Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Felix A Williams Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 647 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 20, 2012

What a wonderful school. My daughter has had a year full of learning and nurturing at FAW. Looking forward to the future and all that this school has to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2011

I have three kids go through FAWE and cannot say enough about it. Great school and staff and a real family atmosphere. The teachers and administration all deserve a big raise. Though I was a little dissapointed in the playground and upkeep. The grass needed to be mowed, no nets on the basketball hoops and one of the jungle gyms was roped off. Is this what we're cutting back on? One would think with all the lotto money and property taxes going to schools we could atleast maintain them properly...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

I'm happy that we are out of this school. Since leaving my child has excelled far beyond what was provided or taught at this school.We are very happy at another elementary school in the county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2009

Wow! I was so very pleasantly surprised with the administration at this school. My son went there 4th and 5th and excelled. I believe this to be the very best Elementary Martin Count has to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2006

Both of my children attended FAWE and are now off at high school and middle school. The quality of care, time and energy the teachers and staff provided at FAWE was top notch. They were prepared academically and socially for the transition to the middle school. If all schools followed their example of dedication we wouldn't have an education crisis. Teachers everywhere are so under paid. We need to get the word out to congress to put forth more funds to make their lives a little easier. They do so much for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2006

Felix A Williams is a wonderful school I will be buying a house soon and I will ONLY buy in this district where my son can go to school at F.A.W. My seven year old is currently being tested for the gifted program at Felix A Williams Elementary. I have seen schools base teaching off of discipline this is not one of those schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2005

Both my children have gone to FAW since they were 5. My daughter moved on to 6th in SMS and all she wants is to go back to FAW. The teachers are fantastic, they care about each and every child. My daughter was known to teachers she never even had. The level of education is top notch. When they have FCAT testing this one teacher even made a deal with the kids. He would let ANY 4th grader who scored a Perfect 6 on the writing shave his head in front of the who school...that year 8 kids got the honor. My son is in special ed, the teacher is so excellent with him. He has gone from a F student in Aug. to AB Honor roll in Jan. FAW has got to be one of the best if not THE BEST school to attend in Martin County,Florida.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2004

I am very satisfied with the school. I can't say there is anything at all I don't like, except physical access to the school. I have made it a point to stay involved in my child's development. Especially when it comes to her social behaviour and development. Although my child thrives in school, as a single mother, I make it a point to find out about those things that don't appear on my child's report card. And all the teachers are more than happy to provide any information that might be helpful to me and some have gone out of the way to inform me. I wish the state, and the whole country would realize the importance of the teachers in our lives and out kids' development. Teachers are way underpaid. I am willing to give up more of my own income for them to have a more rewarding career, because it is well deserved and it will be an investment in my own children. I believe the Principal and staff at Felix Williams outperform on all basis and provide a wonderful loving and growing environment for all students who are willing to participate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2003

I am very happy with the quality of education my son receives at FAWE. Mrs. Kuykendall was more than I could have hoped for when picking a teacher for both th parent and child kindergarten experience. First grade was amazing to see how much the children progressed in reading. We are looking forward to another productive and fun year.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

104 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 42%
Hispanic 12% 29%
Black 5% 23%
Asian 3% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 28%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 72%68%61%
Master's degree 26%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 15%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

401 NW Baker Rd
Stuart, FL 34994
Website: Click here
Phone: (772) 219-1640

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Sandy Pines
Stuart, FL


The Hope Charter Center
Jensen Beach, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT