Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sawgrass Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 886 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 24, 2014

Sawgrass is the best. It is a friendly family environment. My kids skip to school. They love it. I love the administrators. They are always available to answer questions and greet the kids in the morning. They greet the kids by their first names- wow! They certainly know their kids. The teachers are awesome. Education is second to none. I can't tell you how happy we (the parents) are with this school. I have a 4th and 2nd grader. I know my oldest son will be sad to leave Sawgrass- since he has been there since K. It is our home away from home. Thank you for making my kids enjoy and love school. You are all simply amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2014

Best school in Broward County- hands down to them. My kids have blossomed academically and I feel they are safe and well taken care of. I love the administrators, teachers, and all staff members. I think this is the prettiest school in the entire county. It is clean and has beautiful gardens throughout the school. My kids love the IPads and applications. It is such a pleasant environment. Our experience at the school has been extremely positive and I would highly recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2014

The school is horrible I had been there for 3 years and I've been bullied and I never got recess and the were on their phone non stop and never teach also there were bad words everywhere and the principal did nothing than looking cool.


Posted December 2, 2013

TERRIBLE SCHOOL !! My daughter went to sawgrass elementary for 6 years ( kindergarten to 5th grade) And it was the worst. * Even if she didn't buy lunch she still would see her friends eat pizza that was burnt TERRIBLE SCHOOL LUNCH * The bathrooms are a MESS some bathrooms don't even have a lock!! *The school is way too proud of themselves *Fundraisers are a gimmick and they are trying to empty out the child's pockets *Some teachers just go on theyre IPhone while kids do work and don't even learn MOST TERRIBLE ELEMENTARY SCHOOL EVER!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2013

I would not recommend this school to others in my community. The administration is underhanded and definitely not open to all parental involvement. There are lists of parents allowed in for events. While for the most part the teachers my children have had are competent, there are various areas in which the school is lacking. Recess is not given every day, even though the administration tells you otherwise; but if you ask the kids they tell you that there is little to no recess. There is a huge void in communication with parents, and when things do come home they are often late( the event has passed or with one day notice) misspelled and mention the principal's name repeatedly. Spanish is offered as a special once a week for a half hour which is pointless;children cannot learn a foreign language in that amount of time.The money could be better spent elsewhere such as a second PE teacher or second art teacher or technology for all the students not just those in gifted/high achieving classes. The are very few working computers in the classrooms and no technology lab.There is a lack of follow through in many areas. If you can reassign, afford private or go to a charter,do it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

Sawgrass Elementary is a wonderful school because of its wonderful administrators and teachers...I definitely feel like both my sons are known on a first name basis by all involved in their education. As a parent, I always feel welcomed and informed. We feel very blessed as a family to be part of this wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2009

Love the school. My kids love it- enjoy it- and did well on the FCAT.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2009

Sawgrass Elem. is great. Wonderful school with great people- administrators, teachers, all workers and students. No complaints- It has been a superb experience for these years. Love it. Love it. Love it. I give it a 10 plus (A+).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2009

The school is awesome. The teachers are very good. Good crowd. The specials are awesome. The school is clean and i will give it 10 points. Very fortunate that my kid is in this good school. No regrets.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2008

I am a parent of an autistic child at Sawgrass Elementary. I am extremely fortunate that the teachers, administrators, and staff members are caring and dedicated to ALL the children of Sawgrass Elementary. The support received from all of them at the last Autism Walk was impressive. Not only were both administrators present, but many teachers and staff members. I am very satisfied with the support and education that I have received for my child. Everyone is treated with RESPECT, KINDNESS, and most importantly with DIGNITY. It is a pleasure to send my child to this phenomenal school. Kudos to the administrators, teachers, and staff members for their dedication and genuine concern of our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2008

This school may be adequate for the mainstream child but when it comes to providing support for children with special needs, especially autism, they are bottom of the barrel. I had my son re-assigned here as I thought the staff was very attentive since I substituted at Sawgrass before. Once my son became enrolled the teacher told me in the first month my son would 'mostly likely be retained.' They do not try hard enough at this school. Parents of autistic children...do your child a favor and do not enroll them at Sawgrass Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2008

I have 2 children that are currently attending Sawgrass elemtary and have to unfortantely move in order to get my child who has high functioning autism support. I am not quite sure how the Principal an VP of the school get away with overloading teachers with children who need support but do not provide any of the support. Be aware!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2008

Administration is poor, teacher support and staff support is non-existant. management of school has racial undertones that are insideous but will eventually explode. The Principal has poor leadership skills and is basically unaware of how to effectively manage a school. Were it not for dedicated instructional staff as well as clerical/office staff this school would be ranked as one of the worst.


Posted February 13, 2008

My kids is been at the Sawgrass Adventist School, and is been a blessing a beatufull expirience. Is wonderfull having such dedicated staff in this school, they help the kids, subject and spiritualy. God continue blessing the staff more kids will come to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2007

My child went to this school for 6 years and it is a great school and I would recommend to any Parent. Most of the Teachers are awesome along with the Support and Admin staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2006

I have had my children at Sawgrass the past 6 years we have moved and I and my children miss it terribly. The teachers are the best of the best and always go above and beyond to be of help to the children and families... We will never forget you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

I love Sawgrass Elementary we have been there for four years. I have a third grader and a second grader (and I work at Sawgrass). We have a super team. The teaching staff we have at Sawgrass are great and I am so thrilled with the teachers my children have gotten through their years at Sawgrass so far. Thanks For All Your Hard Work!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2006

This school needs an an autism inclusion specialist to assist untrained staff in working with the large amount of children that attend this school that have autism and are in the general education class setting. It is like pulling teeth to get this school to provide support and the parents of these kids at this school are always spending a great deal of time getting adminstration to provide our special needs kids with the help they need. Autism effects our kids social interactions and this school does not address or want to address the need for social skills traing in school for our kids. They do however spend a great deal of time providing a very good ecucation for other kids that do not have a disabilty at the school. these autistic children need much more trained staff working with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2006

This school might be great for some but it's autism program is not up to par. As a parent I am very displeased with the amount of time I spend making sure my childs support needs are met. I wish they would just think of the child first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2006

Both of my children attended Sawgrass Elementary School and participated in the School's gifted program. Our experience with the school (over a 9 year period) has been outstanding. The staff and administration has been very dedicated and we had only one year where we were unhappy with the teacher. Our oldest went to Pine Crest Middle School after graduation from Sawgrass and was more than prepared for the rigorous program offered by Pine Crest.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

155 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

155 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
53%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

159 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 37%
Black 28%
White 27%
Asian 6%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 23%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 73%53%61%
Master's degree 25%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12655 Northwest 8th Street
Sunrise, FL 33325
Phone: (754) 322-8500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


American Academy
Plantation, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT