Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sandpiper Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 646 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 21, 2014

This school has had some recent struggles but as a parent over the years I have gotten to know some of the teachers and I must say there is some great staff. I really love Mrs.G the 1st grade teacher and Mrs. Godoy is awesome and has such a wonderfully run aftercare program. I think there has been lack of follow through in the administration at this school. I'm hoping for lots of positive as this school transitions in to a new principal next year. Oh and that "mean" PE teacher, she is retiring too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2014

My son is in first grade and has finally recuperated from a horrible kindergarten experience his teacher then was mean and screamed at the children. She threw my son's work in the garbage and admitted to screaming at him. She also told me face to face that he turned in garbage work. This was in kindergarten mind you. The vice principal was uncaring. The principle never to be found. I switched him to another class and while it was better he no longer enjoyed going to school. He has also said many times that the p.e. teacher is very MEAN and is always screaming at the kids and gets angry for no reason. My husband doesn't like the idea of having him switch schools but if I could do it all over again I would not have him attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2013

Can you give a ZERO?! This school was the worst. I agree with the parents that mentioned how rude and uncaring the office staff and Vice Principal are and how unavailable the Principal is. My son came home with stomach aches and tears almost daily because his teacher made him so nervous. Needless to say we are no longer there and are now in a wonderful charter school where my son is excelling. He hasn't had stomach issues since leaving this horrible school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2013

NEVER ASK A QUESTION ABOUT YOUR CHILD'S PROGRESS. If you do then you are a troublesome parent who is to be avoided, no matter how friendly your inquiry. Teachers are obviously unhappy and the attitude of resistance and disdain from the teachers toward parents is unmatched by any other school. Cafeteria workers are rude and will IGNORE your child's requests for help. The PE teacher is abrasive to say the least and scared my child and caused her much anxiety. The ONLY place you'll find your child coming first is in their Aftercare program with Mrs. Godoy. Please choose another school for the best interest of your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2013

I am a parent of a first grader and I am quite disappointed in what I have experienced in this school. The office staff is uncaring (with the exception of the aftercare manager - Mrs Godoy is wonderful), and they will ignore you even when you stand at the front desk for 5 minutes waiting to be acknowledged. The teacher my child has is okay, at best. I've helped in my child's class and these teachers need lots of help from volunteers. The teacher is caring, however many kids seem to get left behind. Some of them don't know the difference between plus, minus, and equal. The PE teacher is scary. My child tells me she is constantly yelling at kids and saying inappropriately mean things to them. She yelled at my kid in the first class, saying, "You, red, get back in line!" because he was in a red sweater and trying to tie his laces. She also wouldn't let him take off his sweater during PE and it had gotten hot by that time. My complaints regarding this went unnoticed. Please talk to other parents before you consider this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2012

My daughter was transferred to Sandpiper about 2 months ago. The office staff was quite helpful and the process was quite smooth. At first, I was reluctant to have my daughter there. The school needs a face lift and compare to where she was coming from I felt like she was stepping down. However so far she is comfortable and happy with her teacher and the friends she has made. It is too soon to say anything else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2012

Sandpiper is the best school. The 5th grade teachers are the best! My daughters teacher informs me of everything going on. She pushes my daughter to succeed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2010

Wonderful school. I love the technology that the teachers use. Teachers are caring and loving!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

Teachers are caring and they put the students first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2010

Well Sandpiper is offically a B school. Wonder why? Average for the area, would not expect any better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2009

I am a grandmother my children went to sandpiper all did exceptionally well and went on to college and graduated. However, now my grandson is attending the school. and while the teachers are still commited to education. The front office staff and the vice principal are rude and uncaring. I can't comment on the principal because she is never available. Good luck!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2009

There are some very mean people working at this school, like another parent said. another carring parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2009

Excellent school and a shining star in Broward County Public Schools. My son is now in 2nd grade and has been doing very well at Sandpiper. The teacher's are committed to helping the students not only to succeed but to EXCEL. Great academic programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2008

This is the best school ever. My kids love it, and learn a tremendous amount. The teachers and staff are awesome and always go above and beyond what I would expect
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2007

I love this school. I have gone to it since I was in kindergarden, and I am now a middle schooler. They have a great afterschool program and are always trying to reach new standards. They have high-achieveer class for every grade. My friend who was diabetic always went to 2 different very nice nurses. They hold alot of events and give out prizes and seel tickets and make money. They did alot for the fifth graders when I was in that grade including an anti-drug program that was required to pass. All in all I really miss Sanpiper.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 25, 2007

Absolutely Wonderful! Have had my two children in attendance since the 1st grade, oldest is now graduating. The teachers are very concerned with child's well-being and progress. Staff is helpful and attentive to parent's concerns. You get the feeling they are working hard on your child's behalf Extra scholastic help is offered when needed. Fun extracurricular activities thanks to a strong PTA. In short, my children love this school and so do I. Will miss it much
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

my son is going to sandpiper he is in 4th grade now.since kindergarten until now his teachers were very nice and they work their hardest to help him get the best results and they were always there for him.in my opinion if you need the best school for your kids sandpiper is the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2006

Good school with teachers willing to work with the parents and children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2006

Had heard that this was a wonderful school with great teachers, however, my experience was not pleasant! My child's teacher was horrific! Child would come home and cry saying teacher was mean. Had difficulty reaching principle to address these problems. My suggestion if you are looking into Sandpiper Elementary school for your child ....run!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2005

Great quality education and good parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

121 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

108 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 37%
White 34%
Hispanic 21%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 5%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 49%53%61%
Master's degree 47%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 13%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • DR. DELORIS M JOHNSON
Fax number
  • (754) 322-8490

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3700 North Hiatus Road
Sunrise, FL 33351
Phone: (754) 322-8450

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT