Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sandpiper Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 646 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 8, 2005

The Sandpiper is a great school, I have a 7 year old daughter who simply loved the enviroment of school ,a very good reputation and lot of activities to involve you with your child education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2005

My son is going into the second grade at sandpiper and is doing well. The teachers he has had have been great, his first grade teacher even dug out second grade books to keep him challenged. The PTA is very involved in the daily activities at schooland I am sure the kids benefit from that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2005

Sandpiper Elementary is a fine tuned school. Sometimes they can be overly strict but it is always for the good of the children. I have been pleased with all of the teachers that I have come accross and felt comfortable leaving my child everyday. The office staff is organized and professional. Everyone follows through and there are lots of parent involvement opportunities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2005

Excellent school. Academic programs are outstanding. Overall Excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2004

my son had gone to this school since he was 5. We have since moved out of the state of Florida in his fifth grade year, in December 2003, and even though we do not live in the area anymore, I want to say that Sandpiper Elementary School is a fabulous school. We have had such a wonderful experience. My son became an honor roll student and the teachers are awesome. Might I say that the Sandpiper Staff, everyone, all the gals in the office, including Officer Eddy, are super awesome. I wish them all well and we miss them all very much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2004

Sandpiper is a really great school, with great teachers, a very friendly office staff and a very committed and productive PTA. This school is one of the best in the area. All schools are feeling the effects of budget cut backs and having to hire more teachers due to class size reductions, but even so, Sandpiper has been very resourceful without losing the overall quality of education received here! I've been with this school for 7 years now and I wouldn't trade it for any other. And, we have one luxury over other schools, we are under-enrolled so we are not overcrowded like one of the comments made by a mom on this site.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2003

We are new in the area. I am not impressed by this school. There is only one counsellor and no registered nurse on duty when school is in session. My child needed to speak with the counsellor. She is not available, has too many other tasks. I had to look outside of school for counselling. There does not seem to be enough help, my child is getting lost in the crowd and she needs extra help. We come from a small town in New Jersey where the principal knew each child by name and was always visible. There is a big difference here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2003

Although we are very involved in my child's activities, homework, reading at home, computer skills,etc I have seen a lot of progress accomplished, and I know the wonderful staff ,the teachers are responsible for so much progress.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

121 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

108 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 37%
White 34%
Hispanic 21%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 5%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 49%53%61%
Master's degree 47%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 13%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • DR. DELORIS M JOHNSON
Fax number
  • (754) 322-8490

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3700 North Hiatus Road
Sunrise, FL 33351
Phone: (754) 322-8450

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT