Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

South Fork High School

Public | 9-12 | 1900 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 1, 2012

As a student in the IB program, I have the benefit of having really awesome teachers who treat the students like equals. The IB program is not exclusive and will take as many students as apply. With the smaller class periods now, teachers actually teach the entire time and there is no busy work. The school is more geared towards athletics than academics.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 16, 2012

As a parent I've had a great experience with South Fork. The teachers have been very caring and involved with their students and the other parents are very supportive. My kids love the school, their teachers and the positive atmosphere!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2011

Sink or Swim.... if your child has REALLY thick skin and does well with or without the help of his or her teachers, your child might swim. One of our children did "swim" at this school (you know, the kind of child who does well regardless). However, if your child needs extra help and is sensitive to inappropriate language by teachers, your child might "sink" as our other child did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2011

The school is mediocre, at best. As said before, a majority of the teachers do not teach and those that do are either filling class time with busy work. Most teachers are inconsistent with curriculum, discipline, and communication with parents. School should work to improve teacher quality. Regardless, the IB Program is great for students who are those that seek hard work and are dedicated to education. It is a shame only approximately 50 or so students experience this great program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2009

Nice Kids. Teachers could do more. A good bunch of kids. With a few notable exceptions, the teachers are mediocre at best. The 100 minute classes tend to consist of about 40 mins. of teaching and 60 mins. of wasting time. Kids fill the time watching movies, doing word searches etc. What little actually teaching there is consists of preparing for interminable tests. Very frustrating for the many kids that really want to learn. My hats off for the few heroic teachers that really try to do their job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

I LOVE SOUTH FORK!!! my life was going down hill until i started high school. Everyone is so nice, the staff, the students, and the jrotc program is amazing!!! It's like a huge family!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2009

It is a diverse, friendly school with high standards of academic excellence.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 2, 2007

South Fork is the best school ever i love it the band is the coolest group of people you will ever meet i love it Go Bulldogs!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 3, 2006

My child is now a sophomore and in transition from ESE to mainstream and I have found the counselors and staff very helpful each time I've had a conference or question. My child's grades have excelled even from transition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2006

I love this school nice people and great enviroment.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 19, 2006

Academic programs, such as the IB program is a program that does not challenge the students. The difference is that there is more busy work and then the students just cheat to get through. Many of the teachers are incompetent and it's suprising how many of the teachers can't pass the FCAT, which they expect students(who learn from those teachers) to pass... discipline is horrendous, there is none.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 10, 2005

The school is wonderful. It offers the International Baccalaureate (IB) Program which draws many students in. The teachers are dedicated and involved. It may be out in the swamp but it's worth the drive.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 24, 2004

A fine school. THe major disadvantage is it is located in an undeveloped area. Other than that great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2004

I would not recommend this school to anyone. I have not one good experience with this school. They seem to bring a child down instead of trying to help them, I have heard my child called names at conferences, I have been denied counseling, I have maybe had two good teachers in a years time. They are overcrowded, and run a list on who they can get rid of first no matter how they do it. There are no bathroom privileges, and if a parent shows concern and wants involvement, they never call you back or make it easy to make an appointment. I have 3 children and have never experienced so much unexperience or unprofessionalism in my life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2004

South Fork High School has the best staff in the world. I am currently a senior and I have some of the best memories I will probably ever have. I hope that when I have children I will be able to send them to a school of South Fork's caliber.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 4, 2003

I've had two teenagers attend SFHS. One was in IB and the other in honors school classes. They both did very well! One graduated 2001. And my last graduated 2003. He was able to get his IB diploma. Great teachers, warm staff and wonderful volunteers/parents involvement! The most humble and loving people around. We are bulldog fans and we will make you bark up our alley too!! Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2003

I loved my experience at South Fork and I know that I will always remember the good times we had.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 4, 2003

This school is an awsome school and I have very happy that I sent my daughter too this school. I looked at all the other school around me and this one I think is the safest and has the nicest environment! All the students and teachers I have meet from there are the nicest people. I am very glad that my Daughter goes to SFHS.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

508 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

473 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

475 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

451 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

280 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
56%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

432 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

314 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 64%
Hispanic 26%
Black 7%
Asian 2%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 181%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 29%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 87%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 71%68%61%
Master's degree 25%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 38%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Visual arts
  • Architecture

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. DAVID HALL
Fax number
  • (772) 219-1860

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10000 Sw Bulldog Way
Stuart, FL 34997
Website: Click here
Phone: (772) 219-1840

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT