Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Gingerbread Christian Academy

Private | PK-5 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Tallahassee

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $103,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 13, 2013

Since the new owners took over you can see immediate improvement. First they took the time to meet each and every student and parent that walked through the door. Next they began renovating a school that was overtaken by dimly lit hallways and lack of decor to remind you that you were in fact in a school. The teachers seem to be more enthusiastic about what they love to do and there is some much needed structure in the classrooms. This school offers a worry free environment where your kids will learn, in large group, small group and one on one sessions. If you have any concerns you can feel comfort in speaking with the new owners knowing that the issue will be addressed. I do wish that lunch could be provided because it can be costly for three kids, however christian foundation infused with academics will supplement. I would recommend this school to any mom looking for a school that there kid would love to return to each day, a school where the teachers will work with you and your children. Every school has the ability to grow, there is no perfect school. But i can say with confidence that this school is going above and beyond to meet it's parents expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2013

This school is fantastic, my children are very happy. The staff and teachers are awesome, they care for each and every child. I feel as though we are family, the new owners are very nice and it is evident that this school is a life mission and not a just a job. Anytime that I have had a concern i feel welcome to express my feelings, not only that, but the listen and act. The facility is adorable and improvements are constantly being made. i am very blessed to have found this school/ daycare, now my children can receive the same message at school as they do at home; love others and yourself, be respectful and have morals that guide you in the everyday choices that you make.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2013

The school is under new management and they have turned the school around! Rooms are clean, new toys, fresh paint on the walls and a joy to walk into! Check out the NEW Gingerbread Christian Academy!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 8, 2013

I would not recommend this daycare. My daughter went there and I saw certain teachers raising their voices at the children and when you bring this up to the owners, they do nothing. The classrooms are dirty. The owners and teachers do not care about the well being of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2012

I am VERY...VERY happy with Gingerbread Day School..My Grandson who is 4 yrs old has only been there 1 1/2 mths an he can already spell and write his 1st name.He has learned soo much more in the 1 1/2 mts at this school than he did at Miracle Yrs.He cld not write his name at Miracle Yrs. Plus he LOVES Mrs.Frenchie and all the other teachers there.They take very special care of these children. Thank you...Gingerbread Day School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2008

My daughter is in the infant room. I would honestly say that if you want a day care to teach your child then this is not the one. I love the teachers. They all know my daughter even teachers in the preschool rooms. I don't like paying a 'tuition' for an infant who isn't learning anything, but I love the good quality care that she recieves at gingerbread. It's like sending her to grandma's. They play with her, feed her, spoil her, and send her back home to mommy and daddy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2008

I placed my child at this school after being at home from birth & he grew to like his teacher but she went out for vacation & one morning the substitute assumed the I was gone and plopped him down in a chair &never tried to comfort him at all. The kids faces are not kept clean. I have observed the teachers not paying attention to kids while on the playground,one day a child fell and the teacher had her back turned away from the children talking & was not even aware until the other teachers told her that I eas watching her. They take the children out side in extremely cold weather. The older kids are always sitting in the office and never in class. I feel that they are only concerned about childcare fees.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2008

I would never put my child there due to untruths and children not being attended and when you tell about your concerns they take out on your child. My son was very upset after I picked him up from there and he would never be the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

I am an educator who placed my 2 year old in this school. I have to say that I was very dissappointed with the lack of education given to my daughter and this uncleanliness of the school. I would never recommend this school to anyone. If you child is placed here, please take the time to shop around for another school that can offer your child to education that he/she deserves.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 19, 2007

My grandson is a student at this school going on second year. To date, very pleased with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2007

I have 2 children in Gingerbread. The staff is great, if you have any concerns they are always willing to talk with you about it. The teachers work hard on academics. I have been nothing less than impressed with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2005

I have had a wonderful experience with the infant room. They take very good care of my daughter. They listen and are genuinely concerned about her well-being.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 42%
Black 23% 23%
Two or more races 10% 3%
Hispanic 7% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3324 North Monroe Street
Tallahassee, FL 32303
Phone: (850) 562-3169

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Heritage Academy
Tallahassee, FL






Amikids Tallahassee
Tallahassee, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT