Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

574 students|Bradford
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Southside Elementary School 1

Posted November 24, 2014
- a parent
From day one in the afternoon waiting to pick my child up from school where they ask of you to stand until your childs name is called for car riders the women that work their look at you real funny their undfriendly and just a negative vibe about them

Southside Elementary School 1

Posted January 26, 2014
- a parent
I've been dealing with several issues with this school fRom the start of the year. My son a kindergardner, has been targeted and discriminated against for having a disability. While his grades are above average his disability had caused a huge problem. While meeting with the school guidance counselor apon request of my sons doctor to implement an IEP plan the guidance counselor in his exact words said " an IEP will do your son no good at all your doctor is simply wrong. Him giving you advice about education is like me giving medical advice. Your son is to smart to need an IEP. " this guidance counselor not knowing that as my profession I work directly with behavior specialist . intelligence has no bearing on disability or need. even individuals with genius level IQ's can have a disability that in time will affect their ability to access to curriculum properly.


Southside Elementary School 2

Posted October 11, 2013
- a parent
Here are some facts for you to consider: 1. The school population is a around 600 but the cafeteria seats 400 squeezed so the younger grades end up eating lunch at 10 am while the older kids eat lunch almost until school is out (3pm). So your child is hungry having eaten lunch so early or waiting so late 2. The kids that attend the dances held for various PTA fundraisers do not offer a single refreshment to the kids attending and lack complete organization that would make this memorable, While digging in the parents pocket for $$ for the dance. Where is the money going that you cant afford to offer at least refreshment. 3.Physical Education at 2nd grade consists of 20 min roll taking and playing WII tennis. I mean really were trying to get them away from video games don't hand them a controller and say here this is PE. The staff while kind is outmanned and outgunned. All good intentions go out the window if your class is overloaded and you have difficulty meeting curriculum due to time restraints. This is just a few examples so yes I have done my research and these are the undeniable facts. Southside Parent..

Southside Elementary School 2

Posted October 10, 2012
- a parent
As a parent, I am VERY unhappy with Southside! My daughter has been bullied, and has been neglected a bit. She loves her teacher, but either the classes are too full or the teacher isn't paying attention... I don't know which but I have seen the Asst. Principal thought things would be taken care of, nope, have a call in to the Principal, we'll see what happens. I can say this, I want my daughter out of there if this is how her years there will be, she is only in K! UGH!!!

Southside Elementary School 5

Posted October 05, 2012
- a parent
As a parent of two children that have attended Southside Elementary School in Starke. I am very proud to be a Shark! The previous review evidently does not know the facts! Our population is around 600 it has never been 1000! Our school is over 50 years old but has the kindest and most compassionate staff around. We rarely turn children away. We have a wonderful supportive PTO that I have proudly have been the President of for the last 7 years. Do your research before you listen to disgruntled people. Sometimes personal problems are easier to blame on others than to take responsibility for.


Southside Elementary School 1

Posted March 02, 2012
- a parent
Terrible School! The Principal does not lead by example. The rules are implemented but the lack of leadership shows when there is no one making sure procedures are being followed. All school staff is rude and disrespectful to parents. The assistant principal is rude, unprofessional and careless. The office staff is rude and incompetent. The cafeteria staff and environment in general is awful. The worse I've ever seen. The cafeteria has a capacity for 400 students yet there are 1000 students in the school. The classrooms are overcrowded too. The bathrooms, classrooms and cafeteria are filthy always. Maintenance, cleaning and sanitizing are a main issue. There's no parent involvement because once you volunteer and find out what really goes on, the only choice is to run away! Just because the school gets rated due to a standardized test doesn't mean it's an "A" school.

Southside Elementary School
no rating

Posted July 21, 2008
- a parent
Southside is wonderful! The principal, teachers, and staff are friendly and warm. They make kids feel welcome and are easily available to parents. My kids love to learn since they started at Southside. Best school in the area. Other schools could learn from Southside.

Southside Elementary School 5

Posted January 18, 2008
- a student
I go there and its awsome I think it should get a 9-10! because it has great kids and teachers there!


Southside Elementary School 5

Posted July 28, 2006
- a parent
A great school full of wonderful and caring teachers that my daughter loves as much as her own family.

Southside Elementary School 4

Posted February 08, 2006
- a parent
Very good school, my child never had a problem, the teachers are great there! Nice small school in a nice safe area. Best elementary school in Starke!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Southside Elementary School
823 Stansbury Street, Starke, FL  32091
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (904) 966-6061
Last modified Southside Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top