Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sugarloaf School

Public | PK-8 | 563 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 7, 2014

My grandson just started so we don't know much about the school. his teacher is wonderful and he has learned a lot since he started.


Posted February 25, 2014

We are a military family, relocating often, and we chose our home in the Keys based on school zone. Sugarloaf has been a great school for our kids - we have one in elementary and one in middle school. Do issues arise? Of course - teachers are human, students are human. But, when issues do arise, they are addressed and resolved professionally and cooperatively. We would recommend Sugarloaf to anyone considering school placement in the Keys!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2008

We moved from Miami and My child is now in 8 th grade. He has been in Sugarloaf for 2 years. The school is wonderful . The teachers are very helpful . I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2007

I think Sugarloaf school is a wonderful school. I read many parents diagreed and said this school was disorganized. When I first moved here from marathon. I realized my old school was far behind. But Sugarloaf caught me up and fast. The teachers are GREAT!If you want your child to have a great education pick Sugarloaf Elementry/Middle School! It has a great Learning enviroment!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 29, 2007

This is the best school in the keys. Theres great learning enviorments and fun teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 10, 2005

My children attended and got all A's & B's at Sugarloaf and when we moved we found out that the education is so far behind our new schools that we had to enroll our kids in an educatiional learning center to help them catch up. Sugarloaf is the most disorganized school. If you call the office for information noone knows what is going on. Many teachers need to retire, they are boring and lack interest in teaching. The move we made is the best thing we could have done for our children's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2005

Small, community minded school. Great academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2005

I have a son in 4th grade and a son in 5th grade at Sugarloaf Elementary. They have both attended since kindergarden. I feel pretty good overall with their educational experiences, although I have made sure I am available on a volunteer basis for both their classrooms and the school in general. This has given me the ability to keep eyes and ears open to things. My complaints have more to do with public education in general, specifically with the testing (FCAT) that is done. While I understand the need for accountability, I think the FCAT's have had the unintended result of students being taught to simply pass the test. The lack of learning about critical thinking is alarming and I do not think our children are being prepared for the world and work place the will eventually have to participate in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2004

I found this school to be a disappointment. Not very happy with teaching/learning process compared to other schools my children have attended. Kids don't seem to be interested in learning. Disaplening of students was completely out of the ordinary with reguards to way of handling sitations. I elected to remove my children from this school and now I pay for private school. I cannot recommend Sugarloaf School to any parent who is hoping for a solid education for their children. In my opinion, this school was very disorganized and unable to reach childrens interest to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2004

I attended Sugarloaf Elementary/Middle School from first grade through eighth grade and now attend a private university in the Northeast. Sugarloaf is a great, safe place to learn and that is shown in the long list of my grade school friends who excel and have excelled in their studies at prestigious universities all over the US. Small class sizes allow much student/teacher interaction. Small school size allows for minimal red tape and easy access to administrators and faculty. Also, students can now take advantage of beautiful, modern facilities that were not yet constructed when I was a student there. I have no regrets about attending Sugarloaf and can only offer one suggestion: Spanish language is not stressed enough, especially given that the language is extremely useful and in some cases vital in our South Florida community. Keep up the good work Sugarloaf, and parents, remember to vote ACEVEDO for superintendent!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 18, 2004

Sugarloaf is an excellent school with a high level curriculum. My 2 children have gone through Sugarloaf and both have received an excellent, well rounded education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

57 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

57 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
15%

2013

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

48 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

95 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

34 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
97%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
97%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 65%
Hispanic 27%
Two or more races 4%
Black 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 6%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 47%55%61%
Master's degree 53%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

255 Crane Boulevard
Summerland Key, FL 33042
Phone: (305) 745-3282

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Vineyard Christian School
Big Pine Key, FL





Grace Lutheran
Key West, FL


Big Pine Academy
Big Pine Key, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT