Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Welleby Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 799 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 3, 2008

Awesome, well educated staff, clean and fun enviroment for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2008

Caring and wonderful professionals. They are very in touched with your childs education. They strive for excellents. The teachers and staff at this school teach our children, they give them the strenght to learn and the power to feel good about themselves in becoming achivers. Our teacher at this school make our children feel that everyone is a success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2006

Ms. Roberts and Ms. DeAngelo are strong captains of this eduactional ship. They have high standards of education that show at every grade level, with every educator and staff and in every student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2006

Good teachers and administration. Parking needs improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2006

Welleby is one of the most amazing schools I have yet to encounter. The diversity of the students adds to the rich diversity of the school. The teachers are well trained, creative and enthusiastic about education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 8, 2006

The academia is up to par - Ms. Mewbron, my son's teacher, is an excellent example of a qualified, adept, caring teacher. Not many programs available to Kindergarten - I will be involved to help tat a bit! Parental involvement requires a background check though Broward county - long and arduous wait for the teachers needing the volunteer time. Great leadership from the Principal and office staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2006

My son is looking forward to a lifetime of learning because of this great school and Ms Mewbron!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2006

Great school. Family atmosphere
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 19, 2005

My daughter has been going to Welleby since Kindergarden and she loves it. The staff and teachers are wonderful. My daughter looks forward to getting up in the morning and going to school. The academic program is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2005

My daughter and I absolutely loved this school. She attended this school for her whole elementary years. It was fabulous! The teachers were out of this world. They and the staff are caring, they called when my child was ill and in the clinic and the clinic volunteers were very helpful and understanding. I can't wait for my son to start Kindergarten this year so he can enjoy Welleby as much as my daugther did. She misses the school and her teachers very much. I chaperoned a trip to Disney and the kids are great, the teachers that went were great. Welleby is a great experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2005

My duaghter went to Welleby and it was a great experience!!! I loved the school, teachers and administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2005

The teachers here are really involved with their students. Mutual respect between students and teachers leads to a well-behaved student body.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2004

Great school, caring teachers, hard working kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2004

Great School. I have 2 children attending K and 4th grades, and I love the school. They praise the kids and are very focused on students ablility to excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
49%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

143 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 36% 23%
Hispanic 28% 29%
White 25% 42%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Asian 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 62%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 54%53%61%
Master's degree 46%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 16%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Donna Boruch
Fax number
  • (754) 322-8890

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3230 N Nob Hill Rd
Sunrise, FL 33351
Phone: (754) 322-8850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT