Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Banyan Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 696 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 11, 2013

My child has had excellent teachers so far. Office staff is not friendly at all, seems as though they are being bothered or don't want to be there. Had a few issues in the past with aftercare, they were lacking ownership, of course! School seems to be going in the wrong direction. I truly wish that the school would take responsibility for there bad judgment and there lack of ownership. Hope it gets better for the childrens sake.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

I have had 4 children go through Banyan and my 5th has 1 more year, If I could leave my children in this school till 12th Grade I would. The Staff and Teachers are GREAT and Mr. Voelkel is the most caring and dedicated principal I have ever met. Banyan is truly a friendly and loving school! I am proud to be part of the Banyan Family for the last 17 years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2009

I agree with other parents who say children with learning disabilities or disabilities in general don't have a lot of support or alternatives at this school. They are left to struggle. If you have a child without any issues, this is a great school. I have two children in Banyan- one with a learning disability and the other fine. School is not a positive experience for my child with the issue but very positive for the other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2009

My daughter is in Kindergarten at Banyan. From the second that you walk through the front doors it's like family. Mr.Voelkel knows every student by name and he is such a wonderful and loving principal. He really cares! My daughter absolutely loves her teacher Mrs. Hill and I can't say enough good things about this school. Next year my daughter will be rezoned for the new 'A' school. I don't want to leave this school, it is going to be a very sad sad day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

They need better services for children with learning disabilities. The school is dismally unprepared to teach these children. The standards are generally very low. Very disappointed that this is what is acceptable for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2007

My son is a 1st grader at Banyan Elementary and we both love the school and the teachers and staff they are all wonderful. Banyan was highly recommended last year when I was putting him in school so I reassigned him to Banyan and I have no regrets about my decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2007

I've had two children progress to Middle School from Banyan. I currently have a third grader. This school consistently reaches out to parents and the administration actually knows every little face at the school. As a parent, I feel that my child is safe and the current School Resource Officer is excellent with the children. Parental involvement could definitely be improved, but there are numerous activities and for families (Reading Night, Math Night, monthly McDonalds nights, school dances). Overall a great place for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2006

My son (Cody) currently attends Banyan, in 3rd grade & has since his kindergarten year. From his 1st year, he has had spectacular, wonderful, amazing, teachers & staff. Add your own adjective to a person/teacher that you would give someone and you have the staff at Banyan Elementary. From Mr. McGraw; head janitor, Coach Sapp; P.E., (ALL the Teachers & other staff/school members including classmates I didn t mention), Miss Nancy; Office Admin, Miss Linda; Nurse, Officer Mike; D.A.R.E., Mrs. Allee; Asst. Principal & to the Man in charge Mr. Voelkel; Principal I could not ask for a better group of people if I had hand picked them myself. Banyan allows and wants the parents to be involved 100%. Academically Banyan is on top & goes above & beyond their well deserved A . In short we love Bantan and you will too! P.S. My son is a reassignment I wanted him at Banyan.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

My kid went for grade-k at Banyan. The teacher was excellent and encouraged my kid a lot. They even put her in accelerated reader programs-eventhough they said at first that they won't test anybody until second grade. My kids like this school very much. The school tries to involve parents as much as they can. Don't know much about thier sports and extracurricular activies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2006

good school. however, I wish more involvement was placed on children with special needs such as learning disabilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

My kid goes to banyan ele. It is a good school. my kid loves her kindergarten teacher. she is experienced and encourages each kid in her class to excel. the extracurricullar activities seem ok. parent involvement also seems good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

All the teachers and school personnel are always willing to go the extra mile for the children. The only down side, is that this school is extremely overcrowded and I do believe the school board should do something about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2005

I have been a teacher at Banyan for fourteen years. The teachers are all caring and very professional. Our Principal is always giving us the latest training and provides us materials to give our students the best possible learning experience.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 28, 2004

My child has been at Banyan for two years and has continued to excel. She continues to be challenged in her class work. She is in the highest math and reading that Banyan offers. I know she is learning all she can at Banyan. She has always been a Straight A student and is still an A student. But there should be more parent involvement with the school and PTA. Banyan is a Excellent school. I am glad my daughter spent her last two years of elementary at Banyan.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

118 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 56% 23%
Hispanic 21% 29%
White 13% 42%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Asian 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%53%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Eric Miller
Fax number
  • (754) 322-5390

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8800 NW 50th St
Sunrise, FL 33351
Phone: (754) 322-5350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Harvard Academy
Sunrise, FL





The Inverrary School
Lauderhill, FL


St. Malachy School
Tamarac, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT