff around. We rarely turn children away. We have a wonderful supportive PTO that I have proudly have been the President of for the last 7 years. Do your research before you listen to disgruntled people. Sometimes personal problems are easier to blame on others than to take responsibility for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2012

Terrible School! The Principal does not lead by example. The rules are implemented but the lack of leadership shows when there is no one making sure procedures are being followed. All school staff is rude and disrespectful to parents. The assistant principal is rude, unprofessional and careless. The office staff is rude and incompetent. The cafeteria staff and environment in general is awful. The worse I've ever seen. The cafeteria has a capacity for 400 students yet there are 1000 students in the school. The classrooms are overcrowded too. The bathrooms, classrooms and cafeteria are filthy always. Maintenance, cleaning and sanitizing are a main issue. There's no parent involvement because once you volunteer and find out what really goes on, the only choice is to run away! Just because the school gets rated due to a standardized test doesn't mean it's an "A" school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2008

Southside is wonderful! The principal, teachers, and staff are friendly and warm. They make kids feel welcome and are easily available to parents. My kids love to learn since they started at Southside. Best school in the area. Other schools could learn from Southside.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2008

I go there and its awsome I think it should get a 9-10! because it has great kids and teachers there!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 28, 2006

A great school full of wonderful and caring teachers that my daughter loves as much as her own family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2006

Very good school, my child never had a problem, the teachers are great there! Nice small school in a nice safe area. Best elementary school in Starke!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
42%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
25%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

85 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 64%
Black 32%
Hispanic 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 79%75%61%
Master's degree 19%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. LISA GRAHAM
Fax number
  • (904) 966-6881

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

823 Stansbury Street
Starke, FL 32091
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 966-6061

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT