Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Nob Hill Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 620 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 1, 2013

I have sent both of my children to Nob Hill Elementary and they have had a wonderful educational experience. It is not a perfect school, but the teachers care about the kids and everyone is friendly. I wish other parents would get more involved with the school and school events.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2009

School administration is rude and disrespectful. The teachers so far have been very good. The principal needs to become more parent-friendly. I understand the desire to do the best for the student body as a whole, but it seems there is more focus on 'my school' than making the parents and students comfortable. There is the usual politics involved and it just depends on which side you get on what your experience is. As a parent, I do not feel welcome. And I know a large percentage of others who feel the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2009

I think there a little unorginized and rude sometimes. However my son went their last year and I saw first hand the way my son love to wake up and go to school. His teacher was so caring and patient.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2009

My child goes to Nob Hill Elementary and we LOVE the school. The principal, teachers and staff are very dedicated to the students and find creative and inspiring ways to teach even with the state wide pressures of FCAT that all public schools are facing. Nob Hill is an A school for the 10th year in a row! The grade says it all! Nob Hill is a great place to be! Go nuggets!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2009

As a past student of Nob Hill myself, I sent both of my children to the school with high expectations. The 2008-2009 school year left me disgusted with the principal and teacher to where my son was so upset he did not want to attend school.The school is so focused on FCAT teaching, they forget how to teach the regular curriculum. My child is very bright and eager/quick to learn but this last year was so stressed out with the teachers constant push on the FCAT that he would wake up sick not wanting to attend school,then be punished in the principals office with the FCAT book to study from all day.My childs grades suffered & I decidely moved him to private catholic school, where he has been student of the month and maintains all 90's and higher with daily praise from the teachers and staff.Shame on you Nob Hill!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

The teachers and staff are wonderful! The educational program is outstanding. All of the office staff is very friendly and always willing to assist when they are needed. The PTA does an outstanding job which just helps make the school so much more exciting and fun as well as educational. The teachers and staff all set a great example for my children. Our family loves Nob Hill. Way to go and grow on the HILL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2008

My two boys attend Nob Hill and are doing great. I try to volunteer when I can and I find that the teachers and staff are caring and friendly. My boys have had many wonderful experiences at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

I have been a part of the Nob Hill for the last eleven years having a few children to pass through and I have fount it to be an excellent school in every way. Always on the cutting edge of teaching our children the things the need to learn for the next grade and the future. Excellent Job Principal and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

My daughter transferred to Nob Hill after completing kindergarten at a local Catholic School. She was extremely bored that first year and got into trouble for 'too much talking and fidgeting'. They sent her for testing, which we had to pay for, to find that there was absolutely nothing wrong with her, she was just bored. We met with Ms. Gomez (Asst. Principal) in July 2006, she assured us that Nob Hill would meet our expectations this year, and they SURE DID! My daughter is doing extremely well and is now finishing up 1st grade with flying colors. A teacher can make a big 360 degree difference to a child! This is what Nob Hill does! Thank you all. Mr. & Mrs. Coles
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2007

Nob Hill is an outstanding school. My children have excelled due to the high expectations set by the teachers and administration. We couldn't be any happier with the education our son and daughter are getting at Nob Hill!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2006

I am dissatisfied with the school's willingness to help. I've requested for my daughter to be tested 2 years ago and she has yet to be tested. They don't have a program for students with reading problems. Though the is ranked among the top schools in Broward, they have failed my expectations to teach my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

Great school. Teachers are very caring. Been an a school for the past few years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2006

This school has served my daughter & son fairly well. Everytime I had a problem with a teacher, the Principal, Dr. Patterson, was always available for a conference. She works well to find a solution for all involved, teacher, student and parents. Unfortunately, my son is very bright, but not according to the testing standards at the public school level. Therefore, he is bored and getting into trouble lately. The principal has transferred him into another class, and he seemed to be doing well, until the last month. The school is very good for average children, but the advanced 2nd grade teacher is on maternity leave this year. Therefore, the school and the children are suffering.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2005

Excellent school. Friendly environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2005

My son has attended Nob Hill Elementary for the past 5years. I don't believe that he could have attended a better school. At this school the principal,teachers, and staff could not be more attentive or dedicated to the welfare of the children. This school has worked hard to maintain their 'A' status and I believe it is duly deserved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2005

Nob Hill Elementary is one of the best elementary schools to send your child to.You have a school with a terrific group of teachers who care about their students and are willing to go that extra mile. The quality of their academic programs are super! Extracurricular activities are available. The level of parent involvement is terrific and they have one of the best PTA's around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2005

Nob Hill has a nice group of teachers, but I don't think they strive to do their best. It takes to long to have ESE students evaluated and the ESE services are lacking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2005

I don't feel that there is a wide availability of music, art, sports and other activities, so I am disappointed in that aspect. My 2nd grade daughter is in a designated gifted program that I have had to basically beat the school up to get her in. It's quite distressing at times, but since this is where my husband and I live, we can't change her school. Otherwise, we would.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2004

I have had children in school for the past 15 years and found that now my most youngest who attends Nob Hill Elementary has by far the best school for learning at all levels. It is like a unity there and you don't find that anywhere. From the Office to the teachers and all parents who help out its a Great School for learning and growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Wonderful and Caring teachers. The best school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

114 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 32%
White 32%
Hispanic 28%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 12%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 56%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 64%53%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. JEANNIE FLOYD
Fax number
  • (754) 322-7240

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2100 Northwest 104th Avenue
Sunrise, FL 33322
Phone: (754) 322-7200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT