Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sawgrass Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 886 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 2, 2006

I was lucky to have twins at Sawgrass, which provided good comparison between teachers. I found most teachers had a buddy system where they would share information with their kids. Most of them used the computer technology available at the school to post class work and relay information to the parents. My kids were lucky to have teachers that went above and beyond to ensure their success at school. They currently have a very creative music teacher who coaches their chourus and percussion ensamble. One of my daughters participated in the Reflections Program and did extremely well. Fortunately as a working mother, there were quite a few parents who either had their own business or worked from home or were just simply 'stay at home Moms' that were willing to volunteer their time at school (including grandparents). Overall, I am quite pleased with the level of education my kids got.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2006

Great school. Teachers are committed to student success. Programs are appropriate for developing balanced students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

I find Sawgrass Elementary to be an excellent school. We have one child who's been there for 2 years. His experience has been excellent. There are field trips, music, art and language (Spanish) programs to which he has been exposed. Teachers are conscientious and the PTA is superb. There is a website for the school. The new principal seems open to parent suggestions and the meetings always provide very useful insight on how to academically and socially support our family and extended learning community. Our younger child is in pre-school now; and when she's ready for kindergarten, Sawgrass Elementary is a top consideration!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2005

The quality of the academic programs are good and meet the standards of the Department of Education. The specials allow them to explore art, music and sports. There is not many number of art, music, scientific and sports extracurricular activities. Many parents are involved in the school and in their children's education. Their commitment allows programs such as Sunshine Math and Reflections to be held each year. Overall it is a very good school. The team of teachers are very dedicated. My daughter has been enrolled in Sawgrass Elementary for more than 3 years now and had only excellent teachers. Overall, we are very satisfied with that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2005

This school was a great disappointment to my family. Academics mean nothing if the children are not safe. There is a lack of supervision and security in this school (which my son no longer attends). Not only was my child lost but the school was not aware that he was no longer on the property. When they finally realized he was missing, the staff had not informed the principal or me of the situation. The facility that my son was mistakenly sent to called to inform me that my son was there. I called the school to speak to the principal, and was told that I would be called back (instead of just getting the principal immediately). Since this incident, I thought that there would be a restructuring of sorts but this situation has the potential to occur again and should be a big concern for any parent considering this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2005

Excellence in Education is what this school provides. I found the gifted education curriculum to be outstanding, the principal: supportive, approachable and encouraging to the students. The teachers prompt and able to provide useful tools and feedback appropriate to my child. All 'specials' classes available to the students for enhancement and parent involvement encouraged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2005

This is the first year my son attends to Sawgrass Elementary. He has improved his academic knowledge and he is able to focus more. I am very satified with his achivements in this school. Teachers and staff are very helpfull.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2005

Although I can't comment on the principal as he's just started, I have been extremely satisfied with the the entire school. I would have liked some after school activities that didn't require tryouts (chorus & dance) The level of parent involvement is very high. I have 2 children there 3rd & 5th and both have done consistently excellent in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2005

The school has modern facilities and the staff is pleasant and helpful. I found they were active in helping my son achieve his academic goals. I felt the music and chorus was a bit competitive for the children being so young, with auditions and so forth. Overall, the school was good to us academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2005

my child went to this school from 2nd to 5th grade. the teachers were good,after care was average,overall safety was good.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted October 19, 2004

My daughter seems to be enjoying her new school, and I can see growth in her academics daily.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2003

The entire Sawgrass Community including parents and business partners put forth great efforts to ensure that ALL students learn. I have never met a more dedicated group of teachers and educational leaders! Sawgrass is an AWESOME school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

155 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

155 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
53%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

159 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 37%
Black 28%
White 27%
Asian 6%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 23%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 73%53%61%
Master's degree 25%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12655 Northwest 8th Street
Sunrise, FL 33325
Phone: (754) 322-8500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT